We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely green space in Copenhagen”

Botanical Gardens (Botanisk Have)
Book In Advance
More Info
$131.26*
and up
Copenhagen Food Tour
Ranked #12 of 352 things to do in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Learn about Denmark's flora through this extensive collection of plants and fungi. The Botanical Gardens and Museum houses a seed bank and a library that specializes in books about plants and trees. It's also a great place to take a walk. The Botanical Gardens are open Tuesday through Sunday from 8:30 a.m. to 4 p.m. in the winter, and every day until 6 p.m. from May through September.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“A lovely green space in Copenhagen”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I visited this twice when I was there. I had to go back as the greenhouses were shut when I got there at 4pm the first time - they shut at 3pm, so check. The Palm houses are beautiful structures and you can climb up the stairs and look down on the plants while you walk round the path at the top. Everything is well labelled. There are a variety of gardens - and it is a Botanic garden not a 'pleasure' garden - and we enjoyed the walk round examining the different types of plants. There is a very good shop with beautiful posters and cards for sale, as well as plants.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank CarolineEA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,572 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    788
    604
    158
    20
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful gardens, and smells of herbs!”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Before we headed back to the warmth of our hotel, we thought we would have a walk through the botanical gardens. We are glad we did. It was a pleasant and peaceful area to get away from the hassle and bustle of the city. Wonderful bright and colourful flowers and gardens. Plus, the added bonus of having their own herb gardens. You could smell the different herbs from quite a way away. There are also areas where you walk around the rock pools and the wooded areas. You felt like you were in north Wales or the West Country. Ok, maybe not. But it was a pleasant experience to sit down on one of many benches scattered around the gardens, and watch birds, insects and people wondering around. A great place to relax and read a book, laze around or just sit down and be calm. A must for the stressful person.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Firebir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tårnby
Level Contributor
39 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very good and classical botanical gardens”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Very nice botanical garden, especially the alpline area (which is by the way currently under reconstruction). The glasshouses are also quite good, open every day 10-15. Note that the special glasshouses with cacti and orchiods have very narrow opening times, 1 hour each of saturday and sunday between 13 and 15.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wandering_Noldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maroochydore, Australia
Level Contributor
165 reviews
149 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Nice park”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

It's a good place to have lunch and enjoy a rest under shady trees but not if you are looking for something special like theme gardens or lots of colour or topiary. A pleasant stroll.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lornainaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pulborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Check opening times!”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Quite a pretty garden. There are impressive glasshouses, but they are NOT open every day and they are NOT open throughout the days when they are open. So.....check times carefully before you go!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank June K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Botanical Gardens (Botanisk Have) also viewed

 
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to Botanical Gardens (Botanisk Have)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing