We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable room & convenient location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saga Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Saga Hotel
Ranked #71 of 114 Hotels in Copenhagen
Paris, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Comfortable room & convenient location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

Our family stayed 3 nights in this hotel.
The quad (or familiy) room was large enough. In some hotels, they just put 3 or 4 beds in the rooms to accomodate 4 people and there is no space left between them.
It's not the case here.
Breakfast was OK, for children or parents (try danish paté at breakfast !!).
The neighbourhood may be a bit... well not so good after 10PM, like many 'central station's neighbouroods, but we didn't feel afraid or anything.
You walk 3 minutes to get to Tivoli or to the station, where you have trains to the airport.

No lift and shared bathrooms were no problem for us. I think it's why this hotel is cheaper than others.

If you plan to visit Copenhagen after the checkout, you can leave your luggage at he hotel (and come back just taking the train to airport).

Some tip: the validity of Copenhagen bus tickets is 1 hour from the time you BUY them (e.g. at the automatic machine), not from the first time you USE them.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PhileosFR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    198
    144
    43
    34
See reviews for
71
165
57
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
131 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

Despite after reading all the reviews, we still decide to book Saga hotel because of its close proximity to the train station as we had to catch a very early flight the day we check out. It is about a 3 mins walk from the central train station. After a 14 hours flight, we were very lucky that our room was ready at 9am and we could check in immediately to take a rest. We stayed there for 2 nights and our room was facing the road. A good idea is to ask for a room that is not facing the road. The room is bigger than we had anticipated. Room was really clean. The toilet is so small to the point that even a petite person like me had trouble locking the door. The w/c is like 1m x 1m in area. It was only maybe 1 to 2 inch from the door to the tip of the toilet bowl. Showers were ok and clean.

The staffs were great and helpful however I agree with some reviews that the place is a little seedy. We do not see any drug dealers or hookers around during our stay however we noticed that there were a lot of blacks standing around the area especially the junction even in wee hours of the night till the next morning around 7am. Our first night’s sleep was totally disrupted by these blacks having a fight near the hotel. Given that we were heavy sleepers + jet lag, the noise totally kept us awake and we really felt miserable. The second night was ok. The breakfast is with a good spread of breads, ham, cheese, juices etc.

The day we checked out was early in the morning 6am. We have to leave for the train station to catch our flight at 8am. Before we leave, from our window, we observed that there were some guys out on the streets who were there since maybe 10pm. They talked so loud. For sure doesn’t look like policemen and more like loittering. Better to play safe, we brisk through to the train station and just right about to cross the street at the junction where the 7-eleven is, we noticed that the 2 blacks were following us. We walked even faster, got to the train station safely and were relieved. Maybe we were paranoid; my advice is that if you need to leave so early in the morning or arrive late at night and you are a solo female traveler, I suggest looking for somewhere else. I was travelling with my brother so I felt it was still ok but definitely do not 100% feel safe in that area.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms that are not facing the road. the noise from the road can be disrupting to your sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lpypeiying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BH/MG/Brasil
Level Contributor
103 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2011

The hotel is really near the central station so is easy to arrive and departure. The staff is good. The room smell cigarretes even written smoking is not allowed!!! terrible smell . The hotel was full so I couldn't be changed to another room. The bathroom was terrible with no division for the shower so at the end of a shower there was a flood in it all!!! A good breakfast!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DUDU-BH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pescara, Italy
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

good location (next to the train Station, Tivoli...) but in a rough neighborhood. not good for families. no lift, wifi in included but available only in the lobby, staff at the recepiton not so friendly and not ready to help you (i've got a reply to my email after 3 days!!). decent breakfast, but prices are too high for this hotel! Not suggested.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank im-not-a-tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2011

Excellent stay. Friendly staff, spotless shared bathroom, nice room, comfy bed, good breakfast, 24hr security. For this price (65 euro single in double room) I was expecting much less. The hotel is within a stones throw of the station. My only critique would that the neighborhood is a tiny bit seedy.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JonNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2011

2 stars didn't give much to expect, especially with the knowledge that we did not have a private bathroom and toilet, but shared with others in the same corridor. The room did have a sink, which was good, but that was it. Nothing luxurious, but the room worked, the toilets and bathrooms were hygienic and clean and we actually missed nothing. The breakfast was excellent; nice, fresh bread and danish pastry, müsli, yoghurt, juice, milk, flakes etc. For a budget stay, everything was in order. Furthermore, the hotel was located just 200m from the main railway station, which was convenient when arriving and departing, because the journey from the airport to the main train station took only 14 min. Nice staff and free internet + WiFi (WLAN).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jarska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2011

Copenhagen is a very expensive city, and this hotel provides everything you need for a great price. The staff was very friendly and spoke perfect English. Free wifi. We had a very large (triple) room. Shared bathroom, but it was clean and we had no problems with it. Breakfast was great, typical bread and meats and cheeses, plus cereal, eggs, yogurt. It's located just west of the train station, near Tivoli Garden. Most of the stuff we wanted to see was on the East side, but the walk was fine. It is near the red-light district, but it's very clean, well-lit, and people are walking through all the time, so we never felt unsafe. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LisanCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Hotel Nebo
Hotel Nebo
#51 of 114 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Star Hotel
Copenhagen Star Hotel
#68 of 114 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Cabinn City Hotel
Cabinn City Hotel
#48 of 114 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Windsor
Hotel Windsor
#80 of 114 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Zleep Hotel Copenhagen City
Zleep Hotel Copenhagen City
#95 of 114 in Copenhagen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Amager
Hotel CopenHagen
Hotel CopenHagen
#89 of 114 in Copenhagen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saga Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saga Hotel

Property: Saga Hotel
Address: Colbjoernsensgade 18, Copenhagen 1652, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro , Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Saga Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Travelocity so you can book your Saga Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saga Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing