We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but a little noisy”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Savoy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Savoy Hotel
Ranked #23 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Nice but a little noisy”
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

This is a lovely old hotel with friendly staff. Room was a bit small - but big enough for the two of us and our bags - but who spends all their time in a hotel room anyway. Bathroom was clean and for the age of the building, the room was refurbished and nice. Breakfast was good in the downstairs restaurant - great little place to park your bikes too (hiring bikes in Copenhagen is a must). The only downside was the noise. The walls aren't overly insulated and our sleep was disturbed on a number of occasions by people walking down the hallway or in one case - talking in the room next door. Maybe we should have stayed out later - this was the only downside to an otherwise great stay.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RohanMcCarthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristianOxlund, Chef  at Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear RohanMcCarthy,

Thank you for taking time to write a review.

We hope to be able to welcome you again in near future.

Regards,

Christian Oxlund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    440
    152
    32
    11
See reviews for
134
401
55
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level Contributor
41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We arrived by train and it is a reasonable walk to the hotel ... always seems further when you arrive and we never seem to leave the station from the closest exit. The cobblestones are a pain when dragging your suitcase. First impression when arriving at the hotel is the construction work next door which has left the entrance area a bit messy. Reception people were very good .. helpful, friendly and english wasn't a problem. Room was a reasonable size and there was a bath in the bathroom. It appeared the room / hotel had been recently renovated. No noise problems for us at night, but construction work started next door in the mornings at around 6am ... not good, but at least it was daylight. Couple of small issues ... no soap in the room, the container was empty, but a quick word to the cleaning lady in the passage had that fixed, also no tea spoon to go with the cups, a quick trip to reception fixed that as well, but these things shouldn't happen. Noticed a drains odour in the bathroom, but also down in reception so not sure if this was connected to the construction work ... my wife ended up placing a towel over the drain hole in the bathroom as she was sure the odour was coming from there .. not sure, but it was certainly noticeable.
Price was not too bad considering how expensive everything is in Copenhagen and breakfast was included. Yes, it is a cold continental breakfast and a toaster would have been a good addition, but the quality was good.
It probably deserves a rating somewhere between average and very good, get rid of the construction work and it earns a 4/5.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FHILLAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristianOxlund, Ejer at Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear FhillAdelaide,

Thank you for taking time to write a review.

I apologize for the issues you had during your stay, but I am very pleased that it was solved so quickly.

At the construction site next door they are not allowed to work before 7am, and we have to remind them sometimes. They will finish in a monts time, and we look foward to that. However the noise is getting less every day.

We look forward to welcome you again in Copenhagen.

Regards,

Christian Oxlund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Level Contributor
121 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

The 3 recepcionists were very nice and helpful.
The room was small as was the bathroom but it was ok for the 2 nights we stayed there,
Room and bathroom were very clean.
Breakfast was good, with nice variety of pastries and bread. Hot eggs, fruit, yogurt etc.
The location is great: close to buses, railroad station, Tivoli Park, Stroget, Nyhvan, Amalienborg, restaurants, stores, supermarket, Planetarium. All withing walking distance.
Our room was very quiet. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alohanuiloa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristianOxlund, Ejer at Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Alohanuiloa,

Thank you for taking time to write a review.

We look forward to see you again in Savoy Hotel some day.

Regards,

Christian Oxlund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

I have been at the Savoy for one night but I had the opportunity of appreciate the professionalism of the staff. There was a mistake in the registration of my booking and at the reception recognised their mistake and upgraded me. The morning after the taxi was delayed and the reception provided me with various alternatives to get to destination. This is called caring for the customer. Well done!!!!
The hotel has character, is nicely decorated in pure Nordic style, is super clean and comfortable. It is also well located close to the city center for the ones that are in Copenaghen for tourism. Definitely an hotel to keep in mind

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank baol1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristianOxlund, Ejer at Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Baol1969,

Thank you for taking time to write a review.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed the stay, despite the mistake in your reservation.

We hope to be able to welcome you in Copenhagen soon.

Regards,

Christian Oxlund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Good location near railway station and buses. Nice staff at reception. Room quite small and bed very small. Bathroom was tiny with the shower above sink and toilet. Breakfast was only cold and not with a lot of variety. It was clean though. Thin walls so you hear all the neighbours. Would probably not stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frankofan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristianOxlund, Ejer at Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Frankofan,

Thank you for taking time to write a review.

I am sorry that you do not wish to stay with us again, but I hope you will change your mind. We have various room sizes, so you can choose a larger room for your next stay. All rooms can be seen on www.savoyhotel.dk where you also can book at the same time.

I do hope we will be able to welcome you again.

Regards,

Christian Oxlund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Ok, so not the biggest hotel room I've ever stayed in but not the smallest by a long way, there was enough room for both of us to be getting dressed at the same time and again small bathroom, but it was big enough for 6' 4" bloke without bruises.
It was properly clean; the beds were comfy; the room was the right temperature and the staff pleasant.
Breakfast was: cereal, various breads & "cold cuts"; some yoghurt and stuff to flavour it with; decent coffee and fresh fruit (that everyone took with them for later). Bloke was disappointed no Danish bacon, but oh well...
Perfectly happy with the location, 10 mins from Tivoli park and 5 to the station, lots of places around for food drink. We didn't use the buses but some-one else in the hotel said it was on a main bus route.
Lots of good info about Copenhagen in reception.
For the price it delivered everything we expected.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristianOxlund, Ejer at Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Helen W,

Thank you for taking time to write a review.

I am glad you enjoyed the stay, and I hope we can welcome you again some day in near future.

Regards,

Christian Oxlund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, Ontario CANADA
Level Contributor
112 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

My wife and I chose the Savoy hotel for our first visit to this beautiful city. The hotel is extremely convenient, only a 5 or 7 minutes walk from the central train station. It is on a very busy street but we asked for a courtyard room and it was quiet for sleeping. Although we didn't request it the hotel gave us a room larger than we paid, enough space for a king size bed, writing desk and two small chairs.
The room was simply laid out and furnished but it was clean and safe. There is free coffee and tea in the room. Wi fi did not work from our floor and I had to bring my iPad to the lobby where it worked perfectly. The bathroom was small and the shower had no door or separate partition, just a plastic curtain and so the whole floor got wet every time.
Breakfast was okay, cold foods only with a good choice of bread and cereals. It was included in our rate of about 200$US, and so I think all in all this was a very fair price for a 3 star hotel in the heart of the city. The staff was also extremely helpful and friendly, always eager to help.
You don't have to go far to eat as there are loads of places to choose from steps from the hotel including Danish food to Chinese to Japanese to Indian to Asian to Thai to Italian to middle eastern etc? I am an avid runner and there is an amazing lake/park minutes from the hotel for me to do that with lots of the locals. It is also a beautiful place just to take a nice walk.
All in all we are very satisfied with the savoy hotel in Copenhagen.

Room Tip: Courtyard room and high floor for a quiet sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr Andy S L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristianOxlund, Ejer at Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Alam1,

Thank you for taking time to write a review.

I am glad you enjoyed the stay and that you noticed the staffs willingness to help make your stay pleasant.

I hope we can welcome you again some day.

Regards,

Christian Oxlund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
BEST WESTERN Hotel Hebron
BEST WESTERN Hotel Hebron
#18 of 116 in Copenhagen
974 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#5 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,705 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Ibsens Hotel
Ibsens Hotel
#21 of 116 in Copenhagen
906 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
2,139 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Comfort Hotel Vesterbro
Comfort Hotel Vesterbro
#28 of 116 in Copenhagen
997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Hotel

Property: Savoy Hotel
Address: Vesterbrogade 34, Copenhagen 1620, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City) , Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Savoy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six-story Hotel situated in central shopping district near Tivoli Gardens & train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing