We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location near the station”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Ranked #13 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
somerset
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good location near the station”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Good quality hotel, very clean and interesting decor. There is a garden where you can sit and have drinks or coffee. We were upgraded when we got there, the room was quite small, the bed was soft and the bathroom was clean and new. There was a small balcony.
The breakfast was very expensive but was very nice, the museli was great and you can sit there and eat and drink as much as you like.
If you arrive from the station and look down the street the sign for the hotel is quiet small.
Our room had a step as you enter the room, my husband fell into the room!
Overall I would recommend the hotel and location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank 01stuff01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    554
    592
    220
    68
    19
See reviews for
157
735
99
242
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We loved this cosy hotel. The decor was delightful being an interesting mix of Bali and Denmark but it worked. We liked their organic, sustainable philosophy and the location is very convenient. They have a great tapas supper. The breakfast is a bit pricey.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifer m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
827 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 338 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I have very mixed feelings about the AXEL Hotel Guldsmeden. Its on the opposite side of the train station from Tivoli in an area filled with hotels but only a few restaurants. Although the area seemed fairly safe, it's a bit seedy. Though the hotel is only a short walk from the train station it is definitely not in the middle of the tourist sights of Copenhagen, so you'll need to either rent a bike from the hotel, learn to use the bus system, or get used to lots of walking, particularly if you would like to return to the hotel in mid-day. Our room was small and decorated in an earthy style with area rugs, grass textured walls, interesting lamps, and a small flat screen TV. Although we were on the fifth floor with a room facing the courtyard we were awaked on two separate nights by fireworks, loud conversations, and construction noises. The bathroom was clean with a nice shower and stone sink, but I definitely didn't like when the hot water failed in the middle of a shower and I had to rinse off with ice cold water. We skipped breakfast at the hotel since at $30 it seemed grossly overpriced for what was offered even if it is organic. Somehow the pleasant service of the staff didn't make up for the failings of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the courtyard when you make a reservation. You're unlikely to get one whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank areview28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AxelCopenhagen, Public Relations Manager at Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear areview28,
we are sorry that your were not completely happy with your stay at the Axel, and would like to address your issues one at a time, as we feel the need to clarify a few things.
The area we are located in is completely safe, but one of the side streets can be described as Copenhagen´s red light district. This particular street is easy to avoid, and for the rest, our location is exactly 2 minutes walk from the Tivoli gardens, 5 minutes from city hall and the main pedestrian street, and smack in the middle of the meatpacking district, which is the most trendy and sought-after area in Copenhagen. In fact, the fireworks that kept you awake, were from the Tivoli gardens - they have an amazing display every Saturday at midnight, which goes to show how close you in fact were to this location.
Our rooms are not large, but this is not unusual for inner-city hotels, particularly of the boutique variety. All our rooms are different, and we make a point of making the most of them - each is appointed according to their particular assets, and we furnish using only sustainable, natural and long-life materials: wood, stone, wool and bamboo.
As for the breakfast, compared to the general rates in Copenhagen, it is not grossly overpriced, it´s actually quite average. And the selection is not only super-healthy and organic, but hand-picked for it´s high quality and great taste. Of course we realize that people have different expectations and needs for breakfast, which is the reason for our breakfast being an add-on, that one can choose not to pay for.
Finally, regarding your room tip: the rooms facing the courtyard are superior rooms, and the rooms facing the street are standard rooms - so it is quite easy to make sure to get a room facing the courtyard, if that is a specific wish :-).
Best from all of us at Axel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Though expensive, this hotel has much more warmth and character than others in the same price bracket. I was SO happy I chose Axel after lots of research. It is very convenient for travel - short walk to the main train station, and in a neighbourhood I felt comfortable in as a single woman in light or dark. My junior suite was spacious, well-laid out, and felt like home. The odd stone alien pod-tub I didn't use (though I did lie in it to see how it would feel), but the bed, sofa, desk and bathroom were great. I liked the sustainable and very absorbent towels and nice organic bath products provided. The problem with hot/cold water vacillation is not solved and would be a major problem for some people. It was the only downside of my stay. The staff were helpful but not invasive, and made some excellent recommendations for local possibilities. At Famo, a local Italian, I had an absolutely exquisite meal - fresh beautifully and imaginatively prepared food (set meal daily) of the highest quality. On the Saturday night, there was a thumping disco audible until about 5am - probably hard to avoid anywhere in town.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LSBPTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

This hotel is a nice place to stay in Copenhagen. Situated in the hip Vesterbro district, it is located only a few minutes away from the central train station and the Tivoli Gardens. The rooms are furnished in Guldsmedens signature style combining Balinese and Scandinavian design, however I have to admit I would prefer them a bit bigger. The atmosphere is very friendly and healthy and the service is excellent offering a sense of laid-back luxury throughout your stay. Organic breakfast buffet is a must.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stavros79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
154 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I found this hotel accommodating but quite pretentious. They espouse the ideals of natural and organic, but it really just comes off as high and mighty. High prices are par for the course in Copenhagen, but this place has nothing special to offer considering the price. The rooms are tiny. The beds are tiny. And you are across the street from all of Copenhagen's strip clubs. While we ended up having good service overall, we definitely got looks for doing normal consumer-informative things like asking for the price for upgrading to a two person room (we were in a one person room, which they chastised us for), how much bikes costs to rent from the hotel (150 kroner per day, though we were first quoted for 50 kroner per day by a staff member-- also, side note, rent your bikes elsewhere!), and where we could find good takeout. They made us feel like some cheap, annoying Americans (and really, we were just on a normal budget-- Copenhagen is a pricey place! And we live in Boston!) I will say: The staff were helpful in guiding us as to catching the train at Copenhagen station at 4:30 am, where to get THE BEST falafel and schwarma, etc. I won't say it was bad, but it just didn't seem like a place I would want to go back to considering the price. There are many nice hotels in Copenhagen you can stay for a similar price. We had a WONDERFUL time in Copenhagen, and I feel bad that this was the only cloud over the trip (and really a small cloud), but I would not recommend The AXEL Guldsmeden.

Tips: Copenhagen Train station is very close, rent bikes, use the S-TOG ( you can take bicycles on), and do your research to find good restaurants!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

This hotel is a very nice place to stay in Copenhagen. It's small and not a full service hotel, but its stylishly decorated in good taste. The atmosphere is very healthy with its organic theme that is very extensive. The location is prime with good access to the city by walking and bicycle. A fan in the rooms in summer would be my only comment. Highly recommend it as a place to stay in Copenhagen ...

Room Tip: The single bed number 5 on level 1 has a fan a nice big bathroom. The double number 314 is a bit sma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marjsyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,821 reviews
Outer Vesterbro
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#5 of 116 in Copenhagen
2,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#3 of 116 in Copenhagen
203 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#10 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,264 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
First Hotel Mayfair
First Hotel Mayfair
#26 of 116 in Copenhagen
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels

Property: Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Address: Helgolandsgade 11, Copenhagen 1653, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Copenhagen
#2 Green Hotel in Copenhagen
#7 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#9 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
#20 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Axel Guldsmeden is an experience of charm and style, and the best night’s sleep you will find in inner Copenhagen. Situated in the heart of Vesterbro, Axel has 129 rooms, conference facilities, an organic brunch & evening restaurant and a luxurious spa with own-brand organic products.The four-star Axel Guldsmeden is the environmentally friendly choice for a visit to Copenhagen – all products, food & drink, furnishings and services either organic, fair-trade or both. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Axel Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing