We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect weekend away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Somandshjemmet Bethel
Ranked #5 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect weekend away”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I just loved everything about this place! Fabulous location, bright and clean rooms, tasty breakfast, free tea and coffee all day and night, comfortable bed and helpful staff. Our room overlooked the side street and we didn't hear a thing at night and we had a lovely view of the gorgeous colourful houses along Nyhavn. A simple but cosy place to stay if you want a reasonable stay in Copenhagen.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    327
    76
    13
    4
See reviews for
166
379
65
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

When considering the location, price and the large room size, I think this property is a wonderful value for Copenhagen. In my review I'll try to hit on all the standard aspects of the hotel:

-STYLE: The room is pretty basic, but has a clean and fresh look.
-LOCATION: The hotel is in a fabulous location. It's located right along Nyhavn Canal, with lots of restaurants and a bike rental shop within a block.
-ROOM: Our room was large. We booked one of the corner rooms (I think #322?), which came with an AMAZING view of Nyhavn and lots of windows. I found myself staring out the window multiple times. Our room came with a double bed, desk, small living area, and a full bathroom. It has a rack to hang up your clothes.
-VALUE: Free (fast!) wi-fi and breakfast.

Things to work on:

-NOISE LEVEL: The walls seem a bit thin. I could easily hear people in the hallway and outside. Other reviewers suggested bringing ear plugs to sleep because of the outdoor noise – I didn’t find it necessary, and I’m a light sleeper.
-LUGGAGE RACK: No luggage rack. I always think it’s an easy item to provide that makes a stay more comfortable. Not a big deal, but always appreciated.
-ELECTRICAL OUTLET NEAR MIRROR: I am perpetually perplexed by the lack of electrical outlets in European bathrooms. Where do they expect women to curl their hair? There also was not an outlet in the bedroom next to the floor length mirror.

All in all, this hotel is a definite contender for Copenhagen. I would definitely stay here again, especially considering how much more affordable it is than others.

Room Tip: Spend a little more and book a corner room. The views and the extra space are worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kylin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Lovely, quirky place to stay in the prettiest part of the city. A large 19th century former sailors mission, typically Danish in style, houses this b&b-type hotel which provides a pleasantly laid-back & cosy atmosphere to come back to after a hard day's sight-seeing. Stayed in the 1st-floor corner room (No.122) with huge windows on two sides and wrap-around balcony overlooking the entire length of Nyhavn. If you want a bog-standard hotel with the usual bells and whistles, go elsewhere. If you're happy to use Reception's safe for your valuables, have free tea & coffee on tap any time of the day or night in the ever-open dining room (candle-lit after dark & where you can bring your own shop-bought or takeaway food for lunch/tea/supper etc), and enjoy an informal, relaxed ambience afforded by polite, unfussy staff and friendly fellow-guests, then this hotel is highly recommended. I would definitely stay here again.

Helpful?
3 Thank C M M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hod Hasharon, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

The Bethel Hotel really gives value for money. In an expensive city like Copenhagen this hotel is reasonably priced, has good sized rooms and best of all is perfectly located in one of the most picturesque places in the city, right on the Nyhavn. The staff are very helpful and friendly. The hotel is walking distance from the network of pedestrian malls that cover the center of the city.

Room Tip: We took a double room facing the courtyard so we didn't have the view of the canal but it is a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danisamthefirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Friendly and helpful staff. Tips: tea and coffee free to customers 24/7 in the dining room (which only does breakfast). You may bring your own takeaways or whatever. Brits who want "Builder's Tea" should bring their own bags - in Denmark one can mostly only get Earl Grey or green tea. Front rooms have great views over Nyhavn, but you may want earplugs, as in any city centre hotel. Not the place if you want silly mint-square-on-the-pillow type service. Superbly central for metro, sights, shopping etc. My hotel of choice if ever I return to this lovely city.

Room Tip: Ist floor balcony room is a bit dearer, but very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall U.K.
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

If you need a plush hotel with lots of amenities, large public rooms and maybe a pool and a gym then this isn't the place for you. If, however, you want a clean, friendly and tidy hotel in arguably the best location in Copenhagen then this place is hard to beat in a famously expensive city.
Ok, our single rooms were compact and the furnishings and fitments wouldn't merit three stars in most European cities, but everything worked and the beds were comfortable. My room at the rear of the hotel had a view of the yard but was mercifully quiet. My wife's room was at the side and was acceptable in terms of noise; rooms at the front, though benefiting from a lovely view, would doubtless be noisy, especially at the week end. The free wifi seemed to work efficiently everywhere in the hotel and the T.V. in my room had that rarity in continental hotels, a reasonable selection of English language programmes.
Breakfast was a gorgeous continental spread with lovely breads and delicious Danish pastries (what else?). The coffee was the proper ground variety but the juice (from a machine) was dire. Free coffee and tea throughout the day is a bonus not to be sniffed at.
If we came back to Copenhagen, which is certainly possible, we would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julian&Moira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUNCAN
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We chose this hotel based on the reviews we had seen on Tripadvisor and I'm pleased to say we were not disappointed.
The staff in reception were extremely helpful, even though we did take up a lot of their time asking about Bus routes etc.
Our room was clean and spacious with a superb view of Nyhavn everything worked including the free WiFi
Breakfast was also included in our booking, it was very good and nicely presented in a bright spacious dinning room.
Coffee is available here throughout the day.
The best part is the Location. Bethel is situated right on Nyhavn just a short walk from many of Copenhagen's most famous tourist spots.
For tourism, it doesn't get better that this.

Room Tip: View rooms offer Picture postcard views of Nyhavn. Corner units apparently have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benterrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#3 of 117 in Copenhagen
234 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#7 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,888 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel D'Angleterre
Hotel D'Angleterre
#1 of 117 in Copenhagen
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#10 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,280 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#4 of 117 in Copenhagen
2,352 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#22 of 117 in Copenhagen
3,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somandshjemmet Bethel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somandshjemmet Bethel

Property: Somandshjemmet Bethel
Address: Nyhavn 22, Copenhagen 1051, Denmark
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Copenhagen
#4 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#6 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#12 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Somandshjemmet Bethel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel at the corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Somandshjemmet Bethel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somandshjemmet Bethel Copenhagen
Somandshjemmet Bethel Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing