We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best affordable hotel in CPH”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Ranked #12 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Odense, Fyn, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best affordable hotel in CPH”
Reviewed January 31, 2012

I've stayed at this place several times on business trips to Copenhagen. I don't know how they do it at the rates they charge, but these guys just get everything right. Comfort, delicious food, unique atmosphere, friendly and attentive staff. I don't even look for other hotels in CPH now.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    576
    612
    224
    70
    20
See reviews for
163
759
106
249
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2012

nice cosy hotel, rooms are clean and nice, service is ok.

Room Tip: some rooms has balcony, ask for that
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Hotel located very close to central station, to Tivoli Gardens and citycenter.

Great rooms in balinese style.

We rent bikes daily for 25€ each per day! Solo cool!

Great breakfast with vanilla yogurt and manu differnt types of musli!

Eteri day a basket full of apples WAS available at the entrance for the guest!

Shampoo, body lotion and body shampoo fantastic t aste.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gigidiloreto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

We stayed at Axel for four nights around the middle of a month long trip including six four star hotels around northern Europe. While Axel's environmental credentials might be admirable some aspects affect practicality in limiting basic services that are important to travelers. A decent sized bathroom with a handbasin capable of holding enough water to wash your face, or decent water pressure in the shower, or towels capable of drying yourself when out might impede the Balinese or environmental themes, but also compromise practicality. While the food might be organic simply keeping hot dishes from going cold also seems a challenge incompatible with environmental concerns. Overall I think the comments from others about the hotel having the feel of a hostel are valid. We found the service to be a bit patchy, possibly due to the number of staff who seem to rotate through important roles. Over four days I don't think we ever saw the same person on the reception desk twice leaving guests with the overall impression of a student run hostel. Axel needs to decide whether it wants to be a mid-range luxury hotel or an environmental theme park, it can't be both.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank melbster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AxelCopenhagen, Public Relations Manager at Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels, responded to this review, January 20, 2012
Dear melbster,
we are sorry to hear that you were not entirely happy with your stay at the Axel, but we think it is fair to say that many of your complaints stem from your own personal preferences, and perhaps not enough knowledge of the Guldsmeden commitment to sustainability.
We have noticed that there are guests who react strongly to our towels, despite the fact that they in fact have better drying qualities than the traditional fluffy ones - but old habits die hard, and change can be a challenge.
We intend to persist with our innovative approach, of which the towels are an example: they are designed and produced for us in certified organic cotton, by a fairtrade company, washed in-house in our low-energy washing machines, with environmentally friendly detergents without chemicals or pollutants. For the health of our colleagues, our guests and our environment. This is the approach that we have towards all our processes, and not overheating our excellent organic food, thereby losing essential vitamins and nutrients, is another.
Regarding our staff - the reception staff consists of a handful of long-time, committed people, and we honestly have a hard time believing that you did not see the same face twice - having stayed here for 4 days, this is actually not even possible, there´s just not that many of us..
But we are a hotel group with a difference, in that we do not wear uniforms or other official visuals, and the atmosphere is therefore more familial and casual than in traditional chain hotels. If one is more used to the generic hotel experience, this can tend to confuse the guest - but we can assure you, that our warm and personal service is a source of pride to us.
Best from all of us at Axel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2012

This is a very nice hotel located in the heart of Copenhagen.It is a 5 minute walk to Radhuspladsen ,Tivoli Gardens and the Central Station. The hotel is bright and modern,with a lot of nice decorative touches.

Our room was clean and well apointed,and had a lovely balcony. The hotel staff were always helpfull and friendly. We arrived early with 5 children but the hotel had no problem checking us in.The food in the main restraunt has a distinctly asian feel and was very good. Breakfast is a modern twist on traditional Scandinavian fayre. The hotel has a strong eco-friendly vibe which more hotels should copy.

I did not try the spa but my wife said it was excellent.maybe next time...

Overall this is an excellent hotel and the price was extremely reasonable for what we got,I do not think you will be dissapointed if you book this hotel.

Room Tip: If you can afford it get a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joscco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

Stayed again at Axel this weekend with my boyfriend and got a superb Penthouse Suite by surprise - the hotel upgraded us from a junior suite at no additional price. That was a real treat!! The room we got was absolutely stunning, with a roof terrace and jaccuzi running 24 hrs a day. A morning bath on the roof was terrific. Two years ago we stayed at the penthouse suite at D'Anglaiterre which is considered to be Danmark's best hotel (it is closed for rennovation now) and how surprised we were to discover that the PS at Axel is better in terms of comfort, cleanness, soul and ambience. I really love all these wonderful details and touch of Asian style. Truly a hotel with a heart and pride. And what a value for money. We also use the spa and it was great. Love Axel and will definitely return - again.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Urma_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2012

We went to Copenhagen for a long weekend in July to see Take That in concert. The hotel is very convienent for the main train station and close to several bus routes. The spa/swimming pool (in the basement) was unfortunately closed when we were there due to some torrential rain the week before which caused localised flooding, shame because we were looking forward to using the facilities. Our room was street facing but high enough up not to be disturbed by street noise. The room was very comfortable and clean. We had a large bath in the room and a separate wet room.Good quality toilettries. My only complaints about the room were that the TV cannnot be viewed from bed althoguh there was a comfy sofa to sit on and when showering it was impossible not to soak most of the bathroom floor. Also it would be nice to have somewhere to store your toilet bags. We did not eat breakfast at the hotel so cannot comment on the food but it looked very nice but we did take complimentary coffees in the garden area. We chose to utilise local restuarants and dine al fresco and there are severall good restaurants very close. The staff were helpful and friendly. A nice hotel that I would happily recommend to friends. One tip - get a public transport travel ticket , extremely good value for money as it also includes the water buses. Overall we had a delightful stay in Copenhagen.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,933 reviews
Outer Vesterbro
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#4 of 117 in Copenhagen
2,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#11 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,297 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#3 of 117 in Copenhagen
261 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#25 of 117 in Copenhagen
4,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels

Property: Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Address: Helgolandsgade 11, Copenhagen 1653, Denmark
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Copenhagen
#2 Spa Hotel in Copenhagen
#7 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#9 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
#20 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Axel Guldsmeden is an experience of charm and style, and the best night’s sleep you will find in inner Copenhagen. Situated in the heart of Vesterbro, Axel has 129 rooms, conference facilities, an organic brunch & evening restaurant and a luxurious spa with own-brand organic products.The four-star Axel Guldsmeden is the environmentally friendly choice for a visit to Copenhagen – all products, food & drink, furnishings and services either organic, fair-trade or both. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Axel Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing