We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Ranked #16 of 118 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 9, 2014

The best thing about this boutique hotel is its location. It's less than a 5 min walk from the central station which means it's only 20 mins by train from the airport or 35 mins from Malmo. It is right next to the Meatpacking district with loads of great bars and restaurants and only a short walk to Tivoli and beyond. We went for a standard double room, which we found to be plenty spacious. Would certainly return if in Copenhagen again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ph85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,561)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

650 - 656 of 1,561 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2014

Hi, I spent one night at the Hotel Axel and the location was a really good, just around 5 minutes walk from the central railwaystation. And if you are coming from airport it takes around 20 minutes by train. I had a second floor room with a street view and a beautiful French balcony and it was a totally quiet (Monday-Tuesday night). Breakfast was perfect, a really high quality things available. I can recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Street view rooms with a French balcony. Some have written the traffic noise from the street, but I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ExplorersFinland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Let's face it Copenhagen's hotels are pretty weak. With this relativity this hotel is a 4. However noise is an issue in the hotel and the bathrooms are incredibly small. If you're over six foot good luck. Nice hotel lounge area and friendly staff. Decent location about 10-15m to the main spots and 5 to the train.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Viajefun1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is conveniently located close to the railway station in a not very nice area. Nice design but the matress was not confortable and there was no hot water the last day. Imagine, you go to a hotel, you sleep, you wake up in the morning, go to the shower but there is no hot water. So you go to the airport feeling unconfortable. Worse of all, no apologies. At reception they just blamed a central hot water system that depends on the city. They have no back-up system. Never seen or experienced this before. Expected more from the hotel and from super-expensive Copenhaguen.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Kitejms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AxelCopenhagen, PR-chef at Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear Sir/ Madam.

Thank you for your review, and we are sorry to hear that you were not entirely happy with your stay at the Axel Guldsmeden. As we understand it, your main issue was with the missing hot water in the morning, and we completely sympathize! The day in question was fortunately somewhat of a rarity in Copenhagen, we have actually never experienced it before, since opening the Axel in 2007. What happened was a breakdown in Copenhagen´s largest power plant 'Amager Værket’, which we could not control.

Thousands of households, businesses and hotels were of course also without heat and hot water, as can be read from other Copenhagen hotel reviews from the same dates. The breakdown was thankfully solved in the afternoon and is fortunately extremely rare in a city and country which has a very well functioning infrastructure and heat supply system - with no need for hotels to have back-up of water and heat as is common in some other countries.

The breakdown was so rare that it was breaking news in all Danish media on the day. We tried our best to inform our guest with notices and information, but of course completely understand that it must have been very uncomfortable to be a traveller here in Copenhagen that day.

We hope to have a chance to make it up to you if you should ever consider visiting Copenhagen and us at the Axel Guldsmeden in the future!
Best from all of us at Axel Guldsmeden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel in central Copenhagen during a long weekend break. It's an ideal location-less than 5 minutes walk from the central station with trains to/from the airport and other places you might want to visit. At the same time, it is very quiet- to enter you have to ring the bell so it has none of the feel of a public building. We were enchanted by our lovely room which had so many charming touches-pretty curtains, ties on the fourposter bed, sculpture, ceramics, and a fabulous bathroom. The decor of the hotel overall mixed traditional Danish design with eastern rugs and was very cosy. The organic breakfasts were fantastic-especially the bircher muesli- and enough to set you up for the day. Not least, we found the staff to be extremely helpful and friendly. We were given great restaurant recommendations and help with bookings. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tricia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We loved the hotel - it is very relaxing and tranquil with great complimentary organic snacks & hot drinks always available. The breakfast is delicious & good value. But - there's no getting away from the bed linen & mattress & room temperature (too hot) being uncomfortable, and lots of noise travelling in from other rooms. If they invest in solving that we'd love to come back

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

I was hesitant to book this hotel based on some other reviews but WOW I am so glad I did!! Everything was absolutely fantastic, from the moment we arrived until the moment we left!! We had a slight hiccup before we arrived where the hotel had inadvertently booked our room a month earlier than our trip.. But this was rectified quickly and the reception staff were aware of this when they arrived. Our room was absolutely beautiful and far exceeded expectations. The bath was amazing too! We used the rental bikes which were great & made it so easy to get around the city. The staff were very friendly. We would definitely return! It's a hotel with a difference & we loved that!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,616 reviews
Outer Vesterbro
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Kong Arthur
Hotel Kong Arthur
#13 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,918 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Babette Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#10 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels

Address: Helgolandsgade 11, Copenhagen 1653, Denmark
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Copenhagen
#4 Spa Hotel in Copenhagen
#7 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#9 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
#20 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range: $156 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Axel Guldsmeden is an experience of charm and style, and the best night’s sleep you will find in inner Copenhagen. Situated in the heart of Vesterbro, Axel has 129 rooms, conference facilities, an organic brunch & evening restaurant and a luxurious spa with own-brand organic products.The four-star Axel Guldsmeden is the environmentally friendly choice for a visit to Copenhagen – all products, food & drink, furnishings and services either organic, fair-trade or both. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Axel Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing