We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boring and poorly curated”

Designmuseum Danmark
Book In Advance
More Info
$63.15*
and up
Copenhagen Card
Ranked #37 of 370 things to do in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Seattle
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Boring and poorly curated”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We were really looking forward to this museum since we love Danish design. However, I thought it looked like the shows had been assembled by college students and didn't excite or capture the imagination. I would not recommend unless there is a specific special show that interests you.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Todd_Tomorrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    330
    334
    139
    80
    42
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect oldschool”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

It is amazing how chair can be interpreted! How many shapes, lines, textures, colors, DESIGNS can be involved. It is not only about the chairs but one can see the development of the applied (almost fine) arts on this example. Atmosphere of the museum is calm, a bit oldschool style, far from the city rush and the courtyard behind is gorgeous. Perfect 1,5 - 2 hours spent there.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank adussia725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“inspirational”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

whether this is an interest/passion for you, or not, there are some incredible innovational designs and creations inside. Over three floors, initially you think you'll cover it in 10mins, but if you take time to read about the properties of some of the materials utilised and engineering techniques you could easily spend half the day here.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank drDro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“If you're into that thing!”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Not really much to see unless you're into art and appreciate design and possibly antiques. I was looking at obviously uncomfortable furniture wondering what's so special about them (very little was explained and most of it was in danish), but my interior designer friend seemed quite pleased to be in there. The entrance is free for a small part of the museum, but at some point we realised we had seen the whole thing (no signs indicating you've left the free-of-charge area) without someone asking us to pay for a ticket.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alassra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Worth a visit if it's raining!”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

You have to pay for special exhibitions but the rest is free. We didn't realise that until attacked by a guard as we hadn't paid to see the furniture exhibition. The staff were as we found so often in Copenhagen, abrupt and unfriendly. There are some interesting exhibits here but having paid I would't want to visit again or recommend it to a friend.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank smw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Designmuseum Danmark also viewed

 

Been to Designmuseum Danmark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing