We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still up to the Mark!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Somandshjemmet Bethel
Ranked #5 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Bude
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Still up to the Mark!”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

This was our third visit to this hotel, and it turned out to be yet another very enjoyable experience. This time though, I was a little aprehensive, since a different Management had taken over around the time we were last there, and we were wondering if any major changes had taken place, but nothing drastic had happened,so all was well!
As said before in a previous review, this is a no frills hotel which offerts plain and simple accommodation at an affordable price in an expensive city, and one of the best parts of it too!. So as well as not wanting standards to drop, we wouldn't wish this place to become swanky either, and price itself out of the market. My message to Management therefore, is 'Keep on course and steady as she goes'
One of the things that makes that atmosphere of this place is the staff on reception, and here I must single out 'Birgar' and Jensia' who do a magnificent job and who are both a splendid asset to 'Hotel Bethel'
Those who have read my earlier reviews will know that I love Copenhagen. It is my favourite city, and my second home, and we are already planning our next visit.

Room Tip: It is worth playing a bit extra for a view of Nyhavn, one of the best places in Copenhagen!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank specialK1937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    320
    76
    12
    4
See reviews for
164
372
65
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed in Hotel Bethel for three nights. It is in a fantastic location right in the Nyhavn area - very close to restaurants and bars. Comfortable, clean and overall good value with an excellent breakfast. Evidently most rooms are twin beds with not many doubles available. The only negative was poor lighting in the room. Impossible for reading but not good for searching in suitcase either. However, would definitely recommend this hotel at the price and revisit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mull07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

This hotel is definitely an excellent choice for Copenhagen: the location in Nyhavn is ideal, it is picturesque and within walking distance to the city center and most of the sights (Rosenborg Palace, The Little Mermaid). The rooms are basic but clean and have free wifi. We´ve had the family room, which was spacious enough for us three. The best bit was the excellent breakfast and the friendly and helpful staff. The room prices are ok for Copenhagen standards (it is an expensive city...) but you get value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trvl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmdale, California
Level Contributor
175 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We loved this place and don't have a bad word to say about it! It's an easy walk from the nearest train station which is on the direct line from the airport, the hardest part was getting our cases over the cobblestones. We had a room facing the canal and we loved the views, both by day and night. The small lift was perfect for taking our cases up and down. Breakfast was typically European and ample, we also really appreciated that free tea and coffee was available the majority of the day. The front desk were really helpful in helping us decide on our daily sightseeing. The location is pretty central to most things in the city and we actually walked everywhere over the two days we spent there. Within Nyhavn at your front door you can't be better placed the bars and restaurants, although you will find cheaper and better places just off the main street. If you want a nice quiet pub for a glass of Danish beer, try Cafe Monten which is just across the side street from the Hotel. Free wi-fi was a bonus.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thumperparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlewich, Cheshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Having read the reviews we were worried that we would be disappointed (or unlucky), but everything was as good as predicted :-

Wonderful location right on Nyhavn. Our rooms were at the back facing the courtyard, so we had no problems with noise at night (unlike some reviews), but most mornings the bins were moved across the cobbled courtyard !

Great Price - Much cheaper than nearby hotels, and even than some hotels well the wrong side of the station. We were even given a 10% reduction for staying 10 nights.

Friendly Staff - When our wheelchair got a puncture, they recommended a local bicycle shop to fix it. Unfortunately the shop couldn't mend the puncture, but removed the wheel (so we only had to carry that to a shop which they knew could), and then refitted the wheel afterwards (all for no charge). The hotel also told us that if we had any more wheelchair problems we were welcome to use bits of an old wheelchair (which the hotel owners no longer used) whilst we got ours fixed. They also answered all our questions quickly and helpfully.

What else? :-
Wi-Fi very good, no problems in our 10-night stay.
The lift goes right down to the courtyard,so we could take the wheelchair in and out that way, avoiding the front stairs.
The bathroom "wet-floor problem" didn't worry us as we just dried the non-shower bit of the floor with a towel when necessary.
The hotel sells single use "clip-cards" for travel around town (2 zone) or to the airport (3 zone) for the same price per clip as a 10-clip card sold at stations. So we didn't have any wasted clips left over at the end of the holiday.
Breakfast very good and filling. Free tea and coffee at all times most welcome.

We will definitely stay there again if we return to Copenghagnen for another visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RogerMEvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I just returned from a 9-night stay at Hotel Bethel. It's conveniently located approximately 10 minutes from the Kongens Nytorv metro stop, and also very, very close to the most excellent bus system (particulary bus 1A), Magasin, and Stroget. The staff was very friendly and most were quite knowledgeable about where items were located. It's also located at the end of Nyhavn, which is one of the most picturesque locations in all of Copenhagen. Lots of great restaurants right nearby - super for people-watching.

Breakfast each morning was excellent, as were conveniences such as free wi-fi and flat-screen TVs.

The rooms are pretty basic, but with a location like this, you shouldn't be spending much time in your room anyway! :)

I understand that the rooms facing the canal can be a bit noisy (particularly in the summer if you wish to sleep with your windows open), but the rooms facing the courtyard are very pleasant.

The bathrooms are traditional to Denmark (from my understanding), so bring your flip-flops.

Overall, an excellent choice! I'll stay at Hotel Bethel if my travels take me to Copenhagen again.

Room Tip: Select an interior room if you wish to "sleep quiet" - as the canal-facing rooms can be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerland, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We booked this hotel before reading any reviews about it, strickly based on price but we were very pleasantly surprised. Dont get me wrong, this is by no mean a chic hotel. Its a bed in a great location and a very good breakfast! Its perfectly clean and the service is well above average. The staff goes above and behond to answer your questions. And the great thing is, you can buy bus tickets there too. Its walking distance to pretty much everything, steps from the restaurants and shopping and metro. Really the location is pretty much perfect!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellersFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#3 of 116 in Copenhagen
200 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,814 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel D'Angleterre
Hotel D'Angleterre
#1 of 116 in Copenhagen
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#4 of 116 in Copenhagen
2,270 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#23 of 116 in Copenhagen
3,852 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#9 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somandshjemmet Bethel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somandshjemmet Bethel

Property: Somandshjemmet Bethel
Address: Nyhavn 22, Copenhagen 1051, Denmark
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Copenhagen
#4 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#6 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#12 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Somandshjemmet Bethel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel at the corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, HRS and Hotel.de so you can book your Somandshjemmet Bethel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somandshjemmet Bethel Copenhagen
Somandshjemmet Bethel Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing