We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not perfect, but good enough”
Review of Hotel Maritime

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Maritime
Ranked #69 of 118 Hotels in Copenhagen
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Great location near the harbor and a short walk from the Kongens Nytorv metro station. It costs about $12 USD for 2 people to take the metro from airport to Kongens Nytorv station and then walk to the hotel.. The hotel had an included breakfast buffet and free wi-fi, which made it a good value. We were permitted to check in early. The room was sparse and very small as expected. It had a private bath, but you will live out of stacked suitcases as there wasn’t a single drawer or a hook to be had. I think there were 5 hangers.

The breakfast buffet was fine and filling. It included scrambled eggs (strangely salty), soft-boiled eggs, meats, cheeses, breads, Danish, yogurt, jams, cereal with milk, canned fruits, juices, coffee, and teas. The water, coffee and tea were available all day, although the coffee was not so good.

The hotel called us a taxi (Dantaxi) to go to the Frihavn cruise terminal. The taxi came almost immediately, and it cost about $25 USD for the trip to Frihavn.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Annacanna_70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (570)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

210 - 216 of 570 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2012

No complaints about staying here. Was able to leave my luggage at the hotel until I could come back to check in at 2 pm (we were able to check in a little early around 1:30/1:45). Everything was clean. Of course small because you are in the middle of the city, but we had everything we needed. Breakfast was great--breads, meats, eggs, cheeses, pastries, yogurt, not as much fruit. They had coffee and tea all the time. We even got up in the middle of the night due to jet lag, and they had tea for us. And free internet! Very close to city center as well.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Nice place. Free internet. Free tea and coffee in the breakfast room all day. Basic enough breakfast, bread, cheese, ham, stuff like that. Frank-furthers and scrambled eggs as a hot option. Cheap enough, but a small walk out from the center

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hellohellohello14243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Several of us stayed here for two nights prior to a cruise. We arrived early in the morning, prior to an rooms being available. They held our luggage for us while we explored the city. The luggage is just kept in an open closet, but it was in view of people at the desk. The rooms were small, but very comfortable and clean. The breakfast was very good. It was nice to have a free breakfast in a city that is very expensive. The hotel was reasonably priced for the area and was very well located. We were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go. Free wi-fi was also nice.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
Thank pm309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Perfect location with close proximity to all Copenhagen main attractions and metro station. Single room is very small with basic equipment. Spacious bathroom with unpleasant flooring (unless you wear flip flops). Basic international breakfast (scrambled eggs made from powder). Very pleasant staff. Free Wi-Fi in all hotel. I would recommend this hotel as long as you pay more attention to location rather than standard it offers. All in all average value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robertmpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We spent one night at the Maritime Hotel, booking at the last minute in August (a mistake since the prices were high and most hotels were booked) before going back home. We had a family room, size OK, on the first floor across a courtyard (window looked out to the street but no noise problem). Pros: great location, near metro (can take directly to airport). You can walk over a bridge (~10-15 minutes) to Christianshavn and eat at Spicy Kitchen (reasonably priced Indian cuisine, ~ 55-75 DKK for a meal). All day coffee/tea/hot chocolate. Cons: Basic hotel services (no one going the extra distance), mediocre breakfast (canned fruit, scrambled eggs were awful), touristy area (a nearby "kiosk" selling groceries but no close supermarkets. Agree with the "average" assessment (given overpriced Copenhagen). The Best Western City is across the street, might comparison shop there.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nymom25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

This place is a hidden gem. The prices were reasonable for the high costs in Copenhagen. We got early check in. The breakfast is included and was very good. The location is great. Friendly staff. We would stay there again.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank ComeSeeHun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Strand
Copenhagen Strand
#27 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,470 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Christian IV
Hotel Christian IV
#21 of 118 in Copenhagen
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Front
Scandic Front
#32 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,004 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel SKT. Annae
Hotel SKT. Annae
#48 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,137 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#4 of 118 in Copenhagen
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maritime? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maritime

Address: Peder Skrams Gade 19, Copenhagen 1054, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 118 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range: $124 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Maritime 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel located in the centre of Copenhagen next to the harbour; a short walk to The Royal Theatre, restaurants & shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Maritime reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritime Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing