We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific location, basic room”
Review of Hotel Maritime

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Maritime
Ranked #69 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level Contributor
79 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Terrific location, basic room”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I didn't pay for my room so I have no idea of the price--other reviewers suggest that this hotel is good value for money, so I might have rated higher if I'd paid for my room out of pocket and researched the price in comparison to other nearby hotels.

That being said, I found this hotel basic and comfortable. I stayed in a thin room with two single beds. It may have felt cramped with two people but was fine for just me. Wireless was free, breakfast had a good selection, and the location was absolutely outstanding. Very quick and easy transport from the airport.

The major problem with the room was that the shower had no rims around the floor to contain water. The fabric shower curtain billowed in towards you when you bathed, and water got all over the entire bathroom floor whether the curtain was pulled or not. This clearly has been a problem for awhile, since I could smell a faint mildew smell in the bathroom. Also, my clock was broken--just jumped ahead hours once in awhile, so I had to rely on wake up calls. I asked for a replacement clock and there were none to be had.

The people at the front desk were kind and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitre10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    215
    174
    57
    22
See reviews for
115
165
66
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in this conveniently located hotel. A good base from which to explore this very beautiful city. The hotel is very much a no frills choice, basic but clean in a quiet area. This suited us as we spent a lot of time out and about. Our room was fine with a very comfy bed and a small shower room. Unlike some other reviewers, we managed not to flood the shower room. Correct positioning of the shower head makes all the difference we found.

Breakfast was okay, basic but pretty good although we were rather alarmed to find on our last morning there that for some weird reason, the ham was partially frozen so we steered well clear of that. We also found during our stay that the tables weren't cleared adequately. Staff were very thin on the ground in the breakfast room, hence tables tended to have debris on them from previous guests eg crumbs, spillages which was not particularly pleasant. A tip might be to carry a J cloth or antiseptic wipe around with you just to give your table a quick wipe!

All in all though, this was a decent enough hotel. Incidentally, if like us, you enjoy curry, there is a good restaurant just down the end of the road, if you turn left out of the hotel. Prices were pretty reasonable too.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mattwright_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have stayed a few times in this hotel. The location is central, not far from Kongens Nytorv. A large model of a ship welcomes you as you enter. The restaurant right by the entrance, where free coffee and tea is always available- this makes a for real warm welcome! The room where I stayed in last was small but comfortable, but what I remember was the extra large bathroom, perhaps larger than the room itself! Breakfast was standard. The staff are very friendly and helpful, service is fast. Overall, a good place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sridharsampath1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Lewis
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a great value for money hotel in an excellent central Copenhagen location and round the corner from the attractive Nyhaven harbour area with pretty painted period houses, boats, bars and cafes. The hotel is very clean, good breakfast to keep you going most of the day, coffee on tap in the breakfast room all day, staff helpful but not in your face. It is not a luxury hotel but somewhere convenient for those with sightseeing on their mind and need somewhere quiet, clean and comfortable to crash in after an exhausting day of culture, shopping and people watching.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trish58IsleofLewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
985 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 305 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed here on a saturday for one night. The hotel is located on a 5 minute walk from metro station Kongens Nytorv which has a direct link to Kastrup Airport. The woman at the reception is friendly and helpful. The rooms are basic with an old but comfortable bed, a small closet and a tv. The bath room is a bit outdated but clean. Breakfast was simple but good with enough options. We paid a bit less than 50 euros per person which in Copenhagen is a good price.

If you are looking for a simple, clean, affordable hotel than this is your choice. If you are looking for luxury then dont go here. I found it very good for a few days.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronaldo070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

This place is a gem in respect of the centrality of its location, I got to all the museums and galleries I wanted to in 2.5 days because I could get everywhere easily. The hotel itself is clean, warm, secure and the breakfast buffet is decent enough. The staff were very helpful and the recommendation for a local restaurant was really appreciated (superb food!). I would recommend it to any traveller wanting a cheap and cheerful base from which to explore this magnificent city.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WoobyBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suresnes, France
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Arrived in Copenhagen by metro from the airport. Hotel was only a few minutes walk from Kongens Nytorv metro stop. Location was very convenient for exploring, which was nice for us, as the city was covered in blankets of snow. Free coffee and tea was available in the dining area at all hours. This was nice to come home to after walking all day in quite cold temperatures. Breakfast in the mornings was basic, but filling and included in room price, so that was quite nice. Room and bathroom were basic, but perfectly adequate, as we did not spend much time in the room. Bed was comfortable and room was clean, which is all you really need. I should note a sewer like smell coming from the bathroom area, but again, we were not in the room very often. Staff was pleasant, helpful, and spoke perfect English. Would recommend.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 4th floor that was quite nice. There is a small lift available just beside rece...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lpgrimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Strand
Copenhagen Strand
#27 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,405 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Front
Scandic Front
#35 of 116 in Copenhagen
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Christian IV
Hotel Christian IV
#25 of 116 in Copenhagen
543 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#3 of 116 in Copenhagen
202 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Somandshjemmet Bethel
Somandshjemmet Bethel
#4 of 116 in Copenhagen
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maritime? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maritime

Property: Hotel Maritime
Address: Peder Skrams Gade 19, Copenhagen 1054, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Maritime 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel located in the centre of Copenhagen next to the harbour; a short walk to The Royal Theatre, restaurants & shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Maritime reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritime Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing