We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, ok hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Somandshjemmet Bethel
Ranked #5 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 26, 2011

This is probably the best value for location in downtown Copenhagen, but do not expect too much else. It is pretty bare bones, but nice staff.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TWCCharlotte_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (822)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

493 - 499 of 822 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2011

We had a wonderful view of Nyhavn canal. The location is great, with an easy walk to Kongens Nytorv Metro station, plus a bus stop right outside the hotel that takes you to the central train station. Enjoyed the ample breakfasts. But the thing that really won us over was how friendly and helpful the staff were, even helping us in our Scandinavian roots search.

Room Tip: Nice to have a canal view, though other rooms we stayed in were fine, also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

On my first visit to Copenhagen we stayed at this wonderful hotel. It is an old seaman place, where seamen could have a cheap room. But not any more. Now it is a vey good hotel with a very friendly staff, of course they speak English, German, Spanish etc too. The rooms are simple but in the good way. Everything works perfect like in the typical Danish good way and it you have a question, they will do everything to help you. You just can`t find a better location than this hotel, right in the middle of Copenhagen. The breakfst is good and there is lot`s of it.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

The location is great, walking distance to the M2 subway line from the airport and a few blocks from anything you'd want to see in Copenhagen. There are lots of restaurants and bars within 500 feet of the hotel (across the canal), though they are a bit touristy.

The rooms are perfectly clean, spartan, simple and without personality, but have everything you need. Breakfast is quite generous with pastries, meats, eggs, cereal, yogurt, etc. I can't complain about the room or the price, but nothing really wowed me as far as the service or charm of the hotel (there is none).

Two tips:
1) Grab a free city bike from one of the several "storage rack" locations around the hotel and ride around the city. It was a great way to see everything since Copenhagen is more spread out than somewhere like Amsterdam. We rode up a coast a little, so lovely!

2) Eat next door at Nyhaven 14, full of locals and sooooo good - if you are lucky enough to get a table. Call ahead for sure!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Will Work for Plane Tickets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We traveled to Denmark for a friends wedding but came back to Copenhagen and stayed at Hotel Bethel from September 4th-6th. I made the reservations online & via email to confirm(had a very friendly person who I communicated with BTW). Our room overlooked the canal and restaurants/pubs across the street(i.e. very nice view). And we were able to open our windows as it was pretty humid due to all the rain Denmark had been having. Even though we didn't chat too much with the staff, they seemed very friendly and helpful
Our breakfast consisted of a variety of cold cuts, cheese, breads, pastries, cereal, juice, coffee and tea. We were able to fill up and started our day wandering around Copenhagen with our friends.
In addition to the location of the hotel to the sites, it is also maybe a 9 minute walk to the metro stop which in turn took us 15 minutes to reach the airport when we checked out.

When we visit Copenhagen again, we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brett B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

First up, with the Bethel, know what you are getting. You're getting a brilliant, lively location, easy access to all the sights and the airport, and friendly, helpful staff. You're not getting luxury, or rooms that have design features. But I think this hotel offers something a bit more than that, it offers good value, and a sense of community.

Downstairs there is a cafeteria with free coffee and tea all day and night. You can grab a takeaway from the Thai place across the bridge for a reasonable price (and it's really good too) or go to Selina's across the street for a burger or pizza. You can bring you food in, sit down and eat with plates and utensils. We stayed for 4 nights, and went out to eat 2 of those. Copenhagen is expensive to eat, so we were really glad to have the Thai food and a burger one night, but not have to eat them in our rooms. Plus everyone is very friendly, you can mingle with other guests, have a chat, watch some American football (that was nice), and generally feel like you're among friends.

The room was fine, it was basic, with a wet room shower and a comfy bed (although those pillows are way too soft). If you close the windows most of the outside noise is blocked out.

The central train station is about a 15 minute walk, and for around £16 you can get a 24 hour all zone pass where you can go anywhere in Denmark pretty much. We went to Roskilde and Hensingor and would recommend both, although I would have liked to have gone to Odense and Aarhus as well (next time). I would also really highly recommend the Glyptotek, that was amazing!

Room Tip: We had room 25 on the first floor, which was fairly quiet and a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nefi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

Excellent location near the canal, the shopping and the old town. The hotel itself is modest at best and the standard room was basic. Tiny bathroom and the shower separated only by a curtain. Thin walls made for noisy nights. However staff was helpful and breakfast was included. Tea and coffee as well as the breakfast room were available all day. Would stay there again mostly due to location. Not cheap for what you got.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darnoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 117 in Copenhagen
2,661 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 117 in Copenhagen
2,106 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#4 of 117 in Copenhagen
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Outer Vesterbro
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#10 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,350 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Skt. Petri
Skt. Petri
#8 of 117 in Copenhagen
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somandshjemmet Bethel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somandshjemmet Bethel

Address: Nyhavn 22, Copenhagen 1051, Denmark
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Copenhagen
#4 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#12 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range: $125 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Somandshjemmet Bethel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel at the corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Somandshjemmet Bethel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somandshjemmet Bethel Copenhagen
Somandshjemmet Bethel Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing