We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty, unsafe, Bed Bugs”
Review of Hotel Jorgensen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Jorgensen
Ranked #101 of 118 Hotels in Copenhagen
Reviewed April 18, 2010

I woke up with 20-30 bed bugs bites on my body after 1 night here. That should tell you, DO NOT STAY here.

Other problems include beds literally crammed into the rooms (1 foot apart from each other), drunken teenagers running around all night, NO locks on the doors and crap lockers in the basement, labyrinth of hallways to find a toilet/shower and of course, the receptionist tried to rip us off when we checked in, by not giving us correct change.

Oh yeah and the mattresses are about 1 inch thick.

BUUUUT, excellent location, low price, good breakfast.

I think this place is slightly better during the week, when the Danish teenagers and English chavs are gone.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marychow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (219)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 219 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2010

I f your looking for a short stay in Denmark and want quick access to trains and the main area of Copenhagen then this is a decent hostel. If however you want a private shower and a little bit more personal space you are better with a cheap hotel.

My stay here was pleasant but I couldn't stay for more than one week.

Overall what you would expect from the cheapest hostel in Copenhagen. OK but far from good. however the breakfast is fairly decent.

Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
1  Thank Sasagawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2009

We stayed here for two nights before heading out for an interrail trip around Europe. We booked in at a 10-bed room. And it was not a plesant experience! The room was not cleen at all. A class of highschool childen on a schooltrip were running arround in the stairs both nights! The showers must have been from somwhere around the 50's (old), and the showers at the first floor was approximately about 1 sq. meter!!! Breakfast was ok. But after 1 month around Europe this was the worst hostel experience we had!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank therese_kristin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2009

in the town, full of live, good breakfast, clean bed, nice staff, just the showers can be improved but by the price they charge everthing was great.

Stayed: December 2009
Thank versolato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2009

The room was small (or rather, for its size, they had packed too many bunkbends into it). The -common- showers were improvised with curtains in a room in the basement, and weren't exactly the cleanest I've seen. The location is very good, the common room is quite nice, and the breakfast buffet is great. A pity that the facilities were not at the same level.

Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
Thank r2rho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2009

I stayed 3 nights in the Hostel Jørgensen. I was in the 12 - bed dorm, and I must admit, this wasn't a really good experience.

Upon arrival, the staff was rather friendly, and even though I checked in before the room was ready, I was still able to put my suitcase in a locker and take a shower.

But this was the highlight of my stay. The Hostel has absolutely no security. There are NO LOCKS on the doors, so this mean than anyone can come in at any time. There was a group of students staying at the same time, and they often had problems finding their rooms, so kept opening our door during the night.

There are also NO LOCKERS in the rooms. To store your belongings you have to go through the maze of stairs and corridors that is this hostel to get to a filthy "locker room", where the lockers are simply 4 pieces of wood with room for a padlock (bring your own).
The rooms weren't dirty (they were definitely vacuumed every day), but the furniture was quite obsolete and old, especially the 3-bed-bunkbeds, with no ladder and no security to prevent from falling during the night.

There was a 'bathroom' in the room (i.e. the entrance was in the room) with 3 toilets (clever for 12 people) but one common shower. With no privacy whatsoever, I found it quite difficult to enjoy my shower in the morning, knowing that anyone could come in (no locks on the bathroom door) or that my belongings in the room weren't safe.

Granted, the location is pretty good: a few minutes from Nørreport Station (with trains, underground and buses) and within walking distance of the main attractions, but I don't think it's worth the trouble. It's quite cheap (for CPH at least), but I've stayed in 'cheap' hostels in CPH before that didn't make me feel so unsafe!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dandy87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2009

- i hate to say that, but that was the best choice if you are on a tight budget to copenhagen which is a very expensive city
- GREAT location just 2 min walk to the metro and S-train station
- can't ask for more with the hotel-like breakfast, especially like the warm bread, chocolate, frequent refills
- washing basin in the room
- BUT really small rooms, we stayed in 4-bedded dorm, can't afford more than 1 person moving at one time
- BUT small toilets, nice shower room though, should be more toilets and shower rooms!
- BUT can be very noisy before 11pm when the hotel is popular with school kids
- BUT have to climb to the upper bed with no ladder, have to use the shaking chair

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Momo907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Windsor
Hotel Windsor
#83 of 118 in Copenhagen
195 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Hotel Nebo
Hotel Nebo
#59 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,037 reviews
Wittrup Motel
#73 of 118 in Copenhagen
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Amager
CABINN Metro
CABINN Metro
#89 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,235 reviews
Frederiksberg
Hotel CABINN Scandinavia
Hotel CABINN Scandinavia
#4 of 6 in Frederiksberg
708 reviews
Amager
Hotel Amager
Hotel Amager
#70 of 118 in Copenhagen
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jorgensen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jorgensen

Address: Roemersgade 11, Copenhagen 1362, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 118 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range: $81 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Jorgensen 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Jorgensen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jorgensen Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing