We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something different”

Thorvaldsens Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$62.50*
and up
Copenhagen Card
More Info
$55.43*
and up
Panoramic City Tour of Copenhagen
More Info
$55.43*
and up
Copenhagen Shore Excursion: Panoramic City Tour
Ranked #36 of 361 things to do in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: See sculptures created by sculptor Bertel Thorvaldsen, whose work can be found across Europe. Long corridors allow for natural light and echo the creative ambiance. The Museum opened on September 18, 1848. It is Denmark’s oldest and also most extraordinary museum building. Open Tuesday-Sunday, 10 a.m.–5 p.m.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Something different”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

If you are not used to museum experiences or tired of looking at paintings at Statens Museum, then this is worth a shot! I've only been there once, but I loved it! It is almost like being in a movie! Where else do you see so many white and big sculptures? Well, maybe Greece...

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank JoannaMariaWidz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bettina W, Manager at Thorvaldsens Museum, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you – we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed Thorvaldsen’s sculptures! You are always more than welcome to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    130
    44
    8
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, S. Wales
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wedding Venue”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I liked the statues, some of the best sculptures I have ever seen and a spectacular wedding venue for my friends' wedding.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Webbies414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bettina W, Manager at Thorvaldsens Museum, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for your great feedback! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“very well done”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

This is a real treasure. The entire museum was built for Thorvaldsen's works and they are displayed very well-as they were initially. If you had some time, an hour or two in this museum is worth it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bettina W, Manager at Thorvaldsens Museum, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you very much for you review. We will be happy to see you again any time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“superb collection”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

combine this with the glyptothek which is within walking distance. small intimate museum with superb sculptures made by a man few still know. interesting collecting of paintings, coins, egyptian artefacts and greek vases upstairs. i was the only visitor one sunday afternoon. had the entire museum to myself while the audio guide explained everything to me. the building itself and its decorations are already special and everywhere there are reliefs of striking beauty. the museum deserves more visitors, although that would spoil the silent, special experience if you are there just one of the few visitors that can walk around in silence.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kees s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bettina W, Manager at Thorvaldsens Museum, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you - we are more than happy to receive your positive feedback!
Indeed, since the museum is placed in the heart of Copenhagen it is a great idea to combine a trip to the museum with visits to other attractions. It is also very nice to hear that you enjoyed the special atmosphere of our grand and colourful museum.
We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“The best museum in Kobenhavn!”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

The museum was built to house the collection of Thorveldsen, Denmarks most famous sculpture - he is even buried I. The courtyard!
Fabulous exhibits including his own personal collection of art on the top floor.

Excellent but slightly academic audio guide - but it is free!

Museum is free on Wednesdays.
Note: Go to the Dom Kirke after the museum to see his Christ and Apostles in situ

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Northernlights13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bettina W, Manager at Thorvaldsens Museum, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
We are absolutely delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit.
It is a great idea to go by the church Vor Frue Kirke (i.e. Københavns Domkirke) to see Christ and the apostles in their “natural” settings. The church is only a short walk away from Thorvaldsens Museum.
We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thorvaldsens Museum also viewed

 

Been to Thorvaldsens Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing