We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect for what we needed”
Review of Saga Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Saga Hotel
Ranked #72 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
toronto
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“perfect for what we needed”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Came here with 2 friends, we stayed in a triple room for 4 nights (Aug 7th-11th). We chose it because it was a good price (relative to other hotels), central (only a couple minutes walk from the train station), had breakfast included and free wifi. We only had 4 days to cram as much as we could so all we really needed was a bed to sleep in at night (and to stuff ourselves at breakfast, Copenhagen is very expensive). At first I was bothered there were no en suite washrooms but actually it was fine, there is 2 toilets and one shower on the floor and they were usually free when I needed them. I think the only real complaint I have is there is no elevator, walking up 5 flights of stairs with your luggage or after a very tiring day of exploring is not so fun. The doors are very heavy so there is some banging (people who don't care to close them slowly).

Breakfast was good, a selection of fresh breads, jam, cold cuts and cheese, cereal and granola, soft boiled eggs, cucumbers and tomatoes, yogurt and pastries plus juice, coffee and tea. Some fruit would have been nice though.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ceevee8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    210
    156
    46
    36
See reviews for
81
173
59
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

This hotel is a fairly basic 2 star option, it's located two blocks from the central train station and it's relatively affordable for Copenhagen. Granted it's probably not going to win any major plaudits for style or comfort but it did the job for me...I stopped over for a night and it was perfectly adequate for my needs as a single traveller.

The walls are on the thin side, the decor was rather tired and the room I was in was a little musty, however the bed was comfortable and the plentiful buffet-style breakfast was very acceptable. Communal toilet and shower facilities gave the place the feel of a budget hostel but it was better than some of those that I have stayed in previously. It's all reasonably clean and tidy overall and there is a good selection of information leaflets in the reception area...Internet and WiFi are available in all areas also.

Given that the area of Vesterbro is not the most savoury of places after dark visitors are well advised to take normal precautions (as they would in most European capitals). However, with all the major attractions in striking distance and very handy transport links this place is deservedly popular, with accommodation to suit both the 'travellers' and the 'tourists' alike.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MRonaldSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

The Saga Hotel is located right next to the train station and Tivoli Amusement Park. You can't beat the location. The young man who checked me in was friendly and efficient; the gentlemen at the reception who was bigger and bald (like me so bald men are beautiful!) was exceptionally friendly and helpful.
The price per night was under 100€, so for Denmark it was very good. The bed in the room was very small (very Nordic - don't know how they do it as they are big), and after four nights, I was ready for something bigger. The shower/bathroom combination is fine, clean, the soap dispenser full and a change of towels/sheets everyday.
The breakfast buffet surprised me. I expected much less for the price. You have everything: a large selection of breads, pastries, hard boil eggs, yogurt, meats, cheese, etc. Bravo and thanks for not scrimping.
I unfortunately had room 103, near the breakfast area. The rooms are not well sound proof, and you must shut the door hard for it to fully close. I never woke up at night, but before nodding off, I heard my neighbor's footsteps above, the doors in the hallway closing and the morning noise from the breakfast room. If there is one draw-back to this very reasonably priced hotel, this is it.

Room Tip: Avoid a room near the breakfast area. Better to have a room on the upper floor and looking out over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Don't get me wrong...Although during the whole stay of 4 nights, doors keept on be slamming...
I liked my stay there, especialy when traveling on a budget to Scandinavia.
It is A very noisy place (in & out), and you get all the time the feeling the someone will
get into your room...
Rooms are small, but very clean. Breakfast was good for a 2 star (coffee was realy BAD, have teaand get yourself a fine coffee elsewhere).
Liked the centraly location, next to the central train station, although it getts noisy late at night.
Anyway, a good budget choice for CPH. By the way, staff was "so called" nice...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Level 6 Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Hotel outside: located quite centrally, but next to train station...which can be an advantage as well as disadvantage. You are close to main transport, but obviously just like everywhere else there are specific people that hang around train stations especially late eve.

Hotel inside: 4 floors and no lift...so you better be fit ;)
Simple "student like" decor, but clean and minimalistic. Hotel offers luggage storage.
Small lobby with computer and free wifi.

Rooms: we stayed in 4bed budget room which was sufficient in size. Small wardrobe, small sink in the room. Toilet and showers shared at the end of the corridor. We were positively surprised how clean this 2 star hotel room was (taking in consideration furniture style). The bathroom and toilet were, as well, kept clean...but since it was shared you also had to be a bit lucky on "clean and thoughtful" people ... and we were.
Small TV in the room with english channels and free wifi. The room was rather warm, but since we prefer warm with open windows, we were happy.

Restaurant:
Breakfast was as well little surprise. The breakfast room was quite busy and we had to wait a bit for our table every morning (but it happens in 5* hotels as well). Again very simple student like decor, but kept clean. The choice of food was large from salty to sweet...pastry, different bread, eggs...fresh veggie, cheeses...just about anything. For two star budget we were very happy and well fed.

Staff: Polite, easygoing...nothing special to highlight - neither to complain about.

Perfect for budget travelers. Not good for children and people who have problems with stairs)

*student like decor = simple a bit outdated furniture more from 70-80.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZaJaci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

This hotel advertises as 2 star and really it is no better than that. Staff are willing but the location near the station, the absence of any lift (and the hotel has 5 floors), and the availability of budget dorm rooms all leads to a rather well-used feeling.
Selected a superior room with bathroom ensuite. Bath with no plug and shower over was very poorly designed. Room on the top floor received direct sunlight most of the day which in summer made it impossibly hot, though open windows helped.
Generally the hotel showed signs of needing care and attention.

Room Tip: If you have a problem with stairs, be aware there is no elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SecretStreets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This hotel is pretty basic; rooms are tired and not particularly clean. There are a great many steps and no lift. The buffet breakfast was quite generous, though, and the staff polite and helpful.

The worst problem, as others have commented, is the terrible area it is located in. On a Saturday night there was loud noise, including screaming, on the street outside, well into the early hours. Not the hotel's fault, but not a great night's sleep!

Room Tip: Avoid the side facing the station at all costs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Copenhagen hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Hotel Nebo
Hotel Nebo
#52 of 117 in Copenhagen
995 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Hotel Ansgar
Hotel Ansgar
#49 of 117 in Copenhagen
778 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Amager
CABINN Metro
CABINN Metro
#82 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,127 reviews
Amager
Hotel CopenHagen
Hotel CopenHagen
#100 of 117 in Copenhagen
147 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Zleep Hotel Copenhagen City
Zleep Hotel Copenhagen City
#93 of 117 in Copenhagen
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saga Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saga Hotel

Property: Saga Hotel
Address: Colbjoernsensgade 18, Copenhagen 1652, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro , Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Saga Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Saga Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saga Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing