We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy, warm and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Ranked #17 of 118 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed December 31, 2013

My family spent four great night at this charming hotel over Christmas and thought it was great! We have a 16 year old and a 20 year old and the family suite was great for us. The rooms had adjoining doors and each room had an en suite bath. The boys' room had very comfortable and sturdy bunkbeds. The products are all organic and they take energy saving steps that we were happy to see. I have back issues and was very comfortable on the bed. The hotel is old and charming, but what they have done to modernize it is great. The staff was exceptional, case in point, we got take away food for Christmas day dinner and even though the kitchen was closed, they let us use the dining room and brought us dishes and silverware and really helped make us feel at home. I highly recommend the hotel, the only thing that was challenging was the room was very warm as it was on the "winter setting" and when we had the door open to let in some air, we often had to close it when people were smoking in the courtyard.

1  Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,568)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

677 - 683 of 1,568 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2013

Overall the hotel Axel Guldsmeden was ok. The room and hotel had an interesting Bali decor. I would have preferred traditional towels in the bathroom. The woven cloth towels didn't dry your body very well and weren't soft like a traditional cotton towel. The negative with this hotel is the location. We thought being near the train station (3 to 4 blocks) would be convenient. However, this area is extremely noisy at night and has too many strip clubs and bars. The best part of the hotel was it's outdoor seating / dining area. it was very quiet, relaxing and well shaded for hot summer days and nights. Additionally, the hotel breakfast and late night drinks from the lobby bar was nice. In summary, nice rooms - clean - polite and courteous staff, but would recommend a better location.

Room Tip: if you're traveling in the summer this hotel doesn't have air conditioning. Therefore, you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cgardier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

When talking to one of the front desk people he said that some people like the hotel and it is fore them and some don't and it isn't. For myself an my family, we are those people who do like it. On the plus side it is a 3 minute walk from the central station and very close to Tivoli and the sites to be seen in Copenhagen. It is also supposed to be near the trendy meat packing district but we didn't find if. The hotel is dedicated to be environmentally sustainable but other than a different kind of towel, I did not notice any kind of difference from a regular hotel. We stayed in the family room which was 2 adjoining rooms each with their own bathroom and doors between them. It really felt like a 2 bed room apartment. The building is older and if you are someone who likes new and fancy then this place is not for you. If you like charm then you will like it as we did. The thing that really made it for us was the very helpful staff. Without exception they went out of their way to make us feel at home. And as a nice touch they have organic apples available and cookies available gratis.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PoipuSands124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

The convenience of this hotel to the train station was the factor that had our family of 7 stay there, but it turned out to be one of our favorite hotels of our 2-week trip. Unique and kind of funky, with natural breakfast indoors or out.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thelobachs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 nights here - this was a warm and welcoming place for our December visit to Copenhagen, when the daylight was scant and the weather sometimes wet and chilly. Very helpful and professional staff. Some have described the area as a little rough, but it seemed good to us, and very convenient to the central train station for easy transfers to the airport or elsewhere. The cozy lobby area draws you in to spend a few lazy hours; we also lingered over long and delicious breakfast buffets, which to us were worth the extra cost. We could see the beautiful outdoor courtyard garden would be a focal point in the summer. Our room was very nice, the bed comfortable. Others commented that rooms overlooking the central courtyard are quieter - our street side room did have some noise on Saturday night, but were too jet lagged for it to matter, and nothing that ear plugs could not overcome. There is a spa downstairs that we did not try, but it looked good, and prices seemed fair for this very expensive area.

Room Tip: Rooms over the central courtyard are probably quieter, and the courtyard garden is very pleasant. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rcccward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

My friend and I stayed here for 3 nights.
It's absolutely gorgeous and has a lovely eco flow throughout, down to the organic towels.
The bedrooms are lovely, the staff are very friendly and helpful.
The restaurant is also great. We had to stay in due to a bad snow storm and the restaurant was closing but they were very happy for us to stay and looked after us. We had a delicious tapas.
We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely be going back!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Preston40772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

I agree with the other reviewer that the location is convenient, but the walls were very thin between the rooms. On top of that there was a constant buzz in the room that kept me awake most of the night. When I asked the receptionist about it they said it was the minibar. If you cannot sleep, you won't be able to sit properly at the desk either because the table is so low that your legs will not fit underneath it.The room was very small, especially the bathroom. Half of the walk in shower entrance was blocked by this bamboo ladder leaning against the wall with towel. It was a rather disappointing stay for what they charge.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank May A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,623 reviews
Outer Vesterbro
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Kong Arthur
Hotel Kong Arthur
#12 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,923 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Babette Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#10 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels

Address: Helgolandsgade 11, Copenhagen 1653, Denmark
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Copenhagen
#4 Spa Hotel in Copenhagen
#7 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#9 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
#20 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range: $149 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Axel Guldsmeden is an experience of charm and style, and the best night’s sleep you will find in inner Copenhagen. Situated in the heart of Vesterbro, Axel has 129 rooms, conference facilities, an organic brunch & evening restaurant and a luxurious spa with own-brand organic products.The four-star Axel Guldsmeden is the environmentally friendly choice for a visit to Copenhagen – all products, food & drink, furnishings and services either organic, fair-trade or both. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion and Cancelon so you can book your Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Axel Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing