We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Social place but a little far from the city center”
Review of Sleep in Heaven

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sleep in Heaven
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 7, 2013

The staff were friendly and their bar had decent happy hour deals which made the stay fun. The location wasn't great since it was a good 25 min walk to the city center but still had decent bars in the area. Also, cheap food could be found in this area as opposed to the center.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AsimAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (661)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

410 - 416 of 661 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2013

Really cool hostel in general. Nice common room, confy beds, cheap buffet breakfast and they also have a happy hour. The location is not the best but it's not bad either. You have to walk some block to get the metro to the city center. But there are lots of bars near by.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andres P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

This was a nice hostel, but they charged for everything, which was a shame as there seemed to nothing for free.... I mean the basics like Breakfast should be covered when charging so much a night, but it's Copenhagen so I don't expect too much for free.... The city however is amazing, and we achieved so much during our stay!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrantJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

An OK hostel, just the basics. Which makes it very overpriced. To not have soap or shampoo nor provide towels in a 30 EUR a night hostel it's just too much, no matter where it is. Obviously, there's no laundry nor anything like that.The bathrooms were wet and a little filthy every once in a while.
It's 10 to 20 minutes to all the sights and something like that or a little more to the airport. You'd imagine that that far away from the centre you'd be in a quiet neighbourhood, but I had to wear earplugs every night.
Also, it's supposed to be in the Turkish neighbourhood, but that didn't make it cheaper at all.
To sum up, I don't think it's worth your money.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camilo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I guess this hostel isn't terrible, but compared to the other hostels I've stayed at throughout Europe it was by far the worst and the most expensive. Our room was smelly and damp and the sheets had holes in them and were stained. Toilets didn't always flush. I was in the second building which was kinda creepy. It's pretty far from the city center and the tourist stuff so be prepared to walk. Also the neighborhood was described as "cool and trendy", it would be more comparable to the bad areas of brooklyn.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aml728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

This is by far the best hostel I've ever stayed in.
The staff are friendly. The area (Norrebro) is really interesting and lively. There are restaurants and bars just around the corner and two cheap supermarkets as well.
The rooms are clean, the people are amazing, their happy hour makes drinking affordable and it's not far to the city centre at all.
Would recommend it to anyone visiting Copenhagen.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaffneen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I didn't actually wake up in this hostel because they cancelled my reservation when I appeared at the reception counter. They said that I exceeded their age limit of 36 years. The age limit did not appear on their website when I made the reservation. If you are less than 37 years old you might not be turned away as I was, but you will still have to deal with the clumsy and insensitive management that told me to go find something else.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Service
1  Thank Alljack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Hotel Nebo
Hotel Nebo
#59 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,037 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Urban House Copenhagen by MEININGER
Indre By (Inner City)
Generator Copenhagen
Generator Copenhagen
#5 of 43 in Copenhagen
2,715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Downtown Hostel
Copenhagen Downtown Hostel
#4 of 43 in Copenhagen
1,460 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Danhostel Copenhagen City
Danhostel Copenhagen City
#6 of 43 in Copenhagen
865 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Steel House Copenhagen
Steel House Copenhagen
#3 of 43 in Copenhagen
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep in Heaven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep in Heaven

Address: Struenseegade 7, Copenhagen 2200, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Noerrebro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Copenhagen
Price Range: $23 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep in Heaven 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Facilities:Free Wi-FiFree bedlinenFree lockersFree luggage storageFree computers in common room24 hour receptionCheap breakfastSunny gardenHappy hour everydayFree walking toursBike rental from hostelSleep in Heaven is a modern youth hostel located in lively Nørrebro area- the part of the city where you can feel the real Copenhagen atmosphere- as it is full of great places, shops and cafés where young locals hang out. Nørrebro is also known for city’s best bars and clubs in town. Doesn‘t matter what your taste is, you will for sure find something for yourself- from dark indie clubs to the most hip electro, from old smoky bars to artsy cafés, from top rated restaurants to cheap take away places and Turkish delis - Nørrebro has it all. The hostel has a perfect location for those wanting to check out the tourist sites during day and hang out in the best part of the town at night. It’s an easy walk to the city centre and the nearby busses and metro makes it easy to get around the city. Hostel also offers bike rental, as we believe that bikes are the best solution how to transport yourself around the city and see all interesting stuff.The hostel has newly renovated rooms, key card access and free lockers. Bed linen and free Wi-Fi is included. The hostel’s spacious common area offers plenty of chances to meet other travelers. You can play board games while sitting on comfy couches, or socialize with others while playing table soccer or pool. The bar at the reception has daily happy hour from 19 till 20, where you can get 2 beers for the price of one! There is always great music, cheap snacks and drinks and free guest computers in common room. During the warm months, our cozy beer garden in the backyard is the right place to chill out on the sun.The hostel’s friendly staff will gladly give you tips how you can make the most of your trip, by visiting not only main attractions but also hidden gems of Copenhagen.There’s a reason why Copenhageners prefer the diverse and lively Nørrebro to the touristy city centre. Come stay with us and find out why.Accommodation InformationAge restriction in dorms: 16 - 35.Age restriction in private rooms: 16 - 45.Bookings for more than 9 people are not accepted and will be cancelled (without a refund of the deposit and the booking fee).Maximum stay is 7 nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Sleep in Heaven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep-In Heaven Hotel Copenhagen
Sleep In Heaven Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing