We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Du Nord Copenhagen
Ranked #44 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
1 review
“Nice hotel.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

Location! Very near Kobenhavn central station and walking distance to Stroget etc. quality of breakfast buffet is acceptable. cons: Noisy neighbourhood. Morning noise from road construction that wake us up very early on the morning and night noise from sleazy dance clubs below. Ask for room away from main road.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fanney V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    297
    142
    27
    18
See reviews for
142
202
52
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

The hotel in Copenhagen was in a street with nightclubs. Patrons partied outside until daybreak. The room was reached with two people and luggage in a very small lift. There was no room left to swing a cat!
The room was small, but clean and comfortable. also well appointed. It was also far too hot for one of our party and we could see no way to lower the temperature. However we were there for one night only so didn't worry too much. The noise outside stopped another couple from sleeping.
It's a very nice, clean hotel in what I think is a dirty city. Breakfast was included and was limited, but adequate.
Tivoli Gardens is just a short walk away with few attractions for adults except the restaurants, but I suppose you have to say you've been there. It's expensive and overrated- i suggest you give it a look as you walk past.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnstod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, Cornwall
Level Contributor
130 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

We just got back from a long weekend here. We read the reviews before we went (but after we'd booked) and perhaps we can set some minds at rest. First, Copenhagen is having a Metro extension built, so for the next 5 years you're going to get disruption in most of the centre. However, they don't work at night and although they start at 7 we didn't find it too noisy - but it does mean you might not want to open the windows.

There was a little street noise on Saturday night until about 1 a.m. We took earplugs but we didn't need them - to be honest, we can get worse noise at home.

Staff were very friendly and breakfast was good. The rooms are bigger than most European rooms and ours had bath and shower.The one downside is that the breakfast room can't take all the guests at once - we were always down by 8 a.m. and had no problems getting a table, but at 8.30 it was very busy and some people had to wait.

You can walk to Kobenhavn main station inside ten minutes - it's two blocks - and around 40 minutes after getting our luggage at the airport we were checking in. There are a couple of nightclubs along the street and a sex shop round the corner but we felt safe and there was no problem walking around the district. We heard this area referred to as the red light district; Copenhagen doesn't really seem to have a definite red light district, and you'll find topless bars or table dancing clubs all over the place, but there isn't anything outside that would shock the average person.

There are plenty of places to eat nearby - a lot of Asian food, but also a good steakhouse on the north-east corner of the street and the city centre and Nyhavn are just a nice stroll away.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Istedgade are a little quieter than those fronting Colbjornsensgade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CrinklyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

pros:
location!
very near kobenhavn central station and walking distance to stroget etc.
quality of breakfast buffet is acceptable and starts at 630am.

cons:
noisy neighbourhood.
morning noise from road construction and night noise from sleazy dance clubs below.

recommendation:
ask for quiet room away from main road.
try the hot chocolate at breakfast.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Sweeteners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Legnano, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

I spent there 3 nights in August 2013, thanks to a special offer on the hotel website "stay 3 pay 2", including also breakfast (that could be very expensive if it’s not included in your hotel fee).
I chose a room with bathroom: it was pretty large and clean, there was also tea facility and free wifi.
The hotel is located very close to the central train station in Versterbro. I was told that, in the past, Vesterbro was a degraded area but now I haven't found it dangerous (even if in the street where the hotel is located there are 2 night clubs). Approved.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VeroT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

We arrived around 0830hrs to leave luggage but we provided with a very nice room immediately. The staff could not be more helpful, breakfast was all that one could ask or expect. The hotel is situated most conveniently being very close to the main railway station and within easy walking distance of many of the sights (and shops) of the city. We would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BaanSuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catwalk
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

If you're a low maintenance person who doesn't need luxurious accommodations for a short stay then this hotel will suit you. I was pleasantly surprised that I could check in about 1030 after an all night flight from the US.

I got a single room, which I learned all face the rear, quiet, side of the hotel. The bed, in typical euro fashion was squishy, lopsided and could stand to have the mattress turned once in awhile. Alas after a long day of sightseeing it was comfy.

The ensuite was a nice size, a bit larger than I was expecting. For my morning shower the hot and cold water kept fluctuating from scalding to freezing but I just had to keep adjusting the faucet. So heed warning if you are traveling with children. I never ran out of hot water. Great water pressure too. The hairdryer was powerful for a long haired girl who doesn't have all morning to stand under the dryer.

A nice added touch was having a portable fan in the room. Even though I didn't need it to keep cool, it was nice to keep the air moving around the room.

Breakfast was filling, with a nice selection of meats, cheeses, breads, cereal, fruit, granola, and hard boiled eggs. coffee, juice and water. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KingBugaloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
BEST WESTERN Hotel Hebron
BEST WESTERN Hotel Hebron
#17 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Scandic Webers
Scandic Webers
#56 of 116 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Star Hotel
Copenhagen Star Hotel
#69 of 116 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Comfort Hotel Vesterbro
Comfort Hotel Vesterbro
#29 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#75 of 116 in Copenhagen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Du Nord Copenhagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Du Nord Copenhagen

Property: Hotel Du Nord Copenhagen
Address: Colbjoernsensgade 14, Copenhagen 1652, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro , Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Du Nord Copenhagen 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Du Nord Copenhagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing