We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent location,lovely staff, great value hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Somandshjemmet Bethel
Ranked #5 of 118 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights. Like other recent reviewers we can only agree this hotel is a great find in Copenhagen no matter what aspect you consider. The hotel is located very central to many of the city's most popular attractions including the Royal Palace, both Royal and Botanical Gardens, excellent vehicle free shopping boulevards and of course, sitting along side the highly popular and historic Nyhavn with its many restaurants, cafes and beautiful old buildings. If arriving by air, the modern metro train is a short trip into the central city followed by a comfortable 500 metre flat walk to the hotel. A very good part of this walk is a lovely stroll along the famous canal-a great introduction to the city, canal and hotel location.
Our room was quite big compared to many hotel rooms in Europe.Simple in presentation, very clean and with a lovely comfortable bed ensuring a good night's sleep,.Being on the higher floor, its also nice to stay in a small family style hotel that has lifts particularly so,with the suitcases n carry bags etc.
The breakfast is very good and a great starting point for the day's adventure. Also one of the very few hotels with all day coffee/tea facilities available in the breakfast room and you can also eat there if you decide to return to the hotel during the day. The hotel is just so accommodating in making your stay a happy memory with the Reception staff always welcoming and wanting to assist you in whatever way they could no mater what the enquiry.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tigers2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (804)
There are newer reviews for Somandshjemmet Bethel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

268 - 274 of 804 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for one night pre-cruise. Incredible location for seeing the sites and for using public transportation. We took the metro in from the airport and the #26 bus to the cruise port. Dragging a wheeled suitcase, we made the walk to/from the bus/metro in about 10 - 15 minutes. The hotel is within walking distance of all major sites.

Our room was #221 and was facing Nyhavn canal with 2 large windows in the bedroom and one in the bathroom. We loved the view! Note the attached pictures from my room have not been edited or altered at all. The view is that stunning! Breakfast was good and enjoyed eating danish in Denmark. We will stay here next time we're in Copenhagen. Also, the free wifi was very fast.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the canal view rooms as it is nice to enjoy the view in the morning and evening.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank TravelGirlHoustonTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Bethel for one night before a cruise. It was a great location to get anywhere in Copenhagen. Our room was the corner room with the balcony. The room was spotless and the views were great. We did hear some noise along the canal but that was all part of the ambiance. The staff was more than friendly and helpful. We were given excellent recommendations on places for dinner. We had a long wait for a cab to our ship and the front desk staff stayed on the phone continuously to be sure that the cab got there. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhuddles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Stayed here a couple of nights pre-cruise and cannot praise the staff highly enough. A friend in another room had issues with her luggage going adrift between the US and CPH and the people on reception made many calls on her behalf to try and resolve this for her.

The hotel itself is right on Nyhavn with a lively restaurant area right across the street. There was little noise from there over night. My room was a single on the canal front. It was small and spotless. For the couple of nights I was there it was absolutely fine. There are stairs up to reception but they have access via a side door and lift.

Room Tip: No A/C so you'll need to keep your window open
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mmeward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

My family and I went to Copenhagen from the US for our daughter's wedding. Unfortunately, we couldn't stay at the Bethel the whole time we were in Copenhagen, as we had wished, since they were booked (book early). We had to stay at an airbnb for the 1st few nights. We loved our stay at the Bethel. The rooms were nice (just as the pictures show), the breakfast was delicious (so many choices) and the staff was very, very warm, friendly and helpful. When we arrived in Copenhagen we had trouble getting into our airbnb. The Bethel staff helped us make calls to the airbnb owner, offered us coffee and tea from their breakfast room, let us leave our luggage at the hotel so our 1st day wasn't wasted, and bent over backwards to help us all through our stay in Copenhagen. I give this hotel 10 stars out of 5. Wonderful, wonderful hotel !!! Thank you so much Bethel Hotel Staff for your kind hospitality and the wedding present for our daughter.
Sincerely,
Mother of the Bride

Room Tip: Don't worry about getting a room with a view. You will be so busy during the day seeing the sigh...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank MotheroftheBride74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights with my daughter mid June. Easy to get to from the metro straight from the airport. Our room was ready early, which after a long flight was a welcome surprise. Hotel desk staff were friendly and helpful with directions and recommendations. Room was clean and we had a view of the Nyhavn canal. No air conditioning but we didn't need it. Breakfast was included in the rate and had pastries, fruit, cereals, cheeses and meats and breads. Hotel offered tea and coffee all day. Wifi worked great in our room and was free. Bus 66 is right outside the door and takes you to most of the tourist areas. Metro is a 5 minute walk away. The canal is a great place to people watch. We were there during the week, it might be really loud and wild on the weekends though. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms would be quieter but the canal view rooms were fun.
Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank annabeth89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

The rooms here are simple but comfortable, and although there are no tea/coffee making facilities in the room, they are available 24/7 in the restaurant. Breakfast is included and is very good with a large selection of cold meats cheeses, cereals, pastries etc. The location is ideal, right in the middle of Nyhavn, with a bus stop outside the door, and only a short walk to Kongens Nytorv. Considering the high prices in Copenhagen this is also very good value.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank westozscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#3 of 118 in Copenhagen
293 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel D'Angleterre
Hotel D'Angleterre
#1 of 118 in Copenhagen
775 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#4 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,982 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#24 of 118 in Copenhagen
4,041 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#10 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somandshjemmet Bethel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somandshjemmet Bethel

Address: Nyhavn 22, Copenhagen 1051, Denmark
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Copenhagen
#4 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#6 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#12 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range: $128 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Somandshjemmet Bethel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel at the corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Somandshjemmet Bethel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somandshjemmet Bethel Copenhagen
Somandshjemmet Bethel Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing