We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and cool with a few "buts"...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Ranked #19 of 118 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Agreed that this hotel has many positives - friendly staff (although the one could not find our reservation and that was a bit stressful!), nice food (beware...no dinner available on Sunday nights), comfy beds, nice duvets, close to central station, relaxing, comfortable and slightly exotic atmosphere, nice bath products. Yes, it is noisy at night if you are on the street side(ask for a room on the quieter back side) and the delivery trucks start early. Towels not particularly "fluffy" or absorbent and lack of a bath matt...must have been forgotten. Rooms are no smaller than any other European hotel...our room had a closet nook with hanging space so plenty of luggage space plus a desk and a bench for sitting. Really nice little lounge/reception with access to a computer. All in all, would stay again but in a quieter room.

Room Tip: Rooms not on the main street are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeslieJV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,604)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

847 - 853 of 1,604 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2012

This boutique hotel has many positives: friendly staff, quick taxi service, good breakfasts and a comfortable bed. Loved the delicate curtains and seashell wraps on the four poster bed. However form did not fit function: bathroom sink was a big granite bowl which was misaligned with the faucet, a friend's room had a bathtub at the foot of the bed with a frame that caught his wife's toe while moving about, internet was not reliable, and the NOISE made sleeping impossible. Loud drunks on the street, a band that played until 5 AM on a Saturday night, delivery trucks started at 6 AM with lifts and banging of cargo in the shell of metal trucks. And, lose carpets in the hallways skimmed along with my roller bag making a heep of carpet to straighten. Only one small elevator.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PLonsbary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I love "Bio/Eco/Organic" products and accomodation, this hotel defintely fulfills my expectation.
Good organic food, lovely exotic rooms and friendly personnel.
I had a problem with one room, i found it not very well cleaned.
But they promptely changed my room into another bigger one, a wonderful little suite. With some free gifts (their organic cleasing products + chocolate :) ).
I'll be there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelissaMauri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Lovely and helpful staff, quite good breakfast with LOTS of coffee. Location is convenient, though if you walk in the wrong direction it's not very nice. Room is small with little place to put your things - we had a 5 day stay and had to keep one suitcase open to use as a drawer. Bathroom is small, not enough room on the sink for two people's things. Everything is organic, including towels that barely work. Shower pressure is minimal; no place to put a bar of soap. Temperature control is difficult - for us, overheated (we kept windows open even with the heat off). Would recommend as safe, clean, reasonably priced, but not if you're looking for space and higher end comfort.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janniemax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed here recently and loved it. Wonderful futon style fluffy comfortable beds (despite the single doonas as is everywhere in Denmark), great organic products, delicious breakfasts, great room with balcony (had a superior room) nice little bar and comfortable seating area in foyer, great location. The service can be a bit abrupt at times and not as knowledgable about the hotel as should be. After a stressful trip we were very grateful to be staying at at a 'spa' style hotel and booked a massage on arrival. It took 3 days to get a reservation so were very much looking forward to it. I have to say this was the worst massage we had ever had in our lives and with a therapist with an extremely bad attitude. When asked if she could please go harder (as I couldn't feel her hands on me!) was told that she couldn't as she had a full day ahead with clients and her hands would get too sore. At 910 krona (over $150 aud) shouldn't I expect 100pc service? I actually wonder whether this therapist was even trained properly. I left the 'spa' still stiff and sore with no effect, just so angry. Not quite what I was expecting at a spa hotel where this should have been a priority service. Perhaps they should consider fitter more qualified therapists and rotate them so they don't get so tired. I had a morning appt so can't imagine the afternoon ones. Very very disappointing experience that ruined my lovely hotel experience.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Nice hotel, nice location. Very central can be reached on foot from the central train station easily. rooms are very small or beds are not the comfiest though. Stayed in hotels that have similar quality for less but Copenhagen is an expensive city, so still recommended. Liked the organic / natural theme.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank evawie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Pros,
Close to train station,
Beds,
Schampoo,conditioner,

Cons,
Extra fee if you pay with credit card
Elevator slow,
Long check out time, understaffed
Long check in time, understaffed.
NO WATER PRESSURE, ( stayed top floor)

Didnt try the brekafast, or morgon mad, beacause to crowded on saturday.
So so value, its not cheap.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicklas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,742 reviews
Outer Vesterbro
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Babette Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Inner Vesterbro
First Hotel Mayfair
First Hotel Mayfair
#29 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,192 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Skt. Petri
Skt. Petri
#7 of 118 in Copenhagen
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels

Address: Helgolandsgade 11, Copenhagen 1653, Denmark
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Copenhagen
#4 Spa Hotel in Copenhagen
#7 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#9 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range: $132 - $412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Axel Guldsmeden is an experience of charm and style, and the best night’s sleep you will find in inner Copenhagen. Situated in the heart of Vesterbro, Axel has 129 rooms, conference facilities, an organic brunch & evening restaurant and a luxurious spa with own-brand organic products.The four-star Axel Guldsmeden is the environmentally friendly choice for a visit to Copenhagen – all products, food & drink, furnishings and services either organic, fair-trade or both. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Axel Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing