We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what I needed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Ranked #13 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Exactly what I needed”
Reviewed September 2, 2011

We went there as a part of our honeymoon holidays and we did not regret it. First, we had booked a Superior room and we got upgraded to the penthouse without mentionning that we were in our honeymoon. The view was outstanding from the terrasse and every detail in the room was perfect. The next day we enjoyed the nice breakfast in the courtyard. Staff was so firendly I couldnt belive it. I will recommend this hotel to people coming to Copenhagen and will return again myself.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minilie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    554
    592
    220
    68
    19
See reviews for
157
735
99
242
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Avezzano, Italy
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

beautiful hotel, very kind employs, good position, absolutely no problem with sexy bar. not very clean room, not many tourist informations, if you need something except a taxi, for example a bike different from the type they offer, do it yourself, and restricted food offering. it was a problem to have a scrambled egg without hot pepper, but a kind girl offered us a soft boiled egg.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saralaconi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

We loved our stay and loved it because the hotel is all "Bio", the "in" word in Scandinavia - ecological, organic, and Balinese! Even the room card key is ecological and the lighting dim and the breakfast superb. Unfortunately they had made an over booking so we were downgraded to a standard double with breakfast offered free for 4 nights and with some insistence even a dinner free.(tapas and lovely for us vegios) The restaurant is run by a very dynamic and friendly woman, the friendliest in the hotel!
So after a hard day out touristing it is a great place to come back to relax in and great location. The standard double on the 5th floor (we had asked specially when we saw the reviews of noisy downstairs rooms) was very spacious, table and couch included. Funnily they provide 2 single doonas on the double beds!

Room Tip: Ask for room not on ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Pete Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

Having stayed at over 10 Copenhagen hotels over the past decade with my extensive travels required with business in Europe, I discovered AXEL Guldsmeden a couple of years ago and after 5 stays with them have come to the conclusion I will never stay at another hotel in Copenhagen, and for the first time actually felt strongly enough about a hotel that it is too uniquely positive not to share with others and felt compelled to write about it here.

It is extremely unique if not impossible to find a hotel that combines the unique character of trendy atmosphere with style, but also not coming across as either cold and intimidating unless one (or the doorman!) is wearing the latest Armani jacket. The AXEL Guldsmeden somehow manages to combine both uniqueness and character in it's decor self described as "Balinese" syle with many of the furnishings imported from the south Pacific with the cozy atmosphere of the small, yet possibly the friendliest bar in Copenhagen where strangers become part of the family within minutes and the Danish feel to the the courtyard with it's comfortable loungers to sit and enjoy a drink or breakfast, weather permitting of course it IS Copenhagen!

Unlike many trendy, cool hotels that try too hard to be cool and trendy, AXEL pulls it off with down to earth reception and service staff, supplemented by the ever present seemingly presence of Mikael and Kim to attend to guests needs almost in an anticipatory mode of guests needs, not from a corporate hotel handbook! I arrived on a very uniquely hot day in early July and after a rather short walk from the central station (about 5-10 min) carrying 3 weeks travel worth of business items and suitcase they immediately had a big welcome at the door and assisted with bags up the few steps, followed with a glass of cold water on the counter for me before I could even sign my name on the registration!

The rooms are light and clean, with a very omni present ecological feel to them without sacrificing any of the comfort. The superior deluxe rooms are definitely worth the extra money, as they come with small balcony which is nice to have not only windows that open but also a nice little sitting area on the balcony to get some fresh air, which is nice touch! The bar in the evening and surrounding small yet, Danish cozy lobby is great for reading or catching up on emails with fresh organic cocktails meticulously made by Mikael to suit the guests individual tastes. Just sitting at the bar for an hour I met retired Americans planning to head on a cruise the next day (the one was enjoying the atmosphere so much he came back down after he put his wife to bed claiming "jet lag" ha ha, a artist from Aarhus, some Norwegians enjoying relatively inexpensive weekend in Copenhagen and well, it all flowed beautifully together - strangers made to feel a sense of belonging!

It is a welcoming feel in casual clothes or business suit, regardless, the staff make everyone feel special and unlike some hotel bars that are can be too trendy or intimidating, the AXEL bar and lobby lounge area was cozy whether one is 21 or 61 (in my case closer to the latter!)...with no pretentious attitudes and with the property small enough that one feels within moments as if they are in a living room with friends, not the isolation and coldness that tends to prevail at most hotels, big or small, without feeling like they are on top of you all the time.

The breakfast buffet is as with rest of hotel, completely organic and how refreshing to actually eat food that you can taste and feel good about to kick start the day. The location is very central and short walk to most of Copenhagen key sites and shopping...and although the restaurant is I believe now closed in evening and lunchtime there are a multitude of great spots within a 5-10 min walk in what may be the safest big city in the world.

The only possible downside is there is no air conditioning, well, in Copenhagen this is a factor maybe 5 days a year, so not a big deal as the evenings are cool for sleeping even in summer "heat"...and it would be nice to have iron and ironing board in the room and perhaps easier access to ice for the room, but neither of the last points took more than 5 minutes for the ever pleasing AXEL staff to fulfill.

As I also found out - though a chance meeting actually - the owner is working on site and very hands on with all aspects, and clearly one can see the radiant attitude starts here and is the philosophy of the hotel, although she does not advertise she is the owner, which is nice as well or does anything fall off with consistency when she is not in view! So, if you prefer to have a typical cookie cutter chain standardised or uber trendy but cold hotels if you like in Copenhagen there are many, but if you want something cozy and comfortable with REAL people you will remember and cherish, and no doubt return, I can highly recommend the AXEL!

Room Tip: Spend the extra for superior double room with balcony....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

We spent a week end in Copenhagen and in Axel Hotel Guldsmeden. Room was clean (and i mean clean) and nicely decorated. People at the Reception friendly and helpful. Location is superb.

Only thing to remember when making the booking is that if you are sensitive for a street noise, ask a room not facing the street; there is a quite garden side as well.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arks2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Stayed here two nights and overall I was very satisfied with the Axel especially when considering the price... My room was pretty small but it was a single. The internet worked great and everything in the room was fine. And the breakfast while pricey by US standards (but what isn't in Scandinavia) was really good..

Service I thought was firendly although at times slow as they were overwhelmed. I'm going to give it 3 stars but I'd really like to give it 3 1/2.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FLL_954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

This hotel was a terrific hotel, location was close to the train station. However you didn't want to venture in the other direct, the neighborhood was a little seedy.
The room was good size and comfortable. They are organic, so don't expect plush towels in the bathroom. We loved the bath products an even bought some to bring home. Would definitely stay there again

Room Tip: you might want to get a room on the higher floors if you are in the front on the building there is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doramorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,821 reviews
Outer Vesterbro
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#5 of 116 in Copenhagen
2,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#3 of 116 in Copenhagen
203 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#10 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,264 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
First Hotel Mayfair
First Hotel Mayfair
#26 of 116 in Copenhagen
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels

Property: Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Address: Helgolandsgade 11, Copenhagen 1653, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Copenhagen
#2 Spa Hotel in Copenhagen
#7 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#9 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
#20 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Axel Guldsmeden is an experience of charm and style, and the best night’s sleep you will find in inner Copenhagen. Situated in the heart of Vesterbro, Axel has 129 rooms, conference facilities, an organic brunch & evening restaurant and a luxurious spa with own-brand organic products.The four-star Axel Guldsmeden is the environmentally friendly choice for a visit to Copenhagen – all products, food & drink, furnishings and services either organic, fair-trade or both. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Axel Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing