We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to train station, nice hotel, but questionable neighborhood” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Copenhagen Star Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Copenhagen Star Hotel
Ranked #69 of 114 Hotels in Copenhagen
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Close to train station, nice hotel, but questionable neighborhood”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Our family of 6 stayed in the family suite for one night. We chose this hotel as it is literally one block from the train station and we had to catch an early train to the airport. It was also within walking distance to some popular Copenhagen tourist sites and buses. The room was clean and the beds more comfortable than most. The staff was friendly and very helpful. We had free wifi access which worked up to a certain hour. The drawbacks included a miniscule triangular shaped corner shower - so tiny that our kids barely fit- probably half the size of a cruise ship shower. Also, we asked for an early wakeup call that never came. The last drawback was the neighborhood: ladies-of-the-night and other characters were out and about starting early evening. We did not experience the bar noise that other reviewers mention, however our room faced a courtyard. We did not feel completely unsafe, but the location is not ideal for families.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank kcw531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

942 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    347
    330
    113
    69
See reviews for
179
315
69
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Male
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed there for 1 day and the hotel was nice ammenities good and its near the happening part of copenhagen and copen central station is 2 mins walking distance overall nice and the breakfast buffet is also nice

Room Tip: rooms are quiter with no aircon u dont need any as it s denmark
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank papai1432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quesnel, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

I found this place online and the price seemed reasonable, considering Copenhagen's hotel prices. It's a block from the main train station and accessible from the airport, so that's a selling feature. But it's also a half block from several bars that don't close until ~4am, so the street noise was pretty bothersome, even on a week night. As well, a hooker and her pimp stood outside across the street all night... The room itself was small, and the shower was no bigger than what we had on the cruise ship. On the plus side, of the eight or ten hotels in the vicinity, this one was the lowest price and highest rated. It's within walking distance of Tivoli Gardens, the hop on/hop off tour buses and the main shopping so that might be reason enough to pick it...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

Overnighted on the way back from Sweden and this was the perfect place to stay for one night. Super convenient to the station and very clean. Bathrooms are small but didn't bother us. The breakfast was great! Staff was nice and helpful with locked baggage storage too. Internet was hit and miss.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NijmegenGypsygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

I was a little bit unsure of this hotel because of the reviews on here but I needn't have worried. The hotel was clean, safe and with a really nice breakfast. Rooms and the central areas are relatively modern, and there is a nice courtyard to eat breakfast if you want to. The location is brilliant. It took me a whole 5 mins to walk there from the main train station, if that! Staff were incredibly friendly. I'd stay there again. I don't have low standards, and have stayed in 5 star hotels but for what you pay and the location, this is definitely worth the money. A few reviews have talked about prostitutes. I saw 5 over 4 days, and was absolutely ignored by everyone of them. The area isn't seedy however, it's pretty anonymous to be honest and there is a 7-11 on the corner. A good night's sleep and the showers were powerful; some people have complained about them but ours was fine and we were on the 5th floor so I might have expected problems with water pressure.

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor - absolutely zero noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 249Mel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

Just 5 mins walk to Central Station. There are 7-11 convenience store and a supermarket nearby. Room is clean but the toilet is a bit smelly. Still acceptable. I enjoyed the free Wi-Fi in room and lobby. The food variety of their buffet breakfast is good enough. There is no water heater in the room but their restaurant provide free hot water and coffee 24 hours. But they seems not refill the water so I experienced that I could fill the water in the afternoon but unable to do so at night. The staffs are very helpful and there is also left luggage service.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pansyhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

The only thing that is positive about this hotel is the smiling staff. But sadly that is not enough. Rooms are far from clean. The breakfast is below average. The internet connection is crap. Really small rooms, and almost no water pressure in the shower. These are all bad thing, but I just can't find anything good to write. The price was about dkk 700 pr night, and for that money you can do so much better in the same area.
And we saw two rats in the backyard!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank knuts1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Copenhagen hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Saga Hotel
Saga Hotel
#70 of 114 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Hotel Ansgar
Hotel Ansgar
#52 of 114 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Hotel Nebo
Hotel Nebo
#51 of 114 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Hotel Copenhagen Crown
Hotel Copenhagen Crown
#54 of 114 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Mercur Hotel
Copenhagen Mercur Hotel
#55 of 114 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#76 of 114 in Copenhagen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copenhagen Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copenhagen Star Hotel

Property: Copenhagen Star Hotel
Address: Colbjoernsensgade 13, Copenhagen 1652, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro , Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 114 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Copenhagen Star Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Copenhagen Star Hotel is situated just 100 meters from the Central Station, to which you can arrive to in only 12 minutes by train from the airport. You find yourself in the pulsating Vesterbro district, with a lot of cozy cafes and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Fastbooking and Priceline so you can book your Copenhagen Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norlandia Star Copenhagen
Hotel Norlandia Star

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing