We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid like plague”

The American Restaurant & Diner
Ranked #1,857 of 2,308 Restaurants in Copenhagen
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Amager
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Avoid like plague”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

The burgers we got were absolutely horrible. It tasted like a 12 DKK frozen hamburger from the supermarket. Nobody actually spoke decent English in this American restaurant!

If you are looking for a burger you might as well go to the kebab place on the ground floor where at least they do the burgers themselves ... One of my worst food experiences ever .... in the middle of Denmark! Unbelievable!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chris a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    19
    27
    10
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
140 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Cozy place”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

The american feeling is not that strong - if you've been there. Better places are to be found according to me.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederikssund, Denmark
Level Contributor
171 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Better than feared”
Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

This is a shopping mall joint like most other shopping mall joints. But it does include a view of Orestad and hence some light.
The food was ok, nothing more than that. Decent burger and nachos. Even the steak was ok, but the bernaise is an industry product.
Skip the milkshakes. They are expensive, small and extremely sweet.
Only really bad thing was that the, apart from that nice, waitress stank of sweat. Literally.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Morten A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hungary
1 review
“Atrocious service”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

If you don't like your dish (avoid the lasagna) they will not replace it for you and ask you to pay. Unbelievable in a modern city.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RSport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hokksund, Norway
Level Contributor
160 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“A positive surprise”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

The American Restaurant and Diner is situated inside the Field's mall. I did not expect too much from all the restaurants gathered on the top floor.

I decided to try the American Restaurant and went inside. I was led to a table and was left to look through the menu. I ordered the Mexican steak. I was very surprised. It was cooked perfectly the way I had asked and the Mexican salsa was very good. The servants were all nice and came by to ask if the food was ok.

I decided to try the restaurant again a coulpe of days later. Again I was vey pleased.

If you visit Field's and want to have dinner before you go home, I recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eskog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The American Restaurant & Diner also viewed

Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to The American Restaurant & Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing