We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Ranked #15 of 118 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 2, 2013

When coming from airport, take train to central station Copenhagen H. After 15 inutes ride, you'll findout you've choosen the best possible location for a hotel. Only 5 minutes from central station (with only one turn toget into the street where hotel is situated), thisis perfect spot to visitall relevant CPH sightseeings. Hotel is nice, strong organic focus which is ice but forme it wasnt that much relevant. Room was perfect, clean and verypleasent to stay. Bathroom clean and perfectly designed and equiped. Breakfast I didnt have since i like eating out, but price o 160 krown is really too much, o matter how organic it is. Bside that, definitellyplace to stay and revisit.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank Raseljka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,520)
There are newer reviews for Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

762 - 768 of 1,520 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here one night in junior suite. For the price the rooms were showing signs of well use. Furnishing/ fittings a bit tired and could be refreshed. The room was however comfortable and warm and i liked all the organic products and mini bar. We had planned to use the spa area but thus is very small and not worth the money. Service was a bit hit or miss, some of the staff friendly and helpful, others not so much. Breakfast room was very cosy and warm and much nicer than your typical hotel breakfast area. The organic breakfast was very nice apart from cold scrambled eggs. Great location

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JC_Malmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Very welcoming and friendly reception staff, extremely convenient location (just a 5 minute walk from Central Station), comfortable room (although quite small), powerful shower, lovely organic toiletries, and a good breakfast. Breakfast is pricey and not a huge selection, but everything on offer was delicious. Extremely good organic bread and jams and coffee in a cosy breakfast room. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katherine232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Situated just five minutes walking to the Vesterbro side of the Central Station, on a fairly quiet street, this hotel is excellently located both for walking toward the centre and for exploring less well-known areas of Copenhagen.

The hotel profiles itself as concerned about the environment, and gently advises on how to save energy and thus secure a place in heaven. The room we slept in (424) is small, but with nice design features, and a very good mattress on the bed. The bathroom has floor-heating.

The staff is friendly and helpful. But perhaps the best feature of the hotel is the breakfast, with a generous range of breads, cheeses, meats, fruits, juices, and sweets. This is quite simply one of the best breakfasts I have ever enjoyed in any hotel anywhere.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChF_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Great hotel, quite central. Stylish and simple, balinese style. We had a connecting room which was great for our 3,5-year old. A little bit full at breakfast, we had to wait a while to get a table. The hotel was probably quite full. In the night it was a little bit noisy because some guests were sitting outside smoking.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilde K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed here for one night on a business trip. We were allowed to work in the restaurant despite that it already closed. They even provided us with some nice coffee. Great service!

The rooms are comfy and clean. Most stuff in the hotel is organic. Personally I don't care about whether my shampoo is organic or not, but I can imagine it might give the establishment a little extra to people who do care about such things.

When walking down the street you will probably bump into the occasional addict and/or hooker. It didn't bother me but the easily offended might not like it. The city centre is about 10 minutes walking distance away, which is perfect.

All things considered, I would definitely recommend this hotel. Certainly for business trips, but I I would have enjoyed the stay with my girl as well.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marc l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in early Jan 2013 and the hotel was very nice and in a good location. Its really close to the train station, tivoli, and only 10 minute walk from the main shopping strip. It's also in the middle of the red light district which was good fun for me and my partner but maybe not the best for famalies with kids? We also hired bikes from the hotel for a pretty good price and rode to the zoo which was excellent, and only 5-10 minutes ride away. Our room was very nice but it was quite loud having a street view room. The organic breakfast worried me a bit but turned out to be excellent and well worth including in your stay. Overall, it was a nice place to stay and the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jack C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#4 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,477 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,981 reviews
Outer Vesterbro
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#10 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,310 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#3 of 118 in Copenhagen
289 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Babette Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels

Address: Helgolandsgade 11, Copenhagen 1653, Denmark
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Copenhagen
#3 Spa Hotel in Copenhagen
#7 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#9 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
#20 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range: $160 - $485 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Axel Guldsmeden is an experience of charm and style, and the best night’s sleep you will find in inner Copenhagen. Situated in the heart of Vesterbro, Axel has 129 rooms, conference facilities, an organic brunch & evening restaurant and a luxurious spa with own-brand organic products.The four-star Axel Guldsmeden is the environmentally friendly choice for a visit to Copenhagen – all products, food & drink, furnishings and services either organic, fair-trade or both. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Orbitz, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Axel Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing