We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“is that it "”
Review of The Little Mermaid

The Little Mermaid
Book In Advance
More Info
$54.10*
and up
Small-Group Walking Tour of Copenhagen
Ranked #47 of 356 things to do in Copenhagen
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Born of a fairy tale by Danish author Hans Christian Andersen, the statue incarnation of the Little Mermaid has watched over Copenhagen's harbor since 1913. In 2010, Den Lille Havfrue, as she is known in Danish, left her post to represent Denmark at the World's Fair in Shanghai.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“is that it "”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Before we went to Copenhagen i read as much as could find about all the touristy things to do,in the top ten was the mermaid we saw pictures and thought its another sight to see. How disappointed are we,its very small and just,well it was not was not what we expected ,i think if your near it go and see her but if not, its really is not worth going to see

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank josiep65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,471 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,611
    2,485
    3,778
    1,186
    411
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not at all disappointing”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

So many people seem to say this is disappointing but I think that the statue is very understated which I would expect from the Danes. It is in quite a strange location as it is not in the main tourist area but as far as I was concerned, you cannot come to Copenhagen without seeing her. Well worth the visit

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Billy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Don't miss it, but don't expect too much either”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Be prepared that when you see the statue, you will most likely feel that it is way smaller than it's iconic status suggests. Nevertheless it's definitely worth seeing, if anything because you can cover of Kastellet (the citadel) as well as the Gefion Fountain in the same instance.

Just make sure you don't see it as part of a river cruise. The boats will stop right in front of the little mermaid but as she has her back facing the riverside, you won't see much of her but instead have groups of tourists standing landside in your photos.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank amyrovig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good picture opportunity but that's it”
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

I personally was desperate to see this statue as it is an iconic statue. I was surprised to see that it was smaller than I expected and not as grand as I thought it would be.
We walked a long way from our hotel and it was a slight anti climax when we got there, however it was another tick on my bucket list of things to do in my life and we have a lovely picture with the mermaid as one of the many memories of Copenhagen which was an amazing trip.
It is a must see while you are there though and there is also beautiful grounds and fountains near by so there is much more to see other than the mermaid.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gemma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“You can't miss it”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

This may be a little underwhelming for some people but it's iconic and one of Denmark's most well known tourist attractions. Very pleasant walk along the waterfront and then you come across this little statue - quite cute!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Owen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Little Mermaid also viewed

Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to The Little Mermaid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing