We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Thorvaldsens Museum
from $53.33
More Info
from $53.33
More Info
from $30.92
More Info
Reviews (500)
Filter reviews
500 results
Traveler rating
266
168
55
9
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
266
168
55
9
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bertel thorvaldsen audio guide marble sculptures greek mythology wonderful sculptures major works personal collection single artist amazing artist personal possessions danish artist each piece central courtyard twelve apostles jaw dropping information provided extensive collection
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 500 reviews
Reviewed September 21, 2018

The marble sculptures are excellent. I found the audio guide irritating and pretentious. Unless you are really into the marble, keep this for an opportunity to get in from the rain, or to fill in the end of a day.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThorvaldsensMuseum, Thorvaldsens Museum at Thorvaldsens Museum, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2018

Dear Helen

Thank you for your review.

We hope to welcome you back another time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2018

I really enjoyed this, surprisingly, but it may not be to everyone's taste.

The gallery holds an extensive collection from Thorvaldsen's works in marble and/or plaster often copies of statues located either in Copenhagen, notably the cathedral, or elsewhere in Europe.. Many of the works are absolutely exquisite and there are lots to see. We spent about ninety minutes touring the many small rooms of the gallery. There is an audio tour available but we used the information sheets located in every room. These were very detailed and informative and explained the story behind the statues clearly, often a tale from mythology. The English translation was excellent.

On the downside the same statue can appear more than once as a copy and/or plaster version. If you follow the rooms as numbered you will see the best first and then be able to speed through any repeats, there are other lovely new works in later rooms too so don't miss these just because of repeats.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThorvaldsensMuseum, Thorvaldsens Museum at Thorvaldsens Museum, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2018

Dear Michael

Thank your for your great review of the museum and collection.

We appreciate your explanation of the floor plan. This will definitely be helpful for future visitors.

We hope to welcome you back at the museum next time you're in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2018

This isn't a large museum. If you love seeing sculptures & frieze, this is the place for you. Would not have picked this place to visit. We visited because we had the Copenhagen Card & we had time before the next thing we wanted to see. So glad we had that extra time

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank KatW649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThorvaldsensMuseum, Thorvaldsens Museum at Thorvaldsens Museum, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2018

Thank you for your review and visit here at the museum.

We are more than happy to welcome you back anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2018

I almost missed this museum hidden in plain sight next to Christiansborg Palace. Ordinarily sculpture isn't my favorite but this museum had a wonderful collection of work by Danish sculptor Bertel Thorvaldsen with helpful descriptions in each room. Some of the sculptures are quite magnificent and I recognized the Jesus as the one in the visitor center at the SLC temple. I was really happy a local recommended this museum to me as it turned out to be one of my favorites.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank micheles976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThorvaldsensMuseum, Thorvaldsens Museum at Thorvaldsens Museum, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2018

Thank you so much for the great review. We are glad to hear that you had a nice time.

We are more than happy to welcome you back anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2018

a must visit place within Denmark.
a nice experience for art enthusiast and history lovers like me.
worthwhile to visit

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Princesschariza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThorvaldsensMuseum, Thorvaldsens Museum at Thorvaldsens Museum, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2018

Thank you so much for the great review.

We are glad to hear that you had a nice time here and welcome you back anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews