We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay July 2012”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Ranked #15 of 118 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Hi,

We spent 3 lovely nights at this hotel in July 2012 and can recommend it highly to anyone looking for a clean, charming and well located boutique style hotel in Copenhagen. The beds are very comfortable, the bathrooms are clean and nicely designed. The whole atmosphere invites to a relaxing stay, definitely inspired by a spa hotel in Bali.

Staff is very friendly, and Malene was an absolute star with her smily and friendly attitude. Breakfast was also great!!

We will come here again.

All the best,

Stephanie (DK) and Christopher ( NO)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christopher V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,542)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

841 - 847 of 1,542 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2012

We had a small double which was very cute, lovely decor and well maintained. High level of cleanliness and very quiet saying we were so close to central Copenhagen.

Perfect location to walk around the city and easily accessible from the train station.

My one problem with the hotel was the bathroom - although it looked very boutique and stylish, it was slightly impractical with the shower head being connected to the bath raps, but with no means of putting it on the wall. This was particulalry tough for me as I was recovering from shoulder surgery and can't use one arm to life up the shower head to go over my head, therefore couldn't wash my hair! But apart from the the hotel was lovely.

Loved the free apples provided every morning by the door, as breakfast was very expensive, we enjoyed these very much!

For the money it costs, I think breakfast should definitely be included in the price

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

this is a moderate size hotel a 5 minute walk from the central train station and thus close to the airport train and many of the tourist sites. the street is somewhat sleasy but safe. the staff were friendly but seemed always busy. the common areas were nice but small for the number of guests. rooms were also smallish but clean. the food was overpriced tho the restuarant atmosphere pleasant.

Room Tip: pick a room on a higher floor away from the street. those facing the street are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank love2travel4242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We stayed here for a weekend and had a pleasent stay. The hotel has a good atmosphere, thanks to a great back yard and a layid back personel. The only downs was that the room was tiny and the hotel a bit worn down. In my opinion entrance to the spa and breakfast should have been included in the price. Especially when the breakfast, which cost almost the same as a dinner, was of the simpler kind.

All in all we liked the hotel, but we find it to expencive compared to the standard.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betts_Draper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Nice hotel, great location and common space. Small bathrooms and somewhat small rooms. They charge a lot though and will nickle and dime some things. Very Eco-friendly. It can be a bit noisy if you are fronting the street. Long and loud 5am argument outside our room.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davedrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed two separate nights here in two different rooms. Both nights had its plus and minus, but overall, we were happy with what we got with the rates we paid. We loved the clean, modern, cozy design of the hotel. It's location is exceptionally convenient for tourists. It's only about 3 minutes walk from the Central Train Station with the easiest access for transportation (train & buses) within the city or out of town. Then another couple of minutes, it's Tivoli Amusement Park, and another couple of minutes you'll reach the popular mile-long walking street. There are lots of restaurants along the walking street you can choose from or even on any one block close to the hotel. The service of the staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful, very pleasant. The hotel also offers free coffee for patrons during the day + free wi-fi throughout the hotel and guest rooms. On our first night, we stayed on the 2nd floor in a standard room with a 4-post bed. I was aware that the rooms are small here from the reviews but it still was a bit disappointing to find that the room was indeed very small. No more than 12 sq. m including the bathroom. However, it was nicely decorated with big windows,very clean with everything you'll need. Since we only outside most of the time, it didn't bother us that much that the room wasn't too spacious. When we checked out the next morning, we asked for a quieter room because we could hear people talk on the street on and off during our sleep. Upon our return for our second night stay, we got a room on the top floor on the furthest end of the hallway. They did try their best to make our stay more comfortable. Because of the slanted roof top, we got a bed without the 4-post. It immediately made our room look more spacious. In the middle of the night, I could here loud noises of people dragging things on the cobble-stone sidewalks. I read from the review that there are garbage truck clearing out garbage in early morning like 4 am. Thank goodness we were on the top floor and we didn't have the windows open, so it didn't interrupt our sleep much. Also, the street is filled with hotels and there are many travelers dragging their luggage along the street to get to the Central Station as well. All in all, we enjoyed our stay at this hotel but would not recommend it to people that are big-built. They probably have trouble getting in and out of the tiny bathroom.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms that face the inner garden and on a higher floor. This can ensure you get a quiet nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank omo_hk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Wonderful service, unique ambience and great breakfast. My best tip in Copenhagen!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ingrid L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,550 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,034 reviews
Outer Vesterbro
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#4 of 118 in Copenhagen
318 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#11 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,325 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Kong Arthur
Hotel Kong Arthur
#13 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels

Address: Helgolandsgade 11, Copenhagen 1653, Denmark
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Copenhagen
#3 Spa Hotel in Copenhagen
#7 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#9 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
#20 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range: $155 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Axel Guldsmeden is an experience of charm and style, and the best night’s sleep you will find in inner Copenhagen. Situated in the heart of Vesterbro, Axel has 129 rooms, conference facilities, an organic brunch & evening restaurant and a luxurious spa with own-brand organic products.The four-star Axel Guldsmeden is the environmentally friendly choice for a visit to Copenhagen – all products, food & drink, furnishings and services either organic, fair-trade or both. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Axel Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing