We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Limited romance - for eco lovers only”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Ranked #12 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Limited romance - for eco lovers only”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

My boyfriend and I were attracted to this hotel after seeing it ranked so highly on the 'best for romantic stays' section for Copenhagen. Unfortunately, the combination of the cramped living space and "Lady Love" strip club across the street meant it didn't exactly live up to the hype.

The space in the standard double room is very tight, which isn't helped by the minibar and glass/snacks cabinet which together take up a large area of the room. A chest of drawers to actually store clothes would have been far more useful and appropriate. The standard double bed, while comfortable, is actually two single beds squashed together.

While we were aware that the hotel had a focus on sustainability, I was surprised by just how widespread this was across the hotel's facilities. Standard double rooms only have a small shower cubicle, and I can imagine most guests would expect a bath with shower head from a 3 star hotel. This is not mentioned on the website description for a room of this type. I have a feeling the rooms' lack of baths are probably down to the hotel's eco focus - not impressive to be honest when you're paying in the region of £400 for a 3 night stay, excluding breakfast, which at 190 Kroner (around £20 a day) was hardly a bargain deal. For reference, a 3 night stay in the 3 star Best Western or Copenhagen Star will cost you in the region of £80-£100 less and I'm sure the breakfast is a lot cheaper and hotter - no bacon or sausages to be seen at the Axel that's for sure!

The towels are 'sustainable' and unfortunately do not get you particularly dry as a result. The bathroom toiletries (shampoo, conditioner etc) had already been used by previous guests and consequently did not look particularly attractive. While I understand that the hotel focuses on sustainability, I do think that a basic changing over of toiletries should occur in a 3 star hotel and believe most people would expect the same. There is only one lift which we waited for every time and was often very cramped. In terms of the quality of the staff, on asking for a mainstream beer brand at the bar (which doubles as a hotel lobby), I was sneered at and told I could only purchase organic varieties there (more expensive of course), while on departure we were not asked any questions about how our stay had been.

To conclude, I have no problem paying 3 star prices for a genuine 3 star experience but I do believe this hotel borders on the 2/3 star line and is poor value for money. At Axel, you get the basics you pay for and are tempted into buying everything else, from the expensive Pinot Noir in the bedroom to the breakfast and spa at 295 Kroner for the stay. While Copenhagen is admittedly an expensive city, it seems very likely to me that the eco-sustainability focus of Axel considerably drives up its costs. As a result, I would advise those who aren't day to day green goddesses to look elsewhere for a romantic city break hotel.

Room Tip: For a bath pick the superior!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LauraG010590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    576
    612
    224
    70
    20
See reviews for
163
759
106
249
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Just spent two nights at the Axel hotel and can thoroughly recommend it. Excellent location- walkable from train station which is only a ten minute journey to the airport.

Lovely atmosphere as soon as you walk in thanks to the friendly staff, Balinese influence and comfortable bar area in which to relax. There is a basket of apples at the door which is a nice touch. We arrived early at midday and were immediately shown up to our room which was lovely. We had upgraded to a superior double which was spacious with a balcony overlooking the internal courtyard and a sizeable bathroom with free standing bath. lovely products in the room and a very comfortable bed.

Breakfast is amazing and not to be missed. We didn't manage to get there until 9.30am every day and expected it to be deserted but it was heaving and looked as if it could go on all day. Very buzzy with what seemed like lots of outsiders who were coming in to eat because it was so good. Huge array of fruit, meats, cheeses and delicious bacon plus homemade porridge and honey with almonds... I could go on! It is not cheap but well worth it, it will keep you going all day!

Other nice touches are the free tea, coffee and cakes that are always available on the bar for residents, wide selection of wines and beers and copious amounts of delicious paprika crisps and nuts to nibble upon. Lunch boxes are also available for packing away any little treats you fancy!
It is a very relaxed homely place in which to stay, but also offers a haven at the end of a long day of cycling, shopping and sightseeing. It really does feel as if you are staying with friends and helping yourself to their fridge. We will be back.

Room Tip: Back room overlooking courtyard, not near lift and higher floor. It seems that many people get a fre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gillian e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twickenham
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

My boyfriend arranged this trip to celebrate my birthday and it really was excellent. The hotel was very accommodating, we arrived early and we upgraded to a junior suite for free (even though the hotel was already excellent value for money for just the standard room).

Copenhagen is a very expensive city and the hotel mirrors this, so I don't feel that it is a criticism of the hotel directly but the food and wine is rather expensive; although very good. It is however, similar prices to other venues in the city, so as I said, it's the city, rather than the hotel.

We paid extra to use the spa, the fee covers the duration of your stay and we used it every day; however, on the morning of our last day the sauna and the steam room were not on so we could only use the jacuzzi which was a little disappointing given that we'd paid extra thinking that all facilities would be available during the spa opening times. There wasn't anyone around to speak to about it without going to reception in our bathing suits! Overall, the spa was a very enjoyable part of our trip and I would highly recommend upgrading to include this in your stay. The homemade scrubs and beauty products really add to the experience too leaving your skin feeling great!

The bedroom and living area was lovely, reasonably spacious for a centrally located hotel. The toiletries in the bathroom were amazing and the bath in the bed room was a nice little extra. The room had real glasses (wine and water) which you could use which was a nice touch again. Everything is organic so it's nice knowing that you are not using anything which is too unsustainable.

The bed was incredible! It enveloped you in the duvet and the mattress! I slept so well. The room was warm, too warm at times, but a short period with the window or the juliet balcony doors open sorted that, so no problem there.

The weather was horrendous on our first day - we borrowed an umbrella from the hotel and I think we definitely had the best umbrella in the city if not Europe! It was the day the storm hit and winds were hurricane level making it hard to walk by the time it was in full flow, knocking people off their feet. However, not once, did our umbrella turn inside out! INCREDIBLE!

Breakfast was on the pricey side so we went down the road to Bang & Jensen for a wonderful experience instead which was approximately half the price. However, if breakfast at the hotel is like everything else, I am sure it would have been great!

Overall, an excellent hotel providing excellent service and a superb place to locate yourself for a stay in Copenhagen.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twickenhamteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I really like the concept of this hotel. Organic hotel in perfect location in Copenhagen. I am usually not a fan of organic things but this hotel was a very pleasant surprise for me. The room was very comfy, small but very cozy. Staff really pleasant and helpful. Cleanliness of this hotel was excellent. But what impressed me most was probably the bed - which was the most comfortable bed I ever slept in.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhilS17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

High marks for the green positioning. More high marks for a very comfortable sleeping environment. Down comforter on top of a soft mattress made for one of the best nights sleep in a few days of traveling.

Location is right near the main train station along with plenty of restaurants and bars, and the staff were kind enough to let us check in early. Organic apples as you walk in was another nice touch.

You will sleep in comfort, both in bed and in knowing you supported an important cause.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

Had a long weekend in Copenhagen and stayed for the second time in this nice hotel. Standard rooms are just enough but double superior was really nice with a cosy bathtub. It was fantastic to enjoy a long soak after a day of cycling on the bikes that the hotel provides for a small fee. The Vesterbro are is a full of interesting restaurants, bars and shops. And close to the Tivoli, central station and in an easy walking distance from the center. Will defenetly go back to Axel.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chaquesoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

The Axel is just an average hotel and is too expensive for what it offers. It's cool to be 'Green' nowadays, but if green means that the lights are so low at night that you cannot read anywhere in your room but directly under your light near your bed, then 'green' is not for me.

I found our superior room to be small and not too bright. The idea of a tub in your room might seem cool and cute, but the reality is that it is in the way and ripe for a toe stub as you pass the frame with rocks inside. My husband tried the tub, and it is not very comfortable.

The bathroom is quite small but OK for one person at a time. You can't both use the mirror at the same time, so make sure that you budget enough time as you prepare to go out at night.

The one highlight for us was the location. We used the train a lot, and the proximity to the Central Station from the hotel was great. We even took the train back to the airport and it was easy, even with some baggage, convenient and only takes 12 minutes to reach the airport and get dropped off inside the terminal.

We found pleasant restaurants near the hotel although none were spectacular.

I would check out the neighboring hotels on the same block, and compare prices for the best buy. It seems that that block is 'hotel city' and indeed the location can't be beat.

Also, you are quite near the Information Center. It is a good idea to buy a Copenhagen Card, especially if you are planning to see lots of museums and will ride the trains.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rena61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,933 reviews
Outer Vesterbro
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#4 of 117 in Copenhagen
2,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#11 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,297 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#3 of 117 in Copenhagen
261 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#25 of 117 in Copenhagen
4,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels

Property: Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Address: Helgolandsgade 11, Copenhagen 1653, Denmark
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Copenhagen
#2 Spa Hotel in Copenhagen
#7 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#9 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
#20 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Axel Guldsmeden is an experience of charm and style, and the best night’s sleep you will find in inner Copenhagen. Situated in the heart of Vesterbro, Axel has 129 rooms, conference facilities, an organic brunch & evening restaurant and a luxurious spa with own-brand organic products.The four-star Axel Guldsmeden is the environmentally friendly choice for a visit to Copenhagen – all products, food & drink, furnishings and services either organic, fair-trade or both. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Axel Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing