We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ORGANIC is the theme :-)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Ranked #15 of 118 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Quite close to the Main trainstation is this hotel located, theme is organic.....and you can see it as soon as you enter the hotel and it goes al the way to the breakfast.
The rooms very showing high standard and even though we had a room facing the street it was quite so no issue going to sleep.
The choices at breakfast was pretty OK.
We did not the spa options but it looked quite nice. in the backyard you could see the furniture and even though it's abackyard facing other building they had made it very nice and I can only imagine that in the summertime it's going to be very nice sitting there!!!!!!
I would not mind going back again....and again......and again

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,520)
There are newer reviews for Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

786 - 792 of 1,522 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Unfortunately, despite we have confirmed booking for this hotel they refused to accomodate us as they were overbooked. The staff were very confused. Once they informed us that they are overbooked they begin immediately service other customer. Only once we left they tried to offer assistance to find some other hotel but only because they were afraid of our potential complaint with booking.com. We rejected their assistance as we were afraid of what "substitute" accomodation could this confused amateurs try to force to us.

The quick first impresion from the facíity was average. You need to ring the bell to get inside as the doors are permanently locked. Then you need to ho upstairs with your luggage to reception, nobody to assist you.

Ať the first look seems to me more like average thee star hotel with average location than a four star facility. We heard that there is nice spa but unfortunately had no chance to use it. The reception area is furnished in asian style but worn.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank CzechTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Very impressed with the hotel! All staff members are very friendly and helpful.

The room we are staying in is a basic room on the 4th floor. The room isn't massive but it certainly is cosy!! It is perfect for the two of us who are staying for a few days!!!

No complaints! Would highly recommend to anyone! Ideal location for the train station (approx 5minute walk)

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank qballnoggin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

The first thing to note about this hotel is the ease of getting to this hotel from Copenhagen Airport - which was one of my major worries on booking this trip to Copenhagen - train tickets cost 36DKK each and can be purchased from the airport, the train station is inside the airport terminal, connected by escalators. CPH Central station is approx. 10 minutes train ride away, and once at the station, the hotel is 2 blocks away ... easy to locate on one of the many free maps we picked up along the way.
When arriving at the Axel Hotel Guldsmeden with my boyfriend at the beginning of November for a 4 night city break, my first impressions were that the hotel was very warm and welcoming. Check in was quick and simple. We were placed in a double room on the fourth floor with a view of the street and buildings opposite - although on check in, the receptionist ensured that she'd put us in 'a lovely room with a nice view' - this did not detract from our experience, as we had not expected a city view from the room in the first place. One issue with rooms on this side of the hotel (the front) was that it could get quite noisy during the night - from people to bins being emptied in the early am.
The room was small, but was fine for a short stay - with a four poster double bed, which was as lovely to sleep in as it looked. There was a mini-bar, organic chocolates and glasses - at a charge, which we didn't use. A sofa and flat screen tv on the wall. The bathroom was small, but again - fine for a short stay. The tiled floor was heated and had a walk in shower with organic toiletries, a small bag of bathroom essentials each (which included toothbrush, toothpaste, disposable razor and shaving cream and comb) and a good hairdryer. The rooms were cleaned and towels changed every day.
The location was good, two blocks away from CPH Central station and another block to Tivoli Gardens. It was about a ten minute walk to the centre of Copenhagen, and approximately another ten - fifteen minute walk to the furthest parts of Copenhagen (Nyhavn, Amelienborg etc.)
When leaving the hotel and turning left, the remains of the red light district were evident. But it did not seem particularly dangerous, even at night time. But we did not use this route often - as it was not strictly necessary for where we wanted to go.
Overall, this hotel was great for a short stay in Copenhagen, and I would recommend this hotel for fellow travellers who are looking for a good value hotel for a reasonable price in a good location.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ginge1089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Great little hotel, so much more relaxing and homely than most city centre hotels. Staff were great, really made an effort to make the trip comfortable. Breakfast was fantastic, much more like what you would actually choose to have, rather than the generic big hotel offerings you often get. The hotel tries very hard to be eco-friendly and does a pretty good job of it, only complaint from me was that the towels were not quite as fluffy as I'd like....

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobbieFulton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel lobby is very nice, very cozy and free organic apples everyday. All the staff speaks good English (just like most people in Copenhagen). The room is nicely decorated too but the bathroom is just too small, that only 1 person can use the bathroom at one time and not enough counter space to put our stuff. The most annoying part is that there's no shower curtain, so the bathroom gets completely wet after someone took a shower. And there was no tray nor cabinet inside the shower to put shower gel, shampoo etc and those amenities were placed outside of the shower area, which makes taking shower a bit inconvenient . Besides the bathroom problem, it was a good hotel.

Breakfast in the hotel was highly rated. It was a small European organic breakfast buffet, a few kinds of bread and jams to choose from, museli (more like oatmeal with different dried fruits etc), scrambled & boiled eggs & bacon and some fresh fruits. Bottled juices (not fresh). Maybe the reviews were too positive therefore I was expecting a bigger buffet with a wider selection.

In general this was a beautiful boutique hotel and I would recommend it especially for slim people.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fapoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Agreed that this hotel has many positives - friendly staff (although the one could not find our reservation and that was a bit stressful!), nice food (beware...no dinner available on Sunday nights), comfy beds, nice duvets, close to central station, relaxing, comfortable and slightly exotic atmosphere, nice bath products. Yes, it is noisy at night if you are on the street side(ask for a room on the quieter back side) and the delivery trucks start early. Towels not particularly "fluffy" or absorbent and lack of a bath matt...must have been forgotten. Rooms are no smaller than any other European hotel...our room had a closet nook with hanging space so plenty of luggage space plus a desk and a bench for sitting. Really nice little lounge/reception with access to a computer. All in all, would stay again but in a quieter room.

Room Tip: Rooms not on the main street are quieter.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeslieJV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#4 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,483 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,983 reviews
Outer Vesterbro
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#10 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,312 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#3 of 118 in Copenhagen
294 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Babette Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels

Address: Helgolandsgade 11, Copenhagen 1653, Denmark
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Copenhagen
#3 Spa Hotel in Copenhagen
#7 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#9 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
#20 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range: $160 - $445 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Axel Guldsmeden is an experience of charm and style, and the best night’s sleep you will find in inner Copenhagen. Situated in the heart of Vesterbro, Axel has 129 rooms, conference facilities, an organic brunch & evening restaurant and a luxurious spa with own-brand organic products.The four-star Axel Guldsmeden is the environmentally friendly choice for a visit to Copenhagen – all products, food & drink, furnishings and services either organic, fair-trade or both. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Axel Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing