We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms very small”
Review of Hotel Ansgar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Ansgar
Ranked #49 of 118 Hotels in Copenhagen
Reviewed September 15, 2012

There are good things and not so great things about the hotel.

The staff is very friendly and helpful. The breakfast very good and the courtyard lovely. We chose this hotel for location; close to the train station and Tivoli Garden.

The rooms are VERY small and the walls not so sound proof. If your room is in the front of the hotel you run the risk of noise from the college across the street at night.

Now the lifts are set up so strange we ended up laughing because they stop either four stairs up or down - like a mezzanine on each floor... Therefore you have to either carry your luggage up or down stairs to board the lift.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CATravelBug411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (790)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

297 - 303 of 790 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed here for a weekend and thought it was a very good, solid hotel.

The cost of the room was reasonable, the location (about a five minute walk from the Central Station) is excellent and the rooms were clean and well equipped.

We also got breakfast each day and this was also excellent, with lots of options and all good quality

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlythLambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

we were cruising from copenhagen to saint petersburg. We stayed in the ansgar for one night before embarkation , and one night before returning home.The hotel is in a good position for walking to most places of interest.It has a small reception area it is clean and the reception staff are pleasant and helpful. The hotel is carpeted throughout ,so there is no noise from the corridors. The walls of the rooms are thin, you can hear the conversation in the next room. We were not impressed with our room because it was very small.We asked reception if we could move to a bigger room, but the receptionist said that there were no other rooms available and she promised that when we returned from our cruise she would allocate a better room to us.Continental breakfast is included in the room price.There is a courtyard at the back of the hotel where you can sit outside in the sunny weather and a limited supply of alcholic drinks is available. There is no lounge. On return from our cruise the receptionist had fullfilled her promise and we were allocated room number 508., It was spacious and there were views over the roof tops.The surrounding area is down market, but as I said before it is a very conveniant place to stay.Would I stay there again? yes if it is only for one or two nights.

Room Tip: ask for room 508
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynne960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Overall not a bad hotel although the surrounding area is pretty shabby. The room was quite small and the lift was inconveniently located on the half level so pushing the pram with a sleeping baby involved lugging the pram up and down a few stairs. Breakfast was OK. There is a courtyard if the weather is pleasant

I got pretty tired of the area after a couple of days. Dirty as hell and very sleazy at night. There was also some road building which cut off the short cut to get out of the area.

I would recommend paying a little more and getting out of Vesterport, particularly if you have a family.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swinge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

The rooms are small for two people with 2 baggages but clean and well heated. The bathroom was very small and without a bathtub but to my surprise shower water drain correctly and it kept the rest of the bathroom floor dry.
I chose the hotel because it was near the station and well located for the price but due to a construction between the station and the hotel, the path is closed and you need to walk longer . It would be nice if in the booking page they can show the shorter way from the station to the hotel. The breakfast was good and the staff was very pleasant.

Room Tip: The hotel has an inner courtyard very nice and the street is also quiet since it is a dead end so an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Norma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Very good hotel, clean, helpful people. Great breakfast. Hard to fault. Location a short walk to the centre of town, but very convenient to train station.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rrrrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Good location only 5 minutes from the train/bus station. The hotel has good standard compared to the price. The rooms are small but cozy with clean and comfortable beds. The breakfast was excellent. Pleasant staff. We really liked our stay there and recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matteus T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Star Hotel
Copenhagen Star Hotel
#68 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,051 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Mercur Hotel
Copenhagen Mercur Hotel
#57 of 118 in Copenhagen
950 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Saga Hotel
Saga Hotel
#72 of 118 in Copenhagen
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,037 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Hotel Copenhagen Crown
Hotel Copenhagen Crown
#60 of 118 in Copenhagen
733 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#90 of 118 in Copenhagen
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ansgar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ansgar

Address: Colbjoernsensgade 29, Copenhagen 1652, Denmark
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro , Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 118 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range: $121 - $750 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ansgar 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Ansgar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ansgar Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing