We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Copenhagen Crown
Ranked #54 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Nice hotel in a great location”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Copenhagen Crown is a lovely little hotel in the heart of Copenhagen, located within a short walk from the central train station, Tivoli, and the old city.
The room was clean, airy, spacious and aesthetic.
I especially enjoyed the common room downstairs and the lovely roof top restaurant.
Desk personnel were nice and very informative and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mws61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    303
    222
    57
    30
See reviews for
140
265
39
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tinley Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Location is good unless you get a room near the street. No air so you need the windows open. Everybody smokes and parties until dawn. Street rooms are very hard to sleep in because when you do fall to sleep the police or ambulance roar with seirens blaring waking you up again. If you can deal with this you're in a very good location, close to everything, for a good priced deluxe room. We would stay again but next time request a room in the rear long in advance because this place sells out fast.

Room Tip: Request a room in the rear and book very early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peyton8106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
254 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

After reading dozens of online reviews, we selected this hotel for the night before our cruise. We arrived at the airport, collected our luggage, and followed the signs to the train. We were dismayed to see a long line for tickets, but the queue moved quickly and the attendants spoke good English. We bought our tickets for the Central Station (near Tivoli) and were in the heart of the city in about 15 minutes. There isn't much by way of scenery from the train, but it certainly is efficient and cost-effective.

We exited the train station through the main doors and Vesterbrogade Street was straight ahead of us (it runs parallel to the front of the station after you get past the entrance/exit to the station). We headed left for about15 minutes and arrived at our hotel. Tip: book on their website at least two months in advance and pay in full for the best price. We paid $ 175 per night.

We were immediately given a room. It can best be described as functional with no frills. But we had what we needed: A clean room, two beds, and decent shower. Yes, the courtyard can be noisy at times, but it settled down by 9:00, so we had no complaints. The desk staff were friendly and provided an very good recommendation for an authentic Danish dinner at Frk Farner's Restaurant (see separate review).

I am mystified by all the complaints about the included breakfast. We thought it offered a good selection of coffee, teas and oj as well as hard boiled eggs, cereals, yogurt, fabulous Danish pastries, breads and cheeses (see pic). We certainly enjoyed it and had a good start to our day.

Like so many others, we purchased Hop on Hop (HoHo) off bus tickets when we arrived. The driver confirmed that when cruise ships are in port, the HoHo does stop there and it is acceptable to bring your luggage aboard. Of all the ports we visited, this HoHo had the least descriptive, in fact, downright disappointing recording. Not only was the content mediocre, but with no warning, the English channel changed from 12 to 7 about halfway through the circuit.

The HoHo driver on sailing day was rather unpleasant, but he did finally explain that we had to transfer to a second bus to actually reach our ship. This step depends on where your ship is birthed, so if you don't see it when the bus goes down Langoline pier, be sure to ask!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anne_from_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed at the Copenhagen Crown Hotel for 4 nights. I agree with quite a few of the other reviews for this hotel.
The location is good and isn't too far from a s-tog station. You can easily walk into the city centre in about 20 minutes. There are loads of restaurants and bars nearby which is great. But that is probably all that is good about the hotel.
From the front, it looks quite stylish and modern. However, our room on the third floor was dark, small, cold and very dated. The bathroom was very small, dirty and moldy-smelling. There was no window or extractor fan in the bathroom so we had to shower with the door open and then open the windows to get rid of the steam. Our windows unfortunately opened into the courtyard at the entrance of the hotel. There were constantly people in there drinking, smoking and talking. The noise was obviously amplified due to the round shape of the courtyard. This was really frustrating as the noise carried on into the very early hours and then started again very early in the morning. We could clearly hear people's conversations even though we were on the third floor! The walls of the room were also very thin. You could clearly hear people talking in the corridors, walking past, slamming their room door or wheeling their suitcase past. Not good!
The breakfast was very average - served on the fifth floor with a view of neighbouring rooftops. Pretty limited selection - bread, very strong cheese (I love cheese but even I found this an odd choice for so early in the day), cold meats, boiled eggs, cereal etc.
Wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JessP88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

The good:
Centrally located close to the main railway terminal
Continental breakfast included
Affordable
Clean lobby and bar area

The bad:
Small room
No safe in room
Only a single room key available (not a keycard)
Loud (conversations in the courtyard echoes)
Dirty bathroom (moldy, smelled bad, rusty toilet seat)
Extra for WIFI access from rooms (however, you may able to pick up the lobby signal from the first 2 floors)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karmicforce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

First don't buy the wifi for the room as the free lobby wifi permeates most rooms I was in 201 at the back of the building, which is the best place to be for a quiet night,
the breakfast is served on the fifth floor with limited views over the rooftops as for the breakfast it is a continental style affair no hot food apart from the boiled eggs and toast but a selection of breads cheese cold meats salads cereals yogurts fruit and tea coffee chocolate fruit juices and pastries, as said in offer post the train station is just 5min away.
I would recommend for the first full day the use of the bikes (there is a cost) as we found the bike lanes free and easy to use and most if not all attractions are no more then a 15min bike ride away,
yes the rooms are quite small but you will only be sleeping in them and the beds are larger than normal the shower was a power shower and there was a LG TV for news, know Copenhagen is not cheap but which capital city is?
But as usual if you go off the tourist places the prices do come down a bit a burger fries and a soft drink is about 150 kroner for two, but don't be put off, as it is one of the best places we have been to.

Room Tip: At the back of the hotel not overlooking the central courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stphhig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Star Hotel
Copenhagen Star Hotel
#73 of 116 in Copenhagen
993 reviews
Frederiksberg
Hotel Sct. Thomas
Hotel Sct. Thomas
#43 of 116 in Copenhagen
433 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Hotel Ansgar
Hotel Ansgar
#50 of 116 in Copenhagen
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Mercur Hotel
Copenhagen Mercur Hotel
#55 of 116 in Copenhagen
916 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#22 of 116 in Copenhagen
891 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Saga Hotel
Saga Hotel
#72 of 116 in Copenhagen
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Copenhagen Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Copenhagen Crown

Property: Hotel Copenhagen Crown
Address: Vesterbrogade 41, Copenhagen 1620, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro , Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Copenhagen Crown 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Copenhagen Crown is a peaceful oasis in the heart of Copenhagen's Latin Quarter, the vibrant and trendy Vesterbro. You are very central and right on the popular street, Vesterbrogade, within comfortable walking distance to e.g. Stroget, City Hall Square, Tivoli, The Central Station, The Meat Packing District and the tranquil St. Jorgen Lake. Just outside the door you will find a myriad of restaurants, great shopping and Vesterbro Square with cozy cafes. Most of our bright and spacious rooms face away from the street noise and ensure you a pleasant and undisturbed night's sleep. Choose between five room categories and make yourself comfortable whether you are on a business trip or on holiday travelling alone, with your partner or the whole family. On the 5th floor you can enjoy your breakfast to the view of Copenhagen's rooftops, and in the quiet courtyard you can relax and digest all of the day's events over a drink from the hotel bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Copenhagen Crown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing