We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3ed visit at axel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Ranked #15 of 118 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Like always axel is a city well located hotel, great staff and great Danish design.
Not fancy but certainly does the work for a city hotel.
close to the main train station and the old city stores and restaurants, two minutes from Tivoli Park.

Room Tip: You have either the entrance side or the inner square - depends what u like...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoyDanL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,520)
There are newer reviews for Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

668 - 674 of 1,520 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2013

I had originally booked at the sister hotel but they had overbooked, so after being sent for half my stay to another part of town I spent three nights here. Having read other reviews I requested a room that did not overlook the street but was nevertheless given exactly that, albeit on the fifth floor. When the noise from the restaurant opposite subsided it was replaced by the down-and-outs shouting from doorways. The room was too warm to have windows closed (in late August) and although a fan was provided it is too noisy to use at night. Eco-friendliness is commendable but only if it really saves energy. When the towels absorb so much water that you need to use all of them after a shower - it helps nothing. When you use twice as much water in the shower because you constantly have to regulate the temperature - it helps nothing. The housekeeping staff leave lights on in the rooms all day after cleaning and close the windows even if you have left a note for them to stay open to try and cool the room.
I didn't take the breakfast, it seemed very expensive. I did have the "tapas plate" one evening, which was possibly the weirdest combination of foods I have ever seen on one plate - and that was also very expensive. I could have had steak and chips nearby for less.
The staff were, however, friendly and helpful and the location is convenient for the train station and the centre of the city.

Room Tip: Insist on a room facing the back. It may be more expensive as I think they class them as superior ro...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DJHinWinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Nice and cosy hotel in the very centre of Copenhagen. Excellent service from the staff, and relaxation in the outside backyard is calm and still Withagen a lot of atmosphere. And their breakfast table is not only outstanding - it's sustainable and based on organic products.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BoFlorin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Our second stay at Axel Guldsmeden, and we decided to book one of the penthouse room with terrace with outdoor jacuzzi. What a beautiful room, we were totally stunned. The interior was so tasteful and gave the room a very good atmosphere. It was spacious and there was plenty of room for a baby cot, wich the hotel provided for us.

The terrace was fantastic, with a great view over Copenhagen. The jacuzzi was prepared when we arrived, and it was really good to soak into the bubbles after a long day of walking. Have to mention that I stepped on some glass on the balcony deck, but it didnt ruin our experience.
The room had a big bathroom with both shower and bathtub.
The bed was amazing, beautiful and big. Slept like a baby.

Breakfast was very good and interesting, everything was organic.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fasttravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

All in all, we had a very pleasant stay. The room (a standard double, 3rd floor) was comfortable, clean and full of light, the Balinese decor adds a nice warm touch. The lobby area is cozy and pleasant, with comfortable sofas that invite you to curl on them with a book. We had breakfast at the hotel only once. It was very good, but also very expensive. There are quite a few cheaper options for breakfast in the area - a lot smaller breakfast, and more ordinary, but cheaper all the same.
The location is excellent - very central, very convenient as a base for touring Copenhagen. There are lots of restaurants nearby, but also quite a few drunks, drug addicts, girl clubs, etc.
The not-so-good points are:
- street noise at all times, that you can't avoid unless you shut the windows. Why not shut the windows, then? because there is no AC in the room and it feels airless unless you open a window.
- The bathroom is quite small, and needs some refurbishing (faucets and showerhead) and/or vigorous scrubbing with chlorox (mold is starting to accumulate on the walls of the shower). a special towel for the bathroom floor is a must - we had to use the hand towels to soak the water.
Apart from that, we had a very enjoyable stay, and will definitely consider staying there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hagar L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I have stayed here before for business trips and this weekend it was time to introduce my wife to this wonderful hotel. As ever the rooms are very clean and cosy. But my reason for this feedback is actually to congratulate the staff: I had wrongly booked a single room where a double was needed. And even though the hotel was fully booked, the staff was able to arrange a double room within a few minutes. This is the kind of service that makes you come back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goswin t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel in balinese style. We had a superior room, a quite small bedroom with a large four-poster bed. The bathroom was actually larger than the bedroom, stylish natural stone tiles, a stone bath-tub in the shape of an egg, and a shower-niche.
The breakfast is nice, but is quite expencive, I would recommend to go out in the city for an early brunch in stead! The location of the hotel is in the middle of copenhagen red-light district, an the girls are quite agressive, most so in late evening. Very close to the central station, tivoli, and kødbyen. Did not try their spa, but they have some spa-products in the bathroom, very nice and great smell!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kfbeka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#4 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,482 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,983 reviews
Outer Vesterbro
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#10 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,312 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#3 of 118 in Copenhagen
293 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Babette Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels

Address: Helgolandsgade 11, Copenhagen 1653, Denmark
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Copenhagen
#3 Spa Hotel in Copenhagen
#7 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#9 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
#20 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range: $160 - $459 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Axel Guldsmeden is an experience of charm and style, and the best night’s sleep you will find in inner Copenhagen. Situated in the heart of Vesterbro, Axel has 129 rooms, conference facilities, an organic brunch & evening restaurant and a luxurious spa with own-brand organic products.The four-star Axel Guldsmeden is the environmentally friendly choice for a visit to Copenhagen – all products, food & drink, furnishings and services either organic, fair-trade or both. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Axel Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing