We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appreciate this hotel's history, and enjoy the breakfasts.”
Review of Savoy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Savoy Hotel
Ranked #22 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
GreenLeadersBronze level
Brisbane
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Appreciate this hotel's history, and enjoy the breakfasts.”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Having been on Vesterbrogade since 1905, the Savoy Hotel inheres with history. This, without surrendering comfort. If one looks for a metaphor here: the functional lift is modern, capacious, and discrete; the original elevator remains and reminds you of the hotel’s past.
The rooms are small but comfortable. We stayed in one on the fifth floor. Through our window, we had sight of the Jesu Hjerte Kirke, its ornamental red brick tower, tall grey steeple, and bells ringing out eight o’clock after our breakfast.
We have never had better hotel breakfasts than those we enjoyed at the Savoy. While not exclusively Danish, the buffet includes delicious Danish pâté, pickled fish, Dasnish pastries and bread.
The Savoy is (relatively) close to Copenhagen’s Central Station, close to Europcar, … which was convenient for us.
And the girls at Reception were very congenial, always helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheOldiesBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    454
    156
    34
    12
See reviews for
140
409
59
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
85 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

To start with, it must be stated that no decent hotels are cheap in Copenhagen but I feel that for the money (about £100 a night), this hotel represented decent value for Copenhagen especially with a decent continental breakfast thrown in and believe me, I search hard and low for cheaper better options.
The hotel itself? A 5-10 minute walk from the train station which was convenient when arriving and departing for us. About 15 minutes walk to the City Hall and then onwards to the the main sights - walkable for me and my wife. We got a small standard double room on the top floor. It was very compact and a bit of a comedown from our room in Malmo where we had just stayed but every was clean and modern and it served as a good if slightly cramped base for sight seeing. Bathroom was equally as small but was useable except that water from the shower area easily got into the toilet area and there were no rails to put your own shower gels etc. it had to go on the floor. Bed felt a little soft but seemed to be a Scandinavian thing. There was a kettle for making tea/coffee but we had some horrible creamer stuff. Fortunately, the reception were very nice to give us some fresh milk to use. Breakfast was adequate - continental with boiled eggs as well. Was good enough for a solid start to the day but by day 4 we were a bit bored with it all. Have to give compliments to the reception staff, always friendly and helpful and cheerful. Could leave our baggage in the baggage room on the day we left but the staff just give you a key to unlock the door so security could be an issue for some. We didn't have an issue but they also have lockable lockers for 10kr but not suitable for suitcases. So how to sum up? I think for a short stay, it's a decent hotel which is not too far from the main sights. The staff are excellent but maybe the rooms are a little small for long stays or you have to pay extra for one of their larger rooms. However, for the price I paid, I would have saved only a very little if I had gone to one of the hostels with shared bathroom and it was a big price increase for the next step up so I am glad I chose the Savoy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terracotta_army
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Good value budget hotel. Comfortable, clean rooms
Breakfast plentiful with a good vegetarian option.
Loved the Art Deco and modern mix.
Staff friendly and helpful with a special mention to Jette who is exceptional. Deserves 5* and will recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bathsalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rauma, Finland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Because of flight cancellation we needed to stay 1 night in Copenhagen in savoy hotel and it was a pleasure.
The hotel is very well located and the hole centrum is on walking distance.
Good parking place.
We had the family room and that one was very spacious(no experience with the other rooms)
rooms are very clean and a very nice and comfortable bathroom.
The staff was very helpful and friendly.
Breakfast was super good and more than plenty off choices for all.
this is a perfect hotel for a long weekend in Copenhagen family or couples.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Layover007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Savoy hotel is situated a 10-minute-walk from Tivoli, the Railway station and Rådhuspladsen.

Rooms are clean and equipped with a safe, luggage-rack, desk, kettle, flatscreen TV and last but not least a very comfortable bed. Just remember to bring earplugs as the walls seems to be very thin.

Only minus is that the shower floor is missing a divider which makes the entire bathroom wet when taking a shower.

Breakfast is served in the basement with lots to chose from. Friendly staff!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GoofyBoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat, Morocco
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

+++ Hotel very well located (7min from the Central Station and near many bus stations).
+++ Staff very helpful and available 24/7
+++ Rooms clean
+++ Very good breakfast (try this delicious bread with some cheese!)
+++ Free and fast internet connection

--- Incredibly small rooms
--- Not a nice view (a courtyard)
--- Restaurant only serves Breakfast
--- Terrible range of TV channels

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baladeuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carcassonne, Languedoc-Roussillon, France
Level Contributor
139 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We were able to park our car free of charge round the corner, and the location was convenient for Copenhagen sightseeing. The hotel was clean and comfortable, and the breakfast was good. While not being memorable,the hotel was a sound choice at a sensible cost for a brief tourist visit to the city.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,814 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Best Western Hotel Hebron
Best Western Hotel Hebron
#17 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,015 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#4 of 116 in Copenhagen
2,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Ibsens Hotel
Ibsens Hotel
#20 of 116 in Copenhagen
955 reviews
Outer Vesterbro
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
Inner Vesterbro
Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Hotel

Property: Savoy Hotel
Address: Vesterbrogade 34, Copenhagen 1620, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City) , Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Savoy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six-story Hotel situated in central shopping district near Tivoli Gardens & train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing