We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big attraction - small mermaid”
Review of The Little Mermaid

The Little Mermaid
Book In Advance
More Info
$53.86*
and up
Small-Group Walking Tour of Copenhagen
Ranked #47 of 356 things to do in Copenhagen
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Born of a fairy tale by Danish author Hans Christian Andersen, the statue incarnation of the Little Mermaid has watched over Copenhagen's harbor since 1913. In 2010, Den Lille Havfrue, as she is known in Danish, left her post to represent Denmark at the World's Fair in Shanghai.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Big attraction - small mermaid”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Seeing this monument shows size really does matter. I was told she was small and even expecting this i was still shocked when I visited. However it is still a wonderful sight to appreciate, and I suppose it's more life size realistic. She is in the water and quite close to the shore. Makes for a nice walk and views.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lada1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,447 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,607
    2,480
    3,769
    1,181
    410
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Greater Manchester
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“So small!!”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Little Mermaid is the must see attraction in Copenhagen, but what a disappointment, I was expecting it to be quite large but it is only small. Had difficulty getting near to it as Japenese tourist where climbing all over the rocks round it. At most its a 2 minute experience, get there, look at it, then leave. There are better sights to see in Copenhagen.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A little symbol of love and sorrow - and Copenhagen”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Those who have read Hans Christian Andersen's story of little mermaid cannot but appreciate this symbol of Stockholm. It is small, not physically very impressive, and if you are looking for impressive monuments, this is not one, but no visit to Stockholm is complete without a trip to the Den Lille Havfrue. It is displayed elegantly, in the sea, yet at the shore.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“copenhagen mermaid”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I visited the mermaid in copenhagen harbour on one of our stops on a baltic cruise, i was very surprised to see how little she was, I think the authorities have put her higher up on rock to stop vandalism. the area was very busy with tourists all trying to climb up the rocks to get pictures so I had to wait to get a picture of her looking alone, well worth the wait she looks dainty but sad..

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest of Dean, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Very busy”
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Saw her from the land & by boat, I know that it is something of a must do, but it is so crowded that it's not worth more than a quick look.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank TOGsNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Little Mermaid also viewed

Copenhagen, Zealand
 
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to The Little Mermaid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing