We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and friendly hotel with excellent location”
Review of Hotel Maritime

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Maritime
Ranked #67 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very nice and friendly hotel with excellent location”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Maritime for two nights before our Baltic cruise. They were able to accommodate 4 people in a room, which was not easy to find at other hotels. The hotel was in a great location in the city center, near Nyhavn and canal tours. The room, although small, was nicely kept and furnished. Complimentary breakfast was very good and included hot items, and it was very nice to have the dining room open with complimentary coffee/tea available throughout the day. Best was the service; the manager advised us not to change currency there as the rates were not good, and when he found out we just needed 20 krone extra for bike rentals, he gave us the money from his own wallet and would not accept any US cash that we offered. We would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chean O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    221
    182
    59
    22
See reviews for
121
167
69
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen
1 review
Reviewed August 25, 2013

It's not my firts time to be at the Maritime. The location is excellent - couldn't be better in Copenhagen. Now they recently improved the internet which is very important for me. The breakfast is decent and the staff is friendly. Rooms are clean and well maintained although small, but the is the norm for this part od the world. I fully recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Andrej O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Jose Dos Campos, SP
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Nice hotel with an excelent location, very close to Nyhavn. From the hotel you can walk to almost all the main places to visit. The rooms are clean and small, but you don't need a large one when you're in Copenhagen. The staff was very nice and the breakfast was great. It's also very easy to get there by car, and it's close to the metro.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diogopcampos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

No air conditioning. Uncomfortable beds. Dirty floor. Loud street. Okay, so the location is nice for access to the airport. We stayed here because we had an overnight stay from Scandinavian Airlines. The main goal was a good nights sleep. It failed.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adashek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Copenhagen hotels

Squamish, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

I was worried about this hotel, but as it turned out it was fine. We arrived late, traveling as a family of 4. Had a fairly basic room, 4 single beds, decent quite large bathroom. Good breakfast, lots of choice. WIFI included Nice atmosphere in breakfast room. Helpful friendly staff. We also stayed the hotel bethel on nyhavn, which gets much better tripadvisor ratings, but the hotel maritime was better value, better breakfast, better room amenities and WAY quieter.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank traveltoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Do not stay here unless you don't mind giving business to a hotel that puts money and profit above all else, and has no refund policy for medical emergencies!!!!

I had to cancel a booking, due to an accident that required in leg surgery, inability to walk for six months, and subsequent 6 day hospitalization due to pulmonary embolisms that resulted. Expedia had trouble getting through to the booking manager (the only one authorized to make a decision on refunds), and so I emailed her myself. No answer. So I called Copenhagen myself. She was unmoved by the medical circumstances, coldly stating that the booking is non-refundable. I find this unconscionable. This booking was part of a three week trip to four different cities in northern Europe. All other hotels and even air fares were refunded 100%. Hotel Maritime wouldn't even offer a voucher for future stay! In fact the manager went so far as to say that she looks forward to my visit. Really??? AND I got an email a few days before the scheduled booking, reminding me of the upcoming stay!! Nothing like adding insult to injury. I emailed again, letting them know I would NOT be traveling. No response, not even a courtesy "get better".

Nearly all hotels have medical emergency cancellation policies, which allow refunds when documentation is provided (which it was, in my case). Except Hotel Maritime. Unless you don't mind giving business to a hotel with no ethics and cares only about $$, go somewhere else!!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
svendhansen, General Manager at Hotel Maritime, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for your comments here on Tripadvisor, Mrs. M., and thank you for your numerous mails and telephone calls, too. You booked and paid for a special rate package, and as part of the reservation agreement, you accepted that the room under no circumstances could be cancelled, amended or refunded. According to Danish legislation, we were obliged to try to minimize your loss by trying to re-sell your room to a third party. Regretfully, we did not succed to sell your room to anybody else. Consequently, we are unable to make any refund. Once again thank you for all your suggestions and feedback. Regards, Svend Hansen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Strand
Copenhagen Strand
#27 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,438 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Front
Scandic Front
#36 of 117 in Copenhagen
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Christian IV
Hotel Christian IV
#25 of 117 in Copenhagen
576 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#3 of 117 in Copenhagen
257 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Somandshjemmet Bethel
Somandshjemmet Bethel
#5 of 117 in Copenhagen
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maritime? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maritime

Property: Hotel Maritime
Address: Peder Skrams Gade 19, Copenhagen 1054, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Maritime 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel located in the centre of Copenhagen next to the harbour; a short walk to The Royal Theatre, restaurants & shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Maritime reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritime Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing