We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should be shoe size not room number”
Review of Savoy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Savoy Hotel
Ranked #26 of 118 Hotels in Copenhagen
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is the first shoebox I've ever stayed in and my husband and I have stayed in some small rooms especially in the UK & Europe. Barely enough room for us and 2 med sized suitcases. I can handle small but not when to get into or out of bed I have to turn sideways and fold myself in half to accommodate the window sill that juts into the room over the side of the bed and literally slide to get in or out of bed. There is no airconditioning just heating. I can imagine the room would be very hot on a warm day, we had to keep the windows open. In all fairness it was well located. A short walk to the station, Tivoli Gardens and the main square where tours leave from. Great Thai restaurant just a couple of doors up, a seven eleven just up the road along with money changers (all to the left as you come out of the hotel) and a large department store just a couple of minutes away to the right. So location is great. The hotel is fresh, trendy, breakfast was good, very clean and the staff very friendly and helpful. It's just too small. Other hotels nearby and I'd be looking there next time to see if they had normal sized rooms.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RhondaH628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristianOxlund, Ejer at Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear RhondaH628,

Thank you for taking time to write a review.

I am glad that you enjoyed the stay, even though the rooms are on the small side.
We do have larger rooms available when booking, and normally also on arrival.

I hope to see you in Copenhagen some day again.

Kind regards,

Christian Oxlund

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (948)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

467 - 473 of 948 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in a family room at the end of September. The layout of the room was odd (shower room was not ideal) but it was clean and comfortable enough. The hotel itself is a very cool art-deco building with wonderful light fixtures and appealing decor. The reception staff were lovely and the breakfasts were tasty, with lovely housemade bread and good pastries. I think for the four of us, it represented reasonable value for money in an expensive city. Close to the station and fantastic restaurants.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deedeebroughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristianOxlund, Ejer at Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear Deedeebroughton,

Thank you for taking time to write a review, it is highly appreciated.

We hope to be able to welcome you again some day.

Regards,

Christian Oxlund

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

If you're looking for a great modest hotel to stay in when in Copenhagen the Savoy is it. Strategically located downtown, it is in walking distance of the central train station and anything else you would want. The rooms are not huge but big enough, especially if you don't plan to be in them most of the time and they are clean. My wife and I found the staff very friendly and gave us great advice when we asked about where to go for dinner or where we ought shop.

The continental Breakfast is well stocked and all you need.
We had a great stay and would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarnettBrickner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristianOxlund, Ejer at Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear BarnettBrickner,

Thank you for your review about Savoy Hotel.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you again some day.

Regards,

Christian Oxlund

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

This is a lovely old hotel with friendly staff. Room was a bit small - but big enough for the two of us and our bags - but who spends all their time in a hotel room anyway. Bathroom was clean and for the age of the building, the room was refurbished and nice. Breakfast was good in the downstairs restaurant - great little place to park your bikes too (hiring bikes in Copenhagen is a must). The only downside was the noise. The walls aren't overly insulated and our sleep was disturbed on a number of occasions by people walking down the hallway or in one case - talking in the room next door. Maybe we should have stayed out later - this was the only downside to an otherwise great stay.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank RohanMcCarthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristianOxlund, Chef  at Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear RohanMcCarthy,

Thank you for taking time to write a review.

We hope to be able to welcome you again in near future.

Regards,

Christian Oxlund

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We arrived by train and it is a reasonable walk to the hotel ... always seems further when you arrive and we never seem to leave the station from the closest exit. The cobblestones are a pain when dragging your suitcase. First impression when arriving at the hotel is the construction work next door which has left the entrance area a bit messy. Reception people were very good .. helpful, friendly and english wasn't a problem. Room was a reasonable size and there was a bath in the bathroom. It appeared the room / hotel had been recently renovated. No noise problems for us at night, but construction work started next door in the mornings at around 6am ... not good, but at least it was daylight. Couple of small issues ... no soap in the room, the container was empty, but a quick word to the cleaning lady in the passage had that fixed, also no tea spoon to go with the cups, a quick trip to reception fixed that as well, but these things shouldn't happen. Noticed a drains odour in the bathroom, but also down in reception so not sure if this was connected to the construction work ... my wife ended up placing a towel over the drain hole in the bathroom as she was sure the odour was coming from there .. not sure, but it was certainly noticeable.
Price was not too bad considering how expensive everything is in Copenhagen and breakfast was included. Yes, it is a cold continental breakfast and a toaster would have been a good addition, but the quality was good.
It probably deserves a rating somewhere between average and very good, get rid of the construction work and it earns a 4/5.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FHILLAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristianOxlund, Ejer at Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear FhillAdelaide,

Thank you for taking time to write a review.

I apologize for the issues you had during your stay, but I am very pleased that it was solved so quickly.

At the construction site next door they are not allowed to work before 7am, and we have to remind them sometimes. They will finish in a monts time, and we look foward to that. However the noise is getting less every day.

We look forward to welcome you again in Copenhagen.

Regards,

Christian Oxlund

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

The 3 recepcionists were very nice and helpful.
The room was small as was the bathroom but it was ok for the 2 nights we stayed there,
Room and bathroom were very clean.
Breakfast was good, with nice variety of pastries and bread. Hot eggs, fruit, yogurt etc.
The location is great: close to buses, railroad station, Tivoli Park, Stroget, Nyhvan, Amalienborg, restaurants, stores, supermarket, Planetarium. All withing walking distance.
Our room was very quiet. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alohanuiloa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristianOxlund, Ejer at Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear Alohanuiloa,

Thank you for taking time to write a review.

We look forward to see you again in Savoy Hotel some day.

Regards,

Christian Oxlund

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I have been at the Savoy for one night but I had the opportunity of appreciate the professionalism of the staff. There was a mistake in the registration of my booking and at the reception recognised their mistake and upgraded me. The morning after the taxi was delayed and the reception provided me with various alternatives to get to destination. This is called caring for the customer. Well done!!!!
The hotel has character, is nicely decorated in pure Nordic style, is super clean and comfortable. It is also well located close to the city center for the ones that are in Copenaghen for tourism. Definitely an hotel to keep in mind

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank baol1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristianOxlund, Ejer at Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear Baol1969,

Thank you for taking time to write a review.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed the stay, despite the mistake in your reservation.

We hope to be able to welcome you in Copenhagen soon.

Regards,

Christian Oxlund

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,616 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Ibsens Hotel
Ibsens Hotel
#15 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,113 reviews
Frederiksberg
Avenue Hotel Copenhagen
Avenue Hotel Copenhagen
#1 of 6 in Frederiksberg
1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#10 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,339 reviews
Outer Vesterbro
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
Inner Vesterbro
First Hotel Mayfair
First Hotel Mayfair
#29 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Hotel

Address: Vesterbrogade 34, Copenhagen 1620, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City) , Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 118 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range: $123 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Savoy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
66 rooms in the heart of Copenhagen - Free wifi and Breakfast included for all guests.  - All rooms facing the courtyard of this Art Nouveau building from 1906. - Bicycle rental and airport taxi service available.  - Train station nearby.  - Restaurants, shopping, the Copenhagen lakes, and Tivoli nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing