We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value but can be noisy” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Amager

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Amager
Ranked #72 of 114 Hotels in Copenhagen
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Good value but can be noisy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night whilst on business. Large clean room with a comfortable bed and decent bathroom. No air conditioning so in the summer months the room (particularly on the front) get warm, which means you need to leave the window open, which in turn lets in traffic noise as the hotel is situated on a busy road.

Pub area is good but doesn't serve full meals, but there are plenty of cafés nearby.

Good value overall.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Turbinetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    67
    44
    16
    8
See reviews for
22
67
18
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nuuk, Greenland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

Stayed for a couple of nights.
My room was nice and clean, in good condition, facing the backyard and free of traffic noice.
The service at chekin-out was polite and accurate.
There is a Pub in the building, nice and handy. They carry excellent Sandwiches that you may take to your room, or eat in the Pub, as you like.
There is a shopping mall within walking distance from the Hotel.
Also plenty of small eat-in or take-away on the street.
Only back draw: If you arrive by car, there is only street parking, at meter rate rather, - expensive.
To go to Copenhagen City center, very good communication by buss or subway, some 15 minutes only.
If you arrive by plane to Kastrup, the taxi is fast,no hassle and less cost.

Room Tip: Try to book a room not facing the main street, but the back yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BjPe51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

I stayed in single room. It was very small, but as usual in Scandinavia. There is no hair dryer. But location is good and place is very quiet. So for one night it can be used. For continuos trip you should try to find something else.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Андрей К
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

Me and my friend visited Copenhagen in June 2013 on a city break. We found this hotel through Trivago which was one of the best priced hotels within our budget. It's not really a standard hotel. The reception is next to a pub, but don't let that put you off. It's a nicer pub, which decent priced beer, friendly locals and friendly staff. The rooms seem to be on a certain floor of an apartment building. Our twin room was spacious, the beds were very comfortable, and the bathroom was clean with a nice shower. Obviously since it's not a 'proper' hotel, breakfast isn't included. But still, bed linen was changed daily. A downside was that although WiFi was included, I think the router was downstairs in the pub so we go either no reception or very poor reception in our room. But overall I enjoyed my stay here. It's good for what you pay for and it's in a district of Copenhagen within a 30 minute walk to the city centre or a 5 minute walk to the nearest Metro station. Also, I liked using the quirky old apartment lift!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johns Creek, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We were there for 5 nights and enjoyed our stay there as well as the location. It was only 2 stops by train from the airport and less than a block to 2 bus routes. The public transportation is easy to learn and use. Bicycle is the main transportation for many locals, young and old, but we chose not to do that. People are very friendly and it was easy to find someone who spoke English. The hotel staff was very helpful in telling us how to use the public transportation. It was cheaper for us to buy a ticket of 10 trips from the local kiosk across the street. The room was comfortable and had a hairdryer at the front desk which I borrowed and used during the entire stay. There was shampoo and soap but not lotion. When you pay, use cash or there will be an added 5%. ATM's are across the street. Next door in a grocery. We had breakfast one morning which was fresh and adequate for about $15 US dollars. This is not a cheap city! We would stay there again. It was nice to have an elevator for luggage.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda Thompson H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
237 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

The Hotel sits within a building complex that is part of a Social Housing Project. Many of Copenhagen's residents live in such housing. The hotel comprises two floors within the block.
Having stayed previously at a flat owned by a friend, in the same complex, which was beautiful. I imagined that such would be the case with The Hotel Amager, sadly this was far from the reality.
The corridors were dark, electric light was sparse or non existent, making it hazardous at night, particularly after a few Tuborgs. The corridors were smelly due to dirty carpets, which I believe they were going to replace. Our room and that of our companions was of good proportions, that you will not get in modern establishments,but seemed very tired and need of refurbishment, having said this the beds were very comfortable and generally housekeeping was up to scratch. The furnishings were what you might find in a charity warehouse.
Part of the Hotel is a pub frequented by many locals with severe alcohol problems, I should guess, and sports fans, there are three TV screens showing different sporting events. As in Denmark generally smoking is allowed in designated areas, but in this case (and others) smoke pervades. Late in the evening the pub can seem edgy, I didn't stay to find out, preferring something a little more mainstream. Amager has its fare share of social casualties, but is a pleasant area close to the centre to stay, the are few other hotels in the area. The proprietor here went out of his way to accommodate us after we screwed up our booking on line, for which we are very grateful, and we were pleased that our 'non refundable' booking was offset against some of our bill. Copenhagen, as any former visitor will know, is very expensive and following the axiom that 'you get what you pay for,' Hotel Amager delivers because it is at the lower end of the market, and rooms are generally costly elsewhere. Don't expect Raddisson Blu. The proprietor and staff are friendly and helpful. I just wish it would get a makeover, sometime soon. Parking is costly, but if you are prepared to walk a few minutes further up Amagerbrogade you will find much free parking if you get there before people get home from work.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paraffle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Copenhagen hotels

Melton Mowbray, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

A quick overnight stop for me and my daughter before a flight back to UK (which we missed).
The hotel is above a lively pub on a busy street not far from town. So the location is good.
The rooms are very big and clean. The lively pub did not distract a good sleep. The sound proofing was excellent. The car parking is down adjacent side streets, and is very expensive to park. 11 Dkk per hour 08.00 - 22.00 and 3dkk/hr through the night. So £21 for 24hrs.
Cycles are the way to go in this town. If I were to stay here again, which I might, then I would park out of town and hire a cycle for the duration of my stay.
Also has a good wi-fi connection in my room, 6.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xant14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Amager
Hotel CopenHagen
Hotel CopenHagen
#89 of 114 in Copenhagen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Saga Hotel
Saga Hotel
#70 of 114 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Windsor
Hotel Windsor
#80 of 114 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Hotel Nebo
Hotel Nebo
#51 of 114 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
Amager
CABINN Metro
CABINN Metro
#78 of 114 in Copenhagen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Cabinn City Hotel
Cabinn City Hotel
#48 of 114 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amager? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amager

Property: Hotel Amager
Address: Amagerbrogade 29, Copenhagen 2300, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Amager
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Amager 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Amager reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amager Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing