We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, nicest stuff, reasonable price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Somandshjemmet Bethel
Ranked #5 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2013

if you enjoy a cozy, clean and comfortble stay where you have easy access to most attractions Copenhagen has to offer, and if connceting to people who are kind and caring is important to you, then you will like your stay here.

I stayed in a house across the street from this hotel for a few days. I wanted to stay in the very same area again when I came back to Copenhagen in Sepetember. So I walked into the hotel lobby and book room. It turned out the only room was available was facing the side street, therefore, much quieter. It is not a new modern and fancy place, but it is clean, comfortable and I enjoyed the atomsphere very much. Breakfast is provide in the morning, and you have access to the dinning room for tea or coffee all day. Because of the location, I could come back home a couple of times during the day whenever I felt like to. Mostly, the staffs were very curteous, kind and helpful. There are better amenities and newer hotels but I would choose here again in a heartbeat next time when I am in town.

Room Tip: If you like quiet, choose a room in higher floor or not facing the river. If a little bit of noise d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank S J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (822)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

420 - 426 of 822 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2013

Stayed in January 2013. The hotel was half empty, but it sounded and felt like a youth hostel. In a nutshell, not the place for a good night's sleep.

+ Excellent location directly on Nyhavn
+ Hot drinks and small snacks available 24h per day near reception
+ Friendly staff (even if they are generally not very knowledgeable, even about boat trips on their doorstep)

- Rooms are very small, and we saw several of their rooms
- Soundproofing in rooms is extremely poor (from street, hotel hallway and neighboring rooms)
--- Doors slamming throughout the day and night
--- Neighbouring room conversations, audiable word for word (not exaggerating)
--- Cars passing hotel all night long
- Curtains do not block the light, so do bring a good sleeping mask
- Only 1 strange shaped pillow per person (we asked for two more, but no chance).
- The LARGE towel is as big as a SMALL towel in most hotels. ;-)
- There is no shampoo, only soap
- No ventilation in the tiny bathroom, and if you have a shower, the floor will be wet for hours
- Squeaky door handles, and bathroom light switch is outside the bathroom, so if you wake up at night and need "to go", your companion WILL be woken up. ;-) And probably all your neighbours too...especially if you decide to flush. ;-)
- Lamps by side of bed are far too dim for reading
- Carpet could do with replacing, I stepped on an old rusty wire in the carpet, that hurt!
- Generally dated, and feels more like a youth hostel than a 120+ Euro per night hotel.
- WiFi is free but provided by some 3rd party (The Cloud). Connection was VERY slow.

Oh dear... :-(

Room Tip: If you really must stay in this place then ask to be in a room with no neighbours. Though that won...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank JoeyLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 6 nights during the week before Christmas. Our first 3 nights were in room 121 overlooking the Nyhavn Canal. The room and bathroom are spacious and comfortable. The toiletries consist of an all-purpose liquid soap. We were quite comfortable. The last 3 nights were in room 222 which is a corner room that also overlooks the Nyhavn Canal. The view is wonderful and the room is larger. The furnishings and linens seem to be of better quality and there are room darkening shades. The bathroom, while a decent size, is badly designed leaving very little space for the shower which is squeezed in on one side of the toilet. This definitely is not a shower for a large person. The hotel staff were always gracious and helpful. The morning breakfast buffet has something for everyone: yogurt, juices, cold cuts, cheeses, exquisite danish pastries, cereals and breads. And, you can't beat the location and the price in this very expensive city.

Room Tip: The corner rooms are slightly larger and lighter due to the extra windows. The view is very nice as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank diamondsprings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights in October 2012 and would highly recommend the Hotel Bethel to anyone who isn't looking for a fancy hotel. I paid the 'large single' rate, although I suspect the room was a standard double, and the room was clean and comfortable overlooking the back courtyard. Breakfast was a good selection of pastries, cereals and cold meats and cheeses.

Staying in Copenhagen isn't cheap and Hotel Bethel is very reasonably priced for it's location which is excellent, very central which allowed me to walk everywhere. It's on Nyhavn which is pretty and has a good selection of restaurants and it's about a 5 minute walk from the Kongens Nytorv metro station which is on a direct line to the airport.

If you are planning to travel out of Copenhagen to places like Roskilde, Frederiksborg Slot or Kronborg Slot rather than going to Central Station you should consider getting the metro one stop west to Norreport and then changing onto the regional trains there. I visited all these places on day trips and they were easily accessible by public transport.

I would also recommend considering buying a Copenhagen card. Not only will the card cover entry into almost all the museums, churches and historical buildings you are likely to want to visit it also covers all transport in and around Copenhagen which I found much more convenient than having to worry about buying the correct metro and train tickets. The card covered travel as far as the places mentioned above (plus the airport) as well as entry to the two castles and Roskilde Cathedral.

If you're looking for supermarkets there is one on Gothersgade and another couple along Borgergade.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank L_Braybrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We were travelling as a family group of 8, converging in Copenhagen from various places and departing for diverse places. Bethel was recommended by local friends, and the proprietors could not have been more helpful. Our group changed its mind prior to arrival a few times about rooms and dates, and the hotel responded promptly to change requests and then to change back to original arrangement. They helped book restaurant at last minute, and found a good alternative for us when the first was not available. They were good on advice and organising about travel logistics. They let one group of us in ahead of check-in while gave another group of us very late check-out on a day they were closing for the holiday season. As for the facilities, they are somewhat basic, but suited us fine in 2 family rooms for a short stay. The location is excellent - short stroll to metro and shops, walking distance to palace/fortress, museums, parks, Christiana, etc. - although one could imagine it being a bit noisy near the canal in the height of the tourist season. Breakfast is reasonable quality and plenty to select from. Wifi is free and fast. I am unlikely to stay here if in Copenhagen for business, but the hotel suits travellers well.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vivian2010_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

The hotel is ideally situated being about a 10 minute walk from the metro and within easy walking distance of most of copenhagen's tourist attractions. Our room was on the smallish side with no frills but was clean, comfortable and very warm during a very cold spell. Plenty of restaurants along the Nyhavn canal. Buffet style breakfast with plenty to eat and staff very friendly. Hotel has a small lift for those who may have difficulty with stairs. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank titch22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

When we come to Copenhagen the first hotel we check for availability is this one. On many visits to the City we have always chosen to stay here. There cannot be a better location and I doubt there can be better value. Located on the famous Nyhavn, the atmosphere reflects the spirit of Copenhagen and the hotel is right in there. Nothing fancy but cannot praise the owners and staff enough. Nothing is too much trouble.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 117 in Copenhagen
2,661 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 117 in Copenhagen
2,106 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#4 of 117 in Copenhagen
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Outer Vesterbro
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#10 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,350 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Skt. Petri
Skt. Petri
#8 of 117 in Copenhagen
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somandshjemmet Bethel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somandshjemmet Bethel

Address: Nyhavn 22, Copenhagen 1051, Denmark
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Copenhagen
#4 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#12 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range: $125 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Somandshjemmet Bethel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel at the corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Somandshjemmet Bethel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somandshjemmet Bethel Copenhagen
Somandshjemmet Bethel Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing