We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel review”
Review of Hotel Amager

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Amager
Ranked #66 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Hotel review”
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Hotel nice and clean staff very friendly. Rooms basic but ok could do with a few drawers for clothes. Breakfast is very basic 2 serials a range of meats and rolls. Tv has English speaking tv stations. The hotel is situated outside central copenhagan which for us was perfect as we like a walk. I guess a 15 stroll brings you into the centre of town. The hotel is easy to get to from the airport we took the metro to amagerbro which is about 6 stops from the airport.go to main road turn right and hotel is 200yds down on your right besides a supermarket. Overall for price etc this is a good choice small hotel. One defenite plus is free wireless Internet

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robert11111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    74
    46
    16
    8
See reviews for
24
72
19
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
1 review
Reviewed March 16, 2012

Very happy with the rooms, were nicer than we expected . Easy to find, just a walk into the city centre and very convenient to the airport via train.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Jared A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

The room was mostly clean and comfortable, a little mildew in the shower, but otherwise fine. The cigarette smoke from the downstairs lounge could be overwhelming at times. Did not eat at the hotel. Transportation was easily accesible, also a pleasant walk to most things. There was a bit of confusion about payment due upon check out because the room had been booked on-line. The room served its function as a clean, quiet, safe place to get some shut eye at night.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2011

This hotel, although not cheap, offers a basic service. However, is nicely located very close to the city service, to a walk distance from the main attractions; it is also very well connected by bus and and tube to the airport and to the rest of the city. A good trade off between costs and convenience.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alessandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Rooms and corridors are dark and dingy.

The only place to sit at the hotel outside of your room is in the publicly available bar / cafe were smoking is permitted.

The hotel is on two of the major bus routes in Copenhagen, the 2A and 5A with a Metro station close by. The metro links with the Airport but not with the main railway station at present (new line being built which will do so). Currently you can link with the main trains at Noreport Station.

Not a hotel I would use for the family. Only good in my view for a couple of days at the most.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris_green100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Copenhagen hotels

Loma Linda, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

I stayed here while attending a conference from 5-10 July 2011.

The good points:

1. The hotel is very conveniently located for public transport to and from Kastrup Airport, being about a five-minute walk from Amagerbro Metro station and also on two bus routes.

2. It is walkable from the city centre tourist attractions - about 20-25 mintues to the Tivoli Gardens, for example.

3. It is by Copenhagen standards very cheap (DKK620, or about GBP70, a night).

4. The en suite shower room was clean, and everything worked.

5. The TV offers a wide range (about 30-40) of channels in Danish, English, German and one in French. A lot of the Danish channels showed English-language programmes subtitled in Danish.

6. The staff, while not exactly effusive and outgoing, were perfectly polite.

The not-so-good points:

1. Don't stay here if you're bringing a car. The hotel has no off-road parking, and roadside spaces in the nearby side-streets are difficult to find and very expensive.

2. The location is less convenient if you're arriving into Copenhagen by train. The main railway station is not connected to the Metro. There is a bus, but this can be inconvenient with luggage. It's about a 20-25 minute walk, or DKK150 in a taxi.

3. The rooms are absolutely tiny! Mine was about 7 feet wide by 12 feet long. Furthermore, the single bed felt like it was sloping downhill away from the wall. On one morning I woke up on the floor after having rolled off the bed during the night.

4. There is no air conditioning, and my room got very hot (29 degrees C when I got back from the confernece one evening).

5. There is no bath - only a shower.

6. My room looked out onto a courtyard, on which there were often noisy conversations going on late into the evening. On two of the nights I stayed there, I had a choice between opening the window and being kept awake by noise, and closing it and being kept awake by heat.

7. The wifi Internet access, though free, is excruciatingly slow. The maximum I got was 4-5kbps, and 2-3 was more typical - about the same speed as an old dial-up modem. The problem was not the wireless connection (this showed 95% signal strength), but, I suspect, that the hotel's ISP just doesn't offer enough bandwidth to cope with all the guests.

8. The lift is ancient, with no lights working inside the cabin. I wouldn't trust it, personally!

9. If you're a vegetarian/vegan, the breakfast choice is very limited - cheese or cornflakes, basically. There again, Copenhagen in general is a very vegetarian-unfriendly city. Good luck finding any menu item in any restaurant that does not contain either meat or cheese, or usually both!

10. Smoking is permitted in the café/bar on the ground floor, and in the evenings it would make the San Quentin gas chamber seem eligible for a clean air award! The place absolutely stinks, and although they don't let people smoke during breakfast, it still smells horrid.

Room Tip: Not one overlooking the inner courtyard/quadrangle - this can get very noisy on Friday and Saturday...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bedbugged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

This hotel was too expensive for what it had to offer. We found the hotel staff pretty unpolite. The breakfast is quite poor, just bread, coffee and juice, no yoghurt. The breakfast is served in a bar, where you can also smoke.
The hotel is situated a bit far from the centre and the bus is quite expensive. The rooms are ok, just that the internet doesn't work in all the rooms as promised on the hotel website. The internet was for us an important factor in choosing the hotel, because we had to work on computer during the stay. We stayed on the third floor, in a room in the corner, and the Wireless Internet connection was so weak that it was impossible to get connected. To make it worse, the only response we got from the guy at the reception was "i can't help you" (they were fully booked).
So i had to find my way to the sofa in the corridor of the first floor to be able to browse the net.

Room Tip: Internet doesn't work in all rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAUI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Saga Hotel
Saga Hotel
#72 of 116 in Copenhagen
484 reviews
Amager
Hotel CopenHagen
Hotel CopenHagen
#89 of 116 in Copenhagen
141 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Hotel Nebo
Hotel Nebo
#52 of 116 in Copenhagen
977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Amager
CABINN Metro
CABINN Metro
#83 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,064 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Windsor
Hotel Windsor
#81 of 116 in Copenhagen
181 reviews
Wittrup Motel
#67 of 116 in Copenhagen
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amager? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amager

Property: Hotel Amager
Address: Amagerbrogade 29, Copenhagen 2300, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Amager
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Amager 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Amager reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amager Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing