We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good service and exellent accomodation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Kong Arthur

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Kong Arthur
Ranked #13 of 114 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
“Very good service and exellent accomodation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

We went there the whole firm - Moccamaster Nordic and had a great time.
Gitte from conference helped us with all we needed and booked dinnertickets for us ect.

The whole company really liked it there.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ajensen2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stine J, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Kong Arthur, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your visit and for your review! I am very happy you and your company had a good time :-) Gitte sends her wishes; she is very pleased to know you had a good experience here; both in the conference center and throughout the rest of your stay. We hope to be able to host your next conference as well :-)

Best regards,
Stine Jørgensen / Hotel Kong Arthur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    560
    664
    235
    56
    29
See reviews for
240
732
64
230
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

Location
Great central (ish) location. Was about a pleasant 15 walk to the main centre, shopping and attractions.

Check in
Very efficient, very friendly smiley staff. Warm and genuine.

Lobby
Great lobby and bar area. Roaring fire, lots of big squishy sofas, quiet corners. Service from the bar was great, chatty staff and very pleasant too. The hot chocolate is a big recommendation :) you get a glass of warm milk with a lump of chocolate on a stick to stir in it. Yummy...

Room
Had room 417. Up on the top floor. Rather tired room. On front of building overlooking street so was very noisy from traffic, party goers etc. Nice comfortable bed but the sheets were not clean which is inexcusable. Obviously had been washed but were stained and if I noticed I them then they should have been replaced when the bed was made up. No air con so had to open windows. Bathroom particularly tired. I'm a bit of a bath man but this bath was very small and had a big rusty chunk out of the bottom. My colleague somehow ended up with a refurbished 'spa' room which was much much better. They need to roll out the refurbishment program quicker. So overall room acceptable (only just) but should be better for the rate.

Other facilities
My colleague had some 150krona vouchers in his room for some treatments at the attached spa. Had the fish feet nibbling sessions (I know) which was great. Spa very nice offering wide range of treatments. Again expensive though.

Breakfast
Nice. Varied selection of continental items but more limited on the hot side if that is your thing. Lovely strong coffee and fresh juices.

Check out
Smooth, effortless.

Summary
Location good but there are better hotels to be had for the money.

Room Tip: Try and get one of the newly refurbished spa rooms and not one over looking the street otherwise it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spacegunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stine J, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Kong Arthur, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review! I am happy you had a good stay at Kong Arthur. I am sorry about the problems with room 417 though, but thank you very much for mentioning this. We are currently going through all of our 155 rooms to fix these sorts of problems, if any, like the rust in the bathroom (the stained sheets are no excuse though, I will take this up with the Housekeeping Manager right away!).

Yes, just a month ago we launched our whole new spa floor. I am very happy your colleague liked his spa room. It appears we were fully booked, as he was upgraded to this type of room. These rooms cost a little bit more, as they include a welcome gift with vouchers and products, free admission to the spa and more. I hope you will get to try one of these rooms as well, next time you visit :-)

I definitely look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,
Stine Jørgensen / Hotel Kong Arthur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

I have particulary appreciated my staying at the hotel Kong Arthur : the position, the price in comparison with the good design of my room, a superior twin beds .For all these reasons I vividly suggest the Hotel .

Room Tip: superior room is mor comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank valeriaMarfisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stine J, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Kong Arthur, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review! I am very happy you had a good stay at Hotel Kong Arthur and look forward to welcoming you back :-)

Kind regards,
Stine Jørgensen / Hotel Kong Arthur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

Great location, take te and go to the spa and for a walk around the surrounding water especially on Sunday.
Staff are super friendly, and there are some nice touches like the welcome drinks.
Don't worry if breakfast isn't included as so many beautiful cafés to go

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RL1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

The rates I was presented with when booking through hotels.com seemed to be incl. breakfast. In fact they were not and a very costly price was added for each day we had breakfast (couple). The reception did no inform me breakfast was incl or not during checkin.

The room was small and bathroom outdated with an uncomfortable smell of sewage from what seemed to come from the open and noisy drain on the floor. We complained about this but did not hear back or note any change during the three night visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Andreas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stine J, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Kong Arthur, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. I am very happy you have taken your time to rate our hotel. However, I am sorry to hear you had a bad experience with your room. The receptionists should of course have addressed the problem with the drain right away so we could have had this fixed.

However, it appears that the major part of your disappointment is due to the rate of the breakfast. I just double checked to see if hotels.com had incorrect information, but both from the Danish, English and Norwegian site it appears clearly that rates are excluding breakfast. Unfortunately, we cannot do much about the layout of for instance hotels.com's website.

Either way, I do hope to see you back at Hotel Kong Arthur again and next time, please do not hesitate to contact us directly if you would like us to make reservations for you.

Kind regards,
Stine Jørgensen / Hotel Kong Arthur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

Beautiful hotel in a great location. Great for walking to many sights and restaurants. Comfortable lobby and wonderful happy hour. Nice outdoor seating.

However, some of the less expensive rooms leave something to be desired. For example, our shower was separated from our toilet by four inches and a curtain, no floor divider even. This, apparently, was one of the new "Spa" rooms. As others have also said, breakfast is expensive. Most of the staff our courteous but certainly not all. Additionally, due to some mix up, our room wasn't cleaned one day. No A/C, but the area is quiet, and often there's a nice breeze. Overall minor complaints.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank ChristinePSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stine J, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Kong Arthur, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review and honest feedback! I am glad you had a good stay here at Kong Arthur :-) If you stayed in one of our spa rooms, it appears you stayed in our Spa Senses category.

We have just launched a whole floor of spa rooms to frame the perfect spa experience now that we have the largest spa facilities in Copenhagen. We have two room categories: Spa Senses, which is romantic, intimate spa rooms with shower, and Spa Executive which are spa suites with shower and hot tub. We figured that not everybody going on a spa stay need the hot tub in the room, when admission to our water temple with, among other features, hot tub is free when staying in a spa room. So we have tried to frame the experience for different budgets and needs.

Sorry, this ended up being a very long explanation :-) However, once again thank you for your review, and I hope to see you back at Hotel Kong Arthur, next time you are in Copenhagen :-)

Kind regards,
Stine Jørgensen / Hotel Kong Arthur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arezzo, Italy
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

The hotel is perfect. Nice, clean in a good position. Breakfast is great. We booked a superior room that was great.
If you have babies or you have to use a wheelchair, it could be a problem.

At the main entrance there are ten steps, no way to avoid them, that's hard with a stroller, I can't imagine if you are in a wheelchair... Nobody offered for an help, even if it was raining outside.

Actually, there is a way to go out avoiding the stairs: you can go down at the backyard with another elevator (the one close to the cafeteria). We discovered after two days, by fortune, just because the main elevator was broken (for three days!). Obviously nobody told anything about that, but don't worry: it seems that the danish "childrenfobia" is not contagious.

That's a pity.

Room Tip: Our superior room was worth the cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank sifab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stine J, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Kong Arthur, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review! I am very happy you like Kong Arthur and found the hotel to be perfect; thank you so much for sharing your experience :-) Yes, childrenfobia is very common in Denmark; I mean, they are dangerous those little sharp-teethed, knee hight creatures ;-) This is also why we have pancakes and Nutella in our breakfast buffet; to keep them occupied, taking focus away from the main target, other people. No, the many steps in our old, historic building may not be perfect for wheelchairs or strollers, but we will always love to help the best we can, so next time please ask and we will be right on it!

I hope to see you and your family back at Hotel Kong Arthur :-)

Kind regards,
Stine Jørgensen / Hotel Kong Arthur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#4 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,654 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#23 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,702 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Ibsens Hotel
Ibsens Hotel
#21 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#6 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,093 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
First Hotel Mayfair
First Hotel Mayfair
#29 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kong Arthur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kong Arthur

Property: Hotel Kong Arthur
Address: Norre Sogade 11, Copenhagen 1370, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Copenhagen
#7 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#15 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#19 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
#19 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kong Arthur 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kong Arthur is situated right between the beautiful inner lakes of Copenhagen and the buzzing downtown, only 15 min. from the airport by metro. The style is exclusive and modern with a hint of medieval - we call it a mix of rustic and chic. The atmosphere is cozy and informal: A lit fireplace, comfy sofas, pillows in the window sill, a stack of books on the shelves, beautiful courtyards adorned with green plants, cobbles and a unique peacefulness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Kong Arthur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kong Arthur Copenhagen
Kong Arthur Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing