We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Kong Arthur
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Ibsens Hotel(Copenhagen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Jorgensen(Copenhagen)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Windsor(Copenhagen)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Skt. Petri(Copenhagen)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel SP34(Copenhagen)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (2,137)
Filter reviews
2,137 results
Traveler rating
892
845
286
77
37
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
892
845
286
77
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscozy hourspa roomking arthurnorreport stationfree glass of winelovely hotelfood marketeach eveningjunior suitesister hotelshower gelminute walkno air conditioningquiet locationwet roomcity breakan upgrade
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,395 - 1,400 of 2,137 reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2014

The hotel is perfect. Nice, clean in a good position. Breakfast is great. We booked a superior room that was great.
If you have babies or you have to use a wheelchair, it could be a problem.

At the main entrance there are ten steps, no way to avoid them, that's hard with a stroller, I can't imagine if you are in a wheelchair... Nobody offered for an help, even if it was raining outside.

Actually, there is a way to go out avoiding the stairs: you can go down at the backyard with another elevator (the one close to the cafeteria). We discovered after two days, by fortune, just because the main elevator was broken (for three days!). Obviously nobody told anything about that, but don't worry: it seems that the danish "childrenfobia" is not contagious.

That's a pity.

Room Tip: Our superior room was worth the cost.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank sifab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stine J, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Kong Arthur, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review! I am very happy you like Kong Arthur and found the hotel to be perfect; thank you so much for sharing your experience :-) Yes, childrenfobia is very common in Denmark; I mean, they are dangerous those little sharp-teethed, knee hight creatures ;-) This is also why we have pancakes and Nutella in our breakfast buffet; to keep them occupied, taking focus away from the main target, other people. No, the many steps in our old, historic building may not be perfect for wheelchairs or strollers, but we will always love to help the best we can, so next time please ask and we will be right on it!

I hope to see you and your family back at Hotel Kong Arthur :-)

Kind regards,
Stine Jørgensen / Hotel Kong Arthur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Extremely cosy hotel with attractive frontage and interior. Relaxing atmosphere and well appointed. Very pleasant breakfast area and good choice of breakfast foods. We found the staff to be very good and responsive. Can recommend that you hire the hotel bicycles and tour the city.

Room Tip: The room we had was very well appointed but on the small side. Be sure to check room size before you make a reservation.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stine J, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Kong Arthur, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review and for visiting Hotel Kong Arthur :-) I am very happy you had a good stay. Also, thank you for sharing your recommendations with other travelers.

If wanting to tour the city by bike (which is definitely a good choice!), then you can actually have a guided tour for free with Copenhagen Tours when having rented one of our hotel bikes.. Departure is at 11 am from the address Nyhavn 44 (every day from April 1 to October 1), and duration of the tour is 2.5 - 3 hours where you get to see all the main attractions like for instance The Little Mermaid, Rosenborg Castel, The Opera, Christiania and more. You can see the route on Copenhagen Tours' website.

I hope to see you back at Hotel Kong Arthur soon :-)

Kind regards,
Stine Jørgensen / Hotel Kong Arthur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Great location in a quiet area but rather central (5 mins to main underground/train station and 10/15 mins to centre of the city).
Very nice and helpful staff.
Rooms are clean and comfortable, although our room was a bit small.
Spa facilities and treatments are a plus.
Breakfast is quite expensive.
Restaurants (specially the sushi one) are a good choice.

Room Tip: Try to upgrade to spa rooms (includes free access to spa facilitites and discount on treatment) for a little more. It was worth the money spent.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ilde A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

we were doing a tour of europe and scandanavia and had this miss fortune of two bad guest houses and other locations of corporate standards. despite only having an economy room, the kong arthur excelled any of our previous venues. it is very clean, every thing works, it's got luxuriously appointed contempary furnishings and very comfortable indeed. i would not hesitate to recommend this hotel, in a very nice area of copenhagen. my wife loved it, for the cost i DOUBT very much you will beat this hotel ANYWHERE else.

Room Tip: all rooms are good, even the rear had nice garden areas, front overlooks lakes,so perhaps opt for front in you want to pay more for a view.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ashley w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stine J, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Kong Arthur, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your review! I am so glad to hear you liked Kong Arthur and had a good stay! Especially given the fact that you stayed in an economy room (small double room), which to some couples might seem a bit cramped with only 14-17 sqm of space. I cannot tell you how happy I am you loved it anyways, and I hope to be seing you again at Kong Arthur, should you travel to Copenhagen again :-)

Best,
Stine Jørgensen / Hotel Kong Arthur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

The title says it all really. Tge hotel is modern with all the amenities you could possibly need for a short stay in Copenhagen. We stayed 5 nights. The rooms are very comfortable and spacious. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful. The best thing about the hotel is the location - no need for taxis or cars - you can walk everywhere and it is a very safe and upscale neighbourhood with lots of good restaurants and a deli food market nearby. Norreport station is a short walk if you want to use the metro but we walked everywhere.

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Nathalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews