We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hotel, great location...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Savoy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Savoy Hotel
Ranked #23 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
GreenLeadersBronze level
London
Level Contributor
49 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel, great location...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Had a great weekend in Copenhagen and this hotel was fantastic. About a 5 minute walk from Central Station so we could get the train direct from the airport then walk to the hotel, which saved on taxi costs. All rooms overlook the inner courtyard so there was no noise from the street, the hotel was spotlessly clean and I think had been refurbished fairly recently so everything was clean and fresh. Continental breakfast was included and served in a lovely downstairs room, there was plenty of choice including soft boiled eggs, salami, ham, cheese, cereal and plenty of bread, which was all being topped up constantly. The hotel also has free wifi which worked well and was easy to access. What really made this an outstanding place to stay were the reception staff, all were friendly, extremely helpful, assisted us with bus travel and with booking a restaurant for us on the Saturday evening, we really could not have asked for more.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tunsttravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristianOxlund, Owner at Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Tunsttravel,

Thank you very much for your positive review and for your comments on the helpfull receptionstaff.

I hope we will be able to welcome you again in near future.

Kind regards,

Christian Oxlund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    442
    156
    32
    11
See reviews for
136
401
56
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
nottingham
Level Contributor
71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Stayed here for a city break last October. Hotel is well situated and within easy walking distance of a number of sites (e.g. Tivoli Gardens, Nuhaven). The room was a bit on the the smallish side compared with others that we've stayed in and there was an unfortunate whiff from the bathroom which the staff told us was due to some blocked drains - didn't seem to be dealt with during our stay but keeping the bathroom door shut stopped the whiff. Room itself was tidy enough and the staff were pleasant, if perfunctory. A bit overpriced at over £100 per night for something a bit basic, but Copenhagen is a pricey place. Would probably upgrade next time but a perfectly serviceable hotel

Room Tip: It's going to be a bit expensive wherever you go in Copenhagen, but look at room dimensions when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thegrumpys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristianOxlund, Owner at Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear TheGrumpys,

Thank you for taking time to write a review.

I am glad you enjoyed the stay, but not so happy that nothing was being done with the whiff.

I hope you will accept my apologies for that?

Kind regards,

Christian Oxlund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

The room was quiet and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and willing to help with any request. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from the main train station and there are many restaurants within walking distance. Overall good choice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woodturner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristianOxlund, Owner at Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Woodturner,

Thank you for taking time to write a review.

I am happy that you and your friends enjoyed the stay.

I hope you will join us in Copenhagen again some day.

Kind regards,

Christian Oxlund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heckmondwike, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Overall we had a very good stay at the Savoy. It is in a good location for the central train station and also for walking into the centre to see the sights. There are plenty of restaurants to choose from around the hotel. The staff were generally very friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were really good - a nice selection and yummy bread and pastries!

Our room was cosy and nice and warm. The only downside was that we overlooked the builders yard in the courtyard at the side of the hotel (there are building works being carried out at the moment). When we first arrived in our room I did go back to reception and inquired if there were any problems with noise from the builders. The gentleman who had checked us in said that there hadn't been any problems reported and assured us that the builders were not allowed to start work before 10 am. However, this turned out not to be the case and the builders started crashing about at around 7 am. Luckily I had packed some earplugs! If you don't want to be near the builders I suggest you ask for a room higher up (we were on the second floor) and not overlooking the builders yard towards the rear of the hotel.

We would still use this hotel if we ever visit Copenhagen in the future as overall it ticked all the right boxes.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaisyMay1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristianOxlund, Owner at Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear DaisyMay,

Thank you very much for taking time to write a review.

I am glad you enjoyed the stay, but not so happy that our neighbours made noise from 7.00 am.

Normally they start around 08.00 am, and do not make much noise until 10.00 am.
The construction is not part of the hotel, but they do listen to our concerns regarding noise. I apologize for the inconvenience.

Kind regards,

Christian Oxlund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed for five nights and were very comfortable. The staff were warm and helpful, the building is beautiful, the rooms were clean, the bed was very comfortable,and the breakfasts were excellent. Wifi was available in the rooms and was free.The location is also spot on: near the main train station and close to the sights.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Otupaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristianOxlund, Owner at Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Otupaka,

Thank you for taking time write a review about Savoy Hotel.

I hope that we will be able to welcome you again in Savoy Hotel.

Kind regards,

Christian Oxlund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Had a fantastic stay at the Savoy Hotel. Location was great for all the must-see sights and there were plenty of nice restaurants around the hotel. Breakfast was delicious with warm bread and fresh Danish pastries. We got the train from the airport and the hotel is only a short walk from the station. Really happy with our choice, would definitely recommend and would stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor and it was nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristianOxlund, Owner at Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Nicola D,

Thank you for your positive review about Savoy Hotel.

We look forward to welcome you again in Copenhagen.

Kind regards,

Christian Oxlund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Stayed at the Savoy in Copenhagen on a visit in February. Everything about the hotel was wonderful. Rooms were nice, breakfast fantastic and staff were friendly. Would definitely recommend it and would come back if I visit Copenhagen again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristianOxlund, Owner at Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Keith P,

Thank you for your review about Savoy Hotel.

I look forward to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

Christian Oxlund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
BEST WESTERN Hotel Hebron
BEST WESTERN Hotel Hebron
#17 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,717 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Ibsens Hotel
Ibsens Hotel
#21 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#7 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,149 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Comfort Hotel Vesterbro
Comfort Hotel Vesterbro
#28 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Hotel

Property: Savoy Hotel
Address: Vesterbrogade 34, Copenhagen 1620, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City) , Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Savoy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six-story Hotel situated in central shopping district near Tivoli Gardens & train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing