We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value in a very pleasant hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Ranked #13 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
UK
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Good value in a very pleasant hotel”
Reviewed September 20, 2011

There is a lovely 'independent' or 'indie' feel to what the Bertram's group are doing with their hotels. Thus, the Axel hotel is small enough to feel like the hotel's staff care about you. My Danish friends recommended this hotel because it's simply both comfortable and aesthetically pleasing without being OTT. I booked a superior single room for 4 nights and loved the lay-out of the room, with its adjoining balcony. The materials used in the hotel are simple, great quality and are a step in the right direction for hotels. Breakfast is expensive but is very, very good.

Yes, this hotel is situated in the red light district beside Central Station but it is really unthreatening. If you don't like the look of a few down-and-out's and hookers then your problem is general anxiety about you own life and lack of security. This area is safe and has a proper urban regeneration programme in place unlike quite a few cities I have visited. Nearby, there are many top-notch cafes and restaurants. Just ask at the hotel.

The hotel is well served for transport.

Would I come back? Yes and next time i want to try the spa.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    569
    603
    223
    70
    20
See reviews for
158
754
102
246
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Although it might not be as easy as one thinks to find it in a first place, comming from the main train station, one falls in love with the hotel itself. A very cozy atmosphere welcomes you to a small reception where you are greeted and given your room-key (which is made out of wood!!!). The rooms are very cute and warm and the bathrooms are amazing. The best of the hotel is yet to come: when night falls, you are welcomed to try an organic tea in the interior garden (blanket included) to relax, unwind and count the stars in the sky.

An overall magical experience which includes free WiFi to its guests, a five-star service, an amazing restaurant, a Spa option and a very good idea of Copenhaguen, not only with the location (5 mins walking to Tivoli Gardens) but also the warm-hearted staff.

Recommendable for anyone!!

Room Tip: Rooms with interior garden views are more affordable and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mx_pie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Really nice hotel quite close to the Main railway station. Doesnt look much from the outside but dont be put off

Friendly staff on reception and bar

Hotel is very clean and the rooms are decorated in an unusual way, which is a mixture of Nordic and environmental

Rooms are clean spacious and the bathrooms have all the facilites what you would expect

Breakfast is a mixture of all types of contental food

Hotel is slightly out of the city center but withing walking distance of Tivolli anf the shops

A really nice hotel would recomend it to anyone staying in Copenhagen

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cpfc1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo Norway
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

This place was booked for me on a recent business trip. Its located very centrally just some minutes walk from the central station. Unfortunately its on the wrong side of the station were drug dealers and hookers are in the streets just around the corner. Unlike a previous reviewer writes i was not met in the door but had to ring the doorbell to even be let in which i usually only experience during nighttime.

The hotel is in a cozy boutiqe style and all organic. The room was average size with a good bed but unfortunately no aircondition. Since it was really hot i had to keep the windows open and bear with the street noise. So try to get a room towards the back if you stay here during summer time. I asked for an iron to be brought to my room in the evening but had to wait for over half an hour since they were so busy in the reception.

Breakfast was actually good with a really tasty serrano style smoked ham.

In overall it is an OK hotel but not for for my taste since i value sleep quality and business traveler features like free internet and a work desk high. This hotel is getting excellent reviews from new Tripadvisor contributors and average reviews from experienced contributors and is in my opinion overrated...!?!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gode_Reisetips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

We went there as a part of our honeymoon holidays and we did not regret it. First, we had booked a Superior room and we got upgraded to the penthouse without mentionning that we were in our honeymoon. The view was outstanding from the terrasse and every detail in the room was perfect. The next day we enjoyed the nice breakfast in the courtyard. Staff was so firendly I couldnt belive it. I will recommend this hotel to people coming to Copenhagen and will return again myself.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minilie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avezzano, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

beautiful hotel, very kind employs, good position, absolutely no problem with sexy bar. not very clean room, not many tourist informations, if you need something except a taxi, for example a bike different from the type they offer, do it yourself, and restricted food offering. it was a problem to have a scrambled egg without hot pepper, but a kind girl offered us a soft boiled egg.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saralaconi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

We loved our stay and loved it because the hotel is all "Bio", the "in" word in Scandinavia - ecological, organic, and Balinese! Even the room card key is ecological and the lighting dim and the breakfast superb. Unfortunately they had made an over booking so we were downgraded to a standard double with breakfast offered free for 4 nights and with some insistence even a dinner free.(tapas and lovely for us vegios) The restaurant is run by a very dynamic and friendly woman, the friendliest in the hotel!
So after a hard day out touristing it is a great place to come back to relax in and great location. The standard double on the 5th floor (we had asked specially when we saw the reviews of noisy downstairs rooms) was very spacious, table and couch included. Funnily they provide 2 single doonas on the double beds!

Room Tip: Ask for room not on ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#7 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,888 reviews
Outer Vesterbro
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#4 of 117 in Copenhagen
2,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#3 of 117 in Copenhagen
234 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#10 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels

Property: Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Address: Helgolandsgade 11, Copenhagen 1653, Denmark
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Copenhagen
#2 Spa Hotel in Copenhagen
#7 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#9 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
#20 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Axel Guldsmeden is an experience of charm and style, and the best night’s sleep you will find in inner Copenhagen. Situated in the heart of Vesterbro, Axel has 129 rooms, conference facilities, an organic brunch & evening restaurant and a luxurious spa with own-brand organic products.The four-star Axel Guldsmeden is the environmentally friendly choice for a visit to Copenhagen – all products, food & drink, furnishings and services either organic, fair-trade or both. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Axel Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing