We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Nearby Hotels
Skt. Petri(Copenhagen)
$256
$246
SKT. PETRI
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibsens Hotel(Copenhagen)(Great Value!)
$206
$157
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$246
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Tiffany(Copenhagen)(Great Value!)
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Phoenix Copenhagen(Copenhagen)
$210
$191
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Avenue Hotel Copenhagen(Frederiksberg)(Great Value!)
$168
$161
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Adina Apartment Hotel Copenhagen(Copenhagen)
$245
$203
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Copenhagen Island Hotel(Copenhagen)
$159
$151
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
66 Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels(Copenhagen)(Great Value!)
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$199
$171
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,633)
Filter reviews
1,633 results
Traveler rating
614
663
251
82
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
614
663
251
82
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseco hotelorganic cottoncentral stationthe red light districtorganic breakfastfour postersmall balconystrip clubstreet noisemeatpacking districtsitting areathe meat packing districttwo blockstivoli gardenssuperior roomsingle roomvisiting copenhagen
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
852 - 857 of 1,633 reviews
Reviewed December 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Axel for a weekend away and it was a fantastic choice. We'd definitely recommend the hotel to anyone visiting Copenhagen and especially those who are interested in staying in a trendy part of town. Here's what we liked (and a few things we didn't):

+ great location, close to the train station and an easy walk to Copenhagen attractions (past reviews commented that the area around the hotel was seedy, but we found the opposite; zero issues or complaints regarding location)
+ very little outside street noise (may have been due to cold weather, but if you're used to living in a city then you shouldn't have any noise issues sleeping at the hotel)
+ warm and cozy atmosphere that was well suited to a winter weekend, very Danish!
+ well done, well heated rooms that seem quite large for a standard European hotel room; space was well utilized
+ clean and modern, but with done with charm (wood floors were a plus)
+ comfortable bed (although it was two twins pushed together) and good pillows
+ wonderful smelling, organic bath products
+ overhead shower as well as a normal shower head (no bath)
+ everything's organic :)
+ extremely friendly, helpful staff who not only gave us excellent directions for using the public transportation but also a restaurant recommendation that was just perfect

- while we liked that the bath towels were organic, they weren't exactly cozy, bit rough and small
- bathroom was tight, but not terribly so
- could have used a better bath mat because water did get outside the shower area
- shower area was a bit dark

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PetiteLinds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

This is more like a boutique hotel with individual decorated rooms, a high grade of "feel like you're home, - away from home" feeling. For a reasonable price you will get great service from the staff and a nice and clean room. Good organic food and focus on the enviroment.

My favorite in Copenhagen.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bjarte1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Amazing hotel, where the nice staff make you feel home, quite rooms, fantastic breakfast and organic wines at the bar at night. In the top of the red light district in Copenhagen , but super quite and comfortable.

Room Tip: Perfect getaway, world class, nothing less
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

The hotel is in a great location for the train station, the up and coming meat packing district bars and resturants, Tivoli Gardens and Stroget shopping street. We found the hotel itself very welcoming and inviting, it had a lovely cosy feeling to it. Our check in was quick, efficient and friendly and our room was bigger than expected ( after having read previous reviews), it had a super comfy huge 4 poster bed, an L-shaped seating area and 2 tv's, there was even a bath in the bathroom as well as a shower! Check out was just as efficient and there's a storage area for luggage, if like us your flight is late in the evening.

My only gripe was breakfast, an additional £15 per person....yes there is a lot of choice and they are big on organic so good quality but with the best will in the world it is impossible to eat £15 worth and scrambled eggs on any buffet, organic or not, just go cold and rubbery.

Stayed: December 2012
Thank Topcat1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Ideal location. 3 minutes walk from the central station. I emailed for precise directions from the station and was given a set of exact directions from the helpful staff.

Once arrived there, however, no porter to assist with luggage. Not a massive problem but definitely disqualifies itself from being a 4 star choice - really, it is simply enough for its staff to assist guests with their luggage.

Receptionists throughout our stay were courteous, informed and helpful. Wouldn't use the word WARM though - I don't know that we felt particularly welcomed, but then again, it is that special something that makes a small handful of hotels stand out. Not this one.

Decor was pretty, a mix of oriental and Scandinavian design. Nice little touches here and there, coffee and tea available throughout. Our room was tiny but sufficient. I have to say, although everything was pretty, not enough thought has gone into the functionality of the design: no shower curtains, taps awkwardly placed behind bathroom sinks, etc.

Breakfast was very nice, surprisingly for a little hotel like this one. Fresh, varied choices, you can even make yourself a mimosa - as part of the buffet breakfast.

Overall, a rather good option for an independent traveller who doesn't mind taking care of most things him or herself. If you want a little bit more of a personalized experience, the hotel may just fall short.

Room Tip: Specify for a quiet room. You may get one of the upper floors, not facing the street.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juliannachong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews