We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To be or not to be . .”
Review of Hotel Kong Arthur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Kong Arthur
Ranked #14 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“To be or not to be . .”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Extremely cosy hotel with attractive frontage and interior. Relaxing atmosphere and well appointed. Very pleasant breakfast area and good choice of breakfast foods. We found the staff to be very good and responsive. Can recommend that you hire the hotel bicycles and tour the city.

Room Tip: The room we had was very well appointed but on the small side. Be sure to check room size before you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stine J, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Kong Arthur, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review and for visiting Hotel Kong Arthur :-) I am very happy you had a good stay. Also, thank you for sharing your recommendations with other travelers.

If wanting to tour the city by bike (which is definitely a good choice!), then you can actually have a guided tour for free with Copenhagen Tours when having rented one of our hotel bikes.. Departure is at 11 am from the address Nyhavn 44 (every day from April 1 to October 1), and duration of the tour is 2.5 - 3 hours where you get to see all the main attractions like for instance The Little Mermaid, Rosenborg Castel, The Opera, Christiania and more. You can see the route on Copenhagen Tours' website.

I hope to see you back at Hotel Kong Arthur soon :-)

Kind regards,
Stine Jørgensen / Hotel Kong Arthur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    639
    730
    252
    68
    33
See reviews for
275
825
68
255
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Great location in a quiet area but rather central (5 mins to main underground/train station and 10/15 mins to centre of the city).
Very nice and helpful staff.
Rooms are clean and comfortable, although our room was a bit small.
Spa facilities and treatments are a plus.
Breakfast is quite expensive.
Restaurants (specially the sushi one) are a good choice.

Room Tip: Try to upgrade to spa rooms (includes free access to spa facilitites and discount on treatment) for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ilde A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
golcar
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2014

we were doing a tour of europe and scandanavia and had this miss fortune of two bad guest houses and other locations of corporate standards. despite only having an economy room, the kong arthur excelled any of our previous venues. it is very clean, every thing works, it's got luxuriously appointed contempary furnishings and very comfortable indeed. i would not hesitate to recommend this hotel, in a very nice area of copenhagen. my wife loved it, for the cost i DOUBT very much you will beat this hotel ANYWHERE else.

Room Tip: all rooms are good, even the rear had nice garden areas, front overlooks lakes,so perhaps opt for fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ashley w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stine J, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Kong Arthur, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your review! I am so glad to hear you liked Kong Arthur and had a good stay! Especially given the fact that you stayed in an economy room (small double room), which to some couples might seem a bit cramped with only 14-17 sqm of space. I cannot tell you how happy I am you loved it anyways, and I hope to be seing you again at Kong Arthur, should you travel to Copenhagen again :-)

Best,
Stine Jørgensen / Hotel Kong Arthur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

The title says it all really. Tge hotel is modern with all the amenities you could possibly need for a short stay in Copenhagen. We stayed 5 nights. The rooms are very comfortable and spacious. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful. The best thing about the hotel is the location - no need for taxis or cars - you can walk everywhere and it is a very safe and upscale neighbourhood with lots of good restaurants and a deli food market nearby. Norreport station is a short walk if you want to use the metro but we walked everywhere.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Very pleasant hotel, good location and friendly staff, the lounge area is comfortable and the cozy hour is a nice touch, though you can only get a free glass of red wine, if you want anything else, you have to pay and it is not cheap! The breakfast is excellent but once again rather expensive.
Our room was comfortable but we had a problem with the wet room that the staff did not seem to be able to solve.
Use the back entrance to get to the town centre, you will save a bit of time. On a rainy day, the David collection is worth a look and it is free! Also, if you have time, go and visit Roskilde, a lovely town by the fjord with a superb cathedral, it is 20minutes away by train from Copenhagen.

Room Tip: Avoid 236, the water did not drain properly in wet room and puddles of water linger through the nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Catherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dinas Powys, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Great hotel......Could not fault anything (13-15 April 14)

Very quiet location with excellent staff (nothing to much for them) and comfortable rooms and less than 5 minutes to all transport links. Plenty of restaurants to suit all tastes and budgets close by.

Top tips

The hotels breakfast is excellent value for money
Relax with a complimentary glass of wine between 1700-1800 (if back at hotel)
Ask the staff any questions about Copenhagen,They are a wealth of knowledge

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank karmalama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stine J, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Kong Arthur, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review and for your kind words! I am so happy to hear you had a great stay and am very grateful for you sharing your tips with other guests, thank you. And yes, we all live in the Copenhagen area and love to share our favorite spots in the city, so please do ask :-)

I look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Kong Arthur!

Kind regards,
Stine Jørgensen / Hotel Kong Arthur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

This was a lovely hotel. All staff were very friendly. It is a mile or so from Tivoli, not far from Botanic Garden and Nyhavn, near shopping. Room was small but not cramped. Lobby was very welcoming, breakfast was expensive but delicious. I would definitely stay again. The Eco-friendly rating was a plus.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank DaisyKatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stine J, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Kong Arthur, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review! I am so happy you had a great stay, thanks for sharing. Also, I am so happy you appreciate our climate-friendly efforts. We do our best to be as climate-friendly as possible, even with the smallest details. For instance, did you notice the 100 per cent recyclable cups in the bathroom? One of my favorite details :-)

I look forward to seeing you back at the hotel, next time you are in Copenhagen! :-)

Best,
Stine Jørgensen / Hotel Kong Arthur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#3 of 116 in Copenhagen
232 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Ibsens Hotel
Ibsens Hotel
#19 of 116 in Copenhagen
990 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#22 of 116 in Copenhagen
3,931 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#10 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kong Arthur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kong Arthur

Property: Hotel Kong Arthur
Address: Norre Sogade 11, Copenhagen 1370, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Copenhagen
#8 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#15 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#19 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
#19 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kong Arthur 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kong Arthur is situated right between the beautiful inner lakes of Copenhagen and the buzzing downtown, only 15 min. from the airport by metro. The style is exclusive and modern with a hint of medieval - we call it a mix of rustic and chic. The atmosphere is cozy and informal: A lit fireplace, comfy sofas, pillows in the window sill, a stack of books on the shelves, beautiful courtyards adorned with green plants, cobbles and a unique peacefulness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Kong Arthur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kong Arthur Copenhagen
Kong Arthur Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing