We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a spot, brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Somandshjemmet Bethel
Ranked #5 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Stayed here with my wife and daughter, August 2013. Great location, centre of Nyhavn. Close to royal palace. Our room was excellent, breakfast very good, courteous staff. Bike hire nearby, nice bars and restaurants just across the road

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glennbowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (823)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

313 - 319 of 823 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2014

This hotel was a joy to stay in throughout our holiday. The location is fantastic, the staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean and the breakfast is great. There is also free tea and coffee throughout the day and evening.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lesleyattheloch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

You pretty much get what you pay for in this very central hotel on Nyhavn. The single rooms (in one of which I stayed in) are small, clean and basic with no frills - just a room with a bed, a table, a chair and a TV. That's it. Nothing wrong with that and the price is right. Shower and toilet provide the essentials. Breakfast is OK, nothing fancy. I really liked the breakfast room, it has a welcoming feeling. Staff was friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank OliverJavert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Stayed with my boyfriend for 2 nights for Xmas trip. We booked the hotel after discovering it on tripadvisor and reading the reviews. We booked a corner room and were lucky enough to get the only room with a balcony, looking over nyhavn. We arrived early in the morning hoping to leave our bags at the hotel whilst we went out exploring but was pleasantly surprised to find our room was ready.
Our room was clean and comfortable, simple and modern and had everything you would need. Could not fault it.
The staff on the desk were very friendly and helpful and gave us names of places to eat at etc.
The breakfast was very good with a good selection of meats, cheeses, breads and danishes and was enough to fill you up for the day.
Location, well what can I say amazing.
Walking distance to just about everything. We walked to calsberg brewery (30mins walk), the mermaid (lovely walk about 15 mins or so) and Tivoli (15 mins). Get a good map from reception and you can walk all the sights of Copenhagen easily. We loved that.
The metro to the airport is just round the corner too.
I would highly recommend this hotel for value and location, definately book a corner room and would stay here again.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Nicknak87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

I stayed for 3 nights with my teenage daughter. We loved the place. It was clean, comfy beds, lovely breakfast. Our room was set out as a twin as requested. It faced the inner courtyard and so we could not hear street noise. The decor is basic and traditional. Staff were all very nice and helpful. I like their method for booking. You send an e mail and pay on arrival. Nyhavn is a lively street but this hotel is on the quiet side.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DavidL187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

When we got there the hotel had just reopened after Christmas and it was pretty quiet. But the staff were super friendly and helpful with everything. They also explained that this spot is really bustling in the summer at peak season, but that in winter things are a bit quiet. There didn't even seem to be a lot of red light action going on, too cold maybe! So therefore noise mentioned by other reviewers was not a problem. Nonetheless it was warm and cosy and had everything we needed. Tour bus stops right outside and the gourmet pizza place just down the dock was delicious, plus it was super close to the central shopping area...we were able to walk everywhere and it was lovely to stay right on the canal, even though the boats seemed mainly covered for the winter. I'd love to see this area in the snow...would be so pretty!
The hotel rooms definitely also had a kind of youth hostel vibe (something reviewers have mentioned before) and there were things that were a little weathered looking (bathroom is pretty 70s, for instance). For the same amount of money (in the off season, early January) we did wonder if we should have upgraded to more of a fancy hotel setting, if you know what I mean!
But the room was big enough for two friends traveling together and the separate bed we had requested (twin room) was there, as booked. All in all, the experience was lovely and certainly very personal, thanks to the staff.
This hotel is highly rated because of the wonderful staff, the care taken and the gorgeous location. The fact that it is an old seamen's hostel - we loved this idea - is really cute and the exteriors are characterful. There are touches (porthole in the elevator, brass plaques on the doors) but not much of the naval aspect really remains in the interior though, unless you count the piano in the dining room. If you're looking for more of "hotel" vibe, you may be better off elsewhere in the winter. If you're coming for the summer though, I imagine this place would be bustling and exciting and couldn't be beat.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KaVee2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We stayed here in July and had a great week exploring Copenhagen. The hotel is located by the canal and is within walking distance of all the major sights. We had a room facing the canal and although we were there during the jazz festival we did not find the room at all noisy. The room was clean with a comfy bed and a decent sized bathroom. Breakfast was the usual continental style, nothing fancy but plenty available. Staff were pleasant and helpful and there was a computer available for guest use in the reception area. Hot drinks were also available throughout the day, free of charge for guests. If we were to return to Copenhagen we would certainly use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank oldgang598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 117 in Copenhagen
2,695 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 117 in Copenhagen
2,148 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#4 of 117 in Copenhagen
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Skt. Petri
Skt. Petri
#9 of 117 in Copenhagen
400 reviews
Outer Vesterbro
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#11 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somandshjemmet Bethel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somandshjemmet Bethel

Address: Nyhavn 22, Copenhagen 1051, Denmark
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Copenhagen
#4 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#12 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range: $125 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Somandshjemmet Bethel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel at the corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Somandshjemmet Bethel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somandshjemmet Bethel Copenhagen
Somandshjemmet Bethel Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing