We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good no-nonsense choice”
Review of Savoy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Savoy Hotel
Ranked #27 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Despite its grand name, the Savoy is a straightforward medium range hotel. Someone might even regard the glassfibre wallpaper and framed tourist pictures as tacky. But if you're traveling on a medium budget and don't plan on spending too much time in your hotel room, the Savoy is for you. It's well situated about 10 minutes walk from the central railway station which is far enough from the dodgy parts. The main city centre is another 10 minutes away on foot, but, on the other hand, Frederiksberg with less tourists and lovely youthful cafés and restaurants is just around the corner. The rooms are small but clean, and the breakfast buffet will keep you going well beyond lunchtime. The hotel is on a very busy street, but the windows all face back to the courtyard. Unfortunately there was noisy construction work going on in the yard, but they didn't start too early. All in all, a sensible choice, and wouldn't mind staying at the Savoy again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seminartraveller57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristianOxlund, Owner at Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Dear Seminartraveller57,

Thank you for you review!

Yes we do have a grand name, but we have had it for more than 105 years now, and we are proud of it.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay, and I agree with you about the shopping on Frederiksberg. It is much calmer and not many tourists.

I hope we will be able to welcome you again in Copenhagen.

Christian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (959)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

530 - 536 of 959 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

Looking for a triple-bed accommodation in Copenhagen we eventually came across "Savoy Hotel". Usually I do hesitate booking hotels nearby a main station as many cities are not necessarily known for the station-neighborhoods being the nicest. Regardless, as I knew Copenhagen already I could estimate that the location should be reasonable and not of any "danger".
Savoy Hotel is located about 500 m from the main station what means a few minutes walk, if not you have super heavy luggage and or weather is bad, its an easy task by foot. The check-in was friendly, we had a "Junior-Suite" on the top floor booked that sleeps 3. After squeezing in the narrow elevator we reached our room, the doors are opened not by a key or key card but with a code (like many deposit-safes nowadays). The room itself was pretty small, esp. given the definition of a "junior suite" rather confusing. There was a "master-bedroom" with a double-bed as well as a "living room" featuring a 3rd bed, a tiny desk and a small wardrobe, further a truly small bathroom with a shower "corner". As the room is top floor and mansard-style, it does not offer full room height on all angles. That said previously mentioned "shower corner" may be pretty inconvenient for people being over 1m75cm.
Internet and breakfast where included in our rate, The wifi connection did work pretty good. Breakfast was served in the basement and "sufficient". All in all not necessary any kind of "atmosphere" in the hotel.
Big minus in our case was the construction site next door we only figured upon arrival (and was not addressed by any means upon check-in). From our room we literally could have (squeezed) entered the scaffolds of the construction site the construction workers where working so close to the hotel. In fact, being woken up before 8am by a jack-hammer isn't exactly the way I like to start my day.

All in all - given the average price-range of Copenhagen - I want to say that pricing was acceptable for value we got. Obviously the construction site is something temporary and not having this experience clearly would have improved our stay considerably.

The place is fine and clean, as well as safe as the hole area, so you may consider booking Savoy if you seek out of a simple accommodation. Out of experience I can say though that you may find more interesting venues in town on the same price level.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank a342zy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristianOxlund, Owner at Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Dear Hotelcis,

Thank you for the time you have spent writing a review about us.

We do have other junior suites in the hotel, with another set up, this might have been better for you.
In the other junior suites you will have more space in the shower, and in the rooms as well. If you had addressed the issue in the reception we would have been happy to move you to another room.

The scaffolding is finally down, and we now have a nice newly painted building to look at. They are not quite finished with the construction yet, but there is not much noise in the morning any more.

I hope to be able to welcome you again in the hotel and lovely Copenhagen.

Christian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We checked into the Savoy into a small double room (May19, 2013) and switched the next day to a suite at an added cost for three more nights. Well worth the upgrade, as the small double is better suited for one person than two plus luggage. The 6th floor suite was beautiful and clean, and had all of the advertised features (safe, shower in bathtub, etc). Wonderful breakfast included in the and very helpful staff at the desk who made accurate dinner and sightseeing recommendations based on our preferences.

Room Tip: All of the rooms face each toward a courtyard where there is current construction on a neighboring p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2FromBethesda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristianOxlund, Owner at Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Dear 2fromBethesda,

Thank you for taking time to write a review about our hotel.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay, and that you had a good time in the suite on the 6th floor.

We do our best to motivate and keep the same staff at the hotel, and we talk often about new restaurants and sights in the city.

I hope to be able to welcome you again in Savoy Hotel.

Christian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We were ending a cruise and had one night extra in Copenhagen.We arrived very early and went to the hotel to see if they could store our luggage until check-in.They went ahead and checked us in which allowed us to start sightseeing.They had and very good breakfast.They called transportation for us the next day. The are in a good location near the train station and Tivoli and other sights.Room was comfortable and clean

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billking1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristianOxlund, Owner at Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Dear Billking 1105,

Thank you for taking time to write a review.

I am glad that you had a good stay with us and enjoyed Copenhagen on your short stay.

I hope to see you in Copenhagen some day,

Christian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

The Savoy Hotel is an easy 10 minutes walk from the Central Station and you can easily reach the City Centre with the city hall and the palaces by foot. The staff at the front desk is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are rather small, so are the beds and the bathroom is tiny with a sink so small that you will be splashing water all over the place except in the sink itself. That actually is the only drawback. The breakfast was included in our rate and it's all right with different kind of breads, Danish of course, cooked eggs, cheese and ham, jam and yoghurt. Hotels in Copenhagen are expensive, it's Scandinavia after all and we found a reasonable price after a long search for Copenhagen standards (DKK 1200, $207, € 160). We really liked the possibility to rent bicycles for DKK 120 ($20, €16) for a whole day. It's a great city for cycling and you just get to see so much more. The bicycles are in good shape and it's just handy to pick them up right at the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bas_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristianOxlund, Owner at Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Dear Bas_8,

Thank you for your review.

I am glad that you have enjoyed your stay and that you enjoyed our new bicycles, which is a great way to get around in the city.

We hope to see you again in Copenhagen.

Christian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed at the Savoy Hotel for about 5 days in mid-May. I am doing my best to rate the hotel itself and not our overall experience in Copenhagen...the hotel was quite good...we just didn't feel Copenhagen ranked very well in comparison to our other stops on our trip (Amsterdam, Utrecht, Bruges). The hotel is a short walk from Central Station and in an area of town that doesn't feel very shady...so we never really had any concerns about safety...even when we checked out and had to walk down to Central Station at 4am on a Saturday morning! Our room was well appointed but we did have some concerns that I will spell out below. Service was, however, fantastic. One of the gentlemen in particular was very helpful with directions, suggestions for restaurants, etc. The breakfast was just "ok" with the selection being a bit underwhelming. It is a cold, continental breakfast so don't go expecting any eggs, bacon, or a toaster. We found the hotel, being in Vesterbro, was a bit of a distance from the sights we wanted to take in. There isn't really much to see in Vesterbro itself (think any major city...a mish mash of shops, a few decent restaurants, wide avenues) so when we would walk towards the centre of Copenhagen and then to the sights we wanted to take in, it was a good 15-20 minute walk either way. We could have taken transit I suppose, but it felt silly to do so since everyone in Copenhagen seems to walk or bike everywhere!

Pros:
- Close to Central Station and reasonably close to the city centre and main tourist sights.
- Room was well appointed and clean.
- Wi-fi and TV were in working order.
- Very helpful service at the reception desk with lots of info pamphlets, maps, etc.

Cons:
- Not really the hotel's fault, but our room looked out onto a narrow alley and the building across from us was completely gutted and under construction. The banging and construction workers blaring their radio started every morning at 7am sharp.
- Breakfast selection was just "ok".
- The bathroom is really awkward. The shower is part of the bathroom itself, so no matter how we moved the shower curtain up or down, the floor of the entire bathroom would be soaked each time we used it. The hotel would be wise to purchase some longer shower curtains to make the use of the bathroom after a shower more practical.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KWTraveller1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristianOxlund, Owner at Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Dear KWTraveller1980,

Thank you for taking time to write a review.

We are proud for that you enjoyed the well appointed rooms, as we renovated them just last year.
The bathrooms is small, but since this is an old building, it is not possible for us to make them bigger.

We hope to be able to welcome you again in Copenhagen i near future.

Christian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Visited for 2 nights in April, Room was fairly compact but as a base just for showering and sleeping it was fine. Good TV and a lovely bottle of complimentary red wine. Bathroom quite small but fine for a good shower, Breakfast was basic but a good choice of staples. Reception staff are the real asset of this hotel - couldn't have been more helpfull Nice and central for all the sights and the station.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TGG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristianOxlund, Owner at Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Dear TGG1,

Thank you very much for your response.

We are very happy about our staff, and we work hard to keep them "inhouse" for as long as possible.

Hope to be able to welcome you again in Copenhagen.

Christian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Frederiksberg
Avenue Hotel Copenhagen
Avenue Hotel Copenhagen
#1 of 6 in Frederiksberg
1,125 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Ibsens Hotel
Ibsens Hotel
#15 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,136 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 117 in Copenhagen
2,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
First Hotel Mayfair
First Hotel Mayfair
#29 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,135 reviews
Frederiksberg
Hotel Sct. Thomas
Hotel Sct. Thomas
#49 of 117 in Copenhagen
466 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#10 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Hotel

Address: Vesterbrogade 34, Copenhagen 1620, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City) , Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range: $120 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Savoy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
66 rooms in the heart of Copenhagen - Free wifi and Breakfast included for all guests.  - All rooms facing the courtyard of this Art Nouveau building from 1906. - Bicycle rental and airport taxi service available.  - Train station nearby.  - Restaurants, shopping, the Copenhagen lakes, and Tivoli nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing