We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Walk to Central Station”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Ranked #15 of 118 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Hotel is a short walk from Central Station. Copenhagen is an expensive city to visit so hotel rate is comparable to other hotels in surrounding area. Room is small but is typical for Europe. They are very into being green so don't expect thick absorbent towels. Think natural cotton thin bath and hand towels that is easy to clean and refill containers for shampoo and conditioner. The service is friendly and we received a good recommendation for dinner. Only negative which is no fault of the hotel, but typical of the location, is very early morning and noisy trash pickup everyday. All hotels in the area will have this problem.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,520)
There are newer reviews for Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

852 - 858 of 1,520 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2012

Good location and friendly staff but I expected a bit more for the price. Very close to Central station which makes it ideal for trips out. Stay away from Istergade at the station end as its bit seedy with Sex shops and dodgy characters. Best to stick to Vesterbrogade. Didn't try the breakfast as nearly 20 quid seems way over the top. Best to use the bakers in the station or in the tourist office. Great pastries and coffee. The organic theme is interesting but a bit wearing after a few days. The sackcloth towels weren't great for a hotel costing 125 quid a night. fantastic restaurant Brasserie Degas a five minute walk away. Small rooms but pleasant. Bathroom not up to much.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank poolegw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

The location is not ideal, with rather long walking distances to the metro system and the city centre. The nearby red light district made my two nights a noisy experience. An unannounced DK160 per person per breakfast is a total rippoff, and an unpleasant experience, as the quality was below average. The bathroom was cold and had very little pressure on the line. The main hall looks nice , but whats the point if the bar is not open on a sunday at 21h anyway?
I was not impressed and am unhappy about the overall experience. I will be looking for better alternatives when visiting Copenhagen next time.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
4  Thank sjch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

This hotel seems nice at first, but is way too expensive for what you get.

The bathrooms are dark and freezing, with really cold stone floors. The showers have little pressure and it takes a long time to find a good temperature with the so-called romantic, but highly unpractical, separated hot and cold handles. The "home-made" shampoo just made my hair really fatty. Towels are supposed to be organic, but are more like cheap kitchen towels. Recycled extremely thin toilet paper to save money for them, but charge you for being organic.

NOTE: The breakfast is NOT included, and they don't tell you about it, but charge 160 kr per person per meal. Don't eat there!!

Location is not very good, as it is in the middle of the red-light district, and you have to cross through the unpleasant railway area to get to the town. It is fairly far from down town, although close to the Tivoli. The bar closes early, and you can expect a late check in if you arrive early in town.

I would not recommend to stay here if you go to Copenhagen.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Ingria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 3, 2012

Dear Ms. Ingria,
You reacted very strongly to the fact that breakfast was not included in your booking, and wrote to us that an otherwise excellent experience was ruined by this.

But the situation is, as explained to you in detail, that breakfast at the Guldsmeden hotels is an optional extra, and you have the possibility of booking it in advance when booking your stay. It is also possible to book it at the hotel, and it is possible to choose not to have breakfast at the hotel, so all options are open.
When booking, you did not choose to book breakfast. You decided to have breakfast in-house anyway, which of course was added to your bill upon check-out.
We always mention the optional extra breakfast when checking guests in, and really cannot have done more to help you take an informed decision.

We feel that your anger towards us in this matter is completely unreasonable, and that you furthermore decide to find fault with a number of other things, that were – according to your own words in our mail correspondence yesterday – not an issue before, is very hard for us to understand.
The price of our breakfast buffet is really not unreasonable: all our breakfast items are handpicked from the very best organic suppliers, and – as is remarked upon by many other reviewers – is a unique and varied experience of high-quality, 100% organic food. And once again – it is optional.

As for your other complaints, which in your own words have been formulated through your resentment at the breakfast debacle, we can briefly respond: our location is excellent, no more than 10 minutes walk from the city centre, along a busy and pleasant main street with lots of shops and restaurants. The red-light district is quite minimal, and located to one easily avoided side of the hotel. Towels are not "supposed" to be organic – they are organic. And fairtrade and certified. Washed in-house with sustainable detergents, and dried on a clothes-line in the open air, for minimal energy consumption. Toilet paper is recycled and sustainable, and we could easily find a cheaper option, if money was was our priority.

Best from the Axel Hotel Guldsmeden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

I am sitting in the Axel G (the latter part of the hotel name being not intuitive) writing this on their free wifi. I would rather be spending money in their bar, but it appears there is no one around who can mix any of the -- rather simple -- cocktails loudly advertised in the lobby. And I am not the only frustrated patron prematurely in their room; I know this because I witnessed another guest trying to explain to the intransigent front desk how a caipirinha was made.

Overall, the Axel hides a lot of suboptimal features behind its organic credentials. The rooms are screaming for sound-proofing as we are in room 503 and can hear every movement of the elevator as if it was in our room. The room is a good size but the bathroom is ridiculously tiny and dark, with no counter space and a shower with no door which soaks a good part of the remainder of the room. The towels are brilliant if you lack a loofah and want something hard enough to remove dead skin, but are much less amusing on our 3rd night when we are already raw from their burlap texture.

Breakfast is plentiful and free but not nearly as healthy as I would have expected with loads of bread but almost no fruit or yoghurt and bottled juice rather than freshly squeezed, which was a big surprise.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank LondonFlychick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at the Axel Guldsmeden hotel in Copenhagen. I had been tempted by The Nimb, the Palace, the Grand and the Square, but thankfully chose this lovely quiet hotel off the main street area. All of the above hotels had mass construction outside, so it was a pleasure to enjoy the oasis that was the Axel! The staff were wonderful and could not have done enough. I recommend you upgrade to a superior room as there is sooo much space (something that is complained about in other Copenhagen hotels). The organic breakfast is without a doubt, outstanding. At first I wasn't sure as I'm not one of the 'green' folk but the breakfast was filling and tasty without the fatty after tastes that so many hotel breakfasts offer. We had such an amazing weekend and would highly recommend this hotel!

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank SJGillett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

I stayed here on my first visit to Copenhagen in 2010.Copenhagen is not your type of noisy city, but the Axel makes the stay even more serene. Its close to the Train station and the famous Ripley's and all that makes Copenhagen unique. The best part, despite the small rooms, are their Organic food and soaps. Staff are gentle and welcoming, and they take health and safety seriously...This is a good place worth staying...and with their strong emphasis on organic items, it is certainly healthy too! I only got to eat breakfast, but it was lovely and certainly worth it.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulnairobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AxelCopenhagen, Public Relations Manager at Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2012

Dear guest,
Thank you for your review, we appreciate hearing from all of you who have spent time with us, and really look forward to seeing you again.
Make sure to book on our own website next time, where you can join our Friends of the Family bonus programme, giving you access to all the best rates and offers.
Best from all of us at Hotel Guldsmeden.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#4 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,482 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,983 reviews
Outer Vesterbro
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#10 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,312 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#3 of 118 in Copenhagen
293 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Babette Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels

Address: Helgolandsgade 11, Copenhagen 1653, Denmark
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Copenhagen
#3 Spa Hotel in Copenhagen
#7 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#9 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
#20 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range: $160 - $459 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Axel Guldsmeden is an experience of charm and style, and the best night’s sleep you will find in inner Copenhagen. Situated in the heart of Vesterbro, Axel has 129 rooms, conference facilities, an organic brunch & evening restaurant and a luxurious spa with own-brand organic products.The four-star Axel Guldsmeden is the environmentally friendly choice for a visit to Copenhagen – all products, food & drink, furnishings and services either organic, fair-trade or both. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Axel Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing