We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a pleasant surprise, fair trade and wonderful hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Ranked #19 of 119 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 27, 2013

From my first experience with this hotel, I knew this was something different. Booked through a random booking website, trying to find a stopover hotel near the station. Website made error, hotel refunded me without question with short notice despite cancellation policy, absolute honesty apparent immediately.

So much so that when meeting plans went pear shaped, I decided to stay a few more nights. Rarely have I been this impressed.

As I walked in, the Balinese decor - in Denmark(?) - together with the hot humid weather gave me geographic discombobulation, but immediately felt in familiar surroundings. An offer of a cold drink as I checked in, and the room was great - they are compact (but this is an ancient city, so deal with it) but very comfy. The bar is great for a cold beer - more importantly a damn tasty selection of locally brewed sustainable beer, and a great variety of local craft liqueurs and spirits.
I Clicked with the very friendly staff instantly - I feel it would be wrong to single any one of you out - every single one of you there are amazing, warm, genuine human beings who I was privileged to meet - and I can't wait to be back.

OK, so an admission. I am a human rights journalist, so I often see the human toll first hand of all those little consumer knick knacks, cosmetics, and fancy things that the west loves to drape itself in. The hotel and beauty industry is guilty of horrendous labour and environmental abuses, from the use of country destroying palm oil in its bathroom cosmetics, to the use of unsustainable slave produced ingredients in its mini-bars - very little in most hotels have respect for those who make the product. And at the coal face - that lack of respect means human rights and environmental abuses on an industrial scale, out of sight, out of mind. So to experience an affordable hotel that is committed to fairness and sustainability of human labour - the essence of fair trade - is not just a breath of fresh air, but a necessary step in bringing about some fairness in our unbalanced world... and a powerful and working demonstration that organic and fair trade policies can easily be incorporated into the running of a hotel. Most salient however, this is a simple lesson that other hotels just simply have no excuse not to implement fair trade and sustainable sourcing and practice - it really doesn't make a difference to profit, and makes for far happier workers AND guests.

Every part of every part of the hotel has been looked at thoroughly to ensure that it is the purest, tastiest, most karma-free experience. Even the breakfast (or should I say especially) is a powerful experience in sustainability and deliciousness.

Sandra and Marc have created an amazing, lasting, and inspiring concept with Guldsmelden, and I implore everyone who cares about justice in this world, if you are in Scandinavia, France, or Bali, go to these hotels.

I cannot thank you all enough for making me feel like I was in a house full of friends, and people out their actually making a difference on this Earth, instead of just talking about it.

In a word you mob: RESPECT!

NC

Room Tip: pick a room with a balcony facing the courtyard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veteran_nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,592)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

742 - 748 of 1,592 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2013

There is a trick about booking the cheaper room. You won't be able to sleep until the front street gets quieter. If you can, book somewhere else away from the main station. The hotel is ok but it has a LOT to improve, if you are on a budget or don't care much about luxury, try WakeUp Copenhagen

Room Tip: ask for AC in summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SebastianCarro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AxelCopenhagen, Public Relations Manager at Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Dear SebastianCarro, we are sorry to hear that you were not happy with your stay at the Axel Guldsmeden. However, we must correct your claim about there being a "trick" to the least expensive rooms. The Axel hotel is a traditional building, with some rooms facing the street and some facing the courtyard. The rooms facing the courtyard are mainly in the superior category, and the rooms facing the street are in the standard category. Our location is extremely central, and while this is of course an attractive feature for visiting tourists, it also means that it is not as quiet as if one had chosen a hotel located further out, or in a strictly residential area. There are pros and cons to all locations. We have been blessed with lovely summer weather in Denmark this year, but the temperature has not exceeded a pleasant 28 degrees celsius. It is not common for hotels in Denmark to be equipped with a/c, and particularly for the Guldsmeden hotels, it is an informed choice not to have it - it would conflict with our sustainability efforts and concept in general. We do have fans available, that should be more than adequate for the Danish summer temperatures ;-).
We hope you enjoyed Copenhagen, and wish you happy travels in the future!
Best from the Axel Guldsmeden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Location was perfect with this smart hotel, ten minutes from the station and close to the city centre. Rooms were nicely finished-beds very comfortable- Balinese furniture and good complimentary toiletries, all organic. Staff were extremely friendly and were happy to assist with anything they could. A nice chill out area at the back- a blessing in the heat and I would recommend the local beer- especially the amber one "classic". Breakfast was splendid, organic yoghurts, bread, cooked items, hams and cheeses. I felt very, very full. Lovely selection of teas and coffee available 24hrs. I would recommend this hotel and they have plenty bikes to help explore the city-which was the best way I think as there is so much to see. A good spot for this hotel, got a little noisy outside at weekends in the early hours but I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pip_and_dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Location was perfect, only 10-minute walk to the main street with all the shops and restaurants. 5-minute walk to railway station so very easy to find. Breakfast was splendid, we didn't have to eat until the evening! Different selection of breads, jams, chocolate, scrambled eggs, bacon (which on most morning was cold unfortunately so slight minus about that), excellent home-made yoghurt with different sorts of toppings (almonds, seeds, honey etc).

The room was very small but as we spent most of the time elsewhere we didn't mind.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We liked the bali-inspired style of the hotel rooms; the atmosphere is very stylish. The organic bath products were wonderful, not to mention the excellent breakfast! Our room was quite small and the bathroom standard was a little bit lower than expected, but we would certainly visit this lovely hotel again! Nice location near the railway station and Tivoli.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMaria2602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed for one night recently at the Axel. It's only a few minutes walk away from the Central Station and, contrary to some other reviews here, we didn't feel unsafe or unhappy about the area at all. It's busy, vibrant and central and felt ok. We could walk to the main shopping and tourist areas in about 15 - 20 minutes. We had booked a junior suite which was a very tastefully done up room, very nice, a nice size, with a separate sitting area. The bathroom was fine, tastefully done up. While the shower didn't run out of hot water (as some of other reviewers experienced), the pressure was a bit rubbish. That's definitely something that should be addressed. The breakfast was excellent in terms of quality but, although we got there about 10.30am, the staff seemed not particularly interested in filling up the hot water for tea or making fresh coffee after the main "rush hour" had passed. You had to ask them, and they complied at their own pace. Not really great service but everyone was pleasant. The food itself was really good, it was nice to know it was organic, and there was a good selection. Would say that the breakfast was a bit on the pricey side but it is Copenhagen (expensive city) and organic food (expensive food) so probably fair enough. Other comments: it was hot so we opened the windows to let some air in; because of the location, that made things pretty noisy. But the bed was wonderfully comfortable, the sheets really soft, and it was nicely made up. For the price range and location, I would definitely recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HotelEnthusiast09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Nice Balinese inspired decoration of the rooms. The room was a bit on the small side but adequate. The breakfast was good but it was a little bit too crowded. Nothing faults the location of this hotel! We unfortunately did not try the spa section; will have to do that next time!

Room Tip: Try to get a room higher up, not on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ullu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 119 in Copenhagen
2,701 reviews
Outer Vesterbro
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 119 in Copenhagen
2,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Babette Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#11 of 119 in Copenhagen
1,368 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Kong Arthur
Hotel Kong Arthur
#10 of 119 in Copenhagen
2,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels

Address: Helgolandsgade 11, Copenhagen 1653, Denmark
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Copenhagen
#4 Spa Hotel in Copenhagen
#7 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#9 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range: $140 - $385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Axel Guldsmeden is an experience of charm and style, and the best night’s sleep you will find in inner Copenhagen. Situated in the heart of Vesterbro, Axel has 129 rooms, conference facilities, an organic brunch & evening restaurant and a luxurious spa with own-brand organic products.The four-star Axel Guldsmeden is the environmentally friendly choice for a visit to Copenhagen – all products, food & drink, furnishings and services either organic, fair-trade or both. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Axel Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing