We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for insomniacs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Du Nord Copenhagen
Ranked #45 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fine for insomniacs”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Well, it is certainly central, just behind the main train station. Our room (two single beds) was clean, smart, a fair size. WiFi was straightforward. It wasn't particularly cheap but breakfast was included, and was acceptable (but the coffee from a machine was scalding hot and had no real taste). Having belatedly re-read some reviews about the noise, I asked for a room away from the street side but was told there were none for twin-bedded rooms). And so ... I didn't get to sleep until 4.30am - constant noise of loud men outside, plus some heavy machines being moved. No air-con on a hot summer's night, and the electric fan was noisy. If there is one fundamental thing I ask of any hotel it is to be able to sleep. My night was ruined and the next day's sightseeing was hard-going due to tiredness. Obviously the management knows the problem and has done nothing about it. Don't stay here unless they sort this out!

Room Tip: Presumably all twin rooms are noisy so don't get one, and get one away from the street and as ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    297
    142
    27
    18
See reviews for
142
202
52
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

as has been mentioned by several other reviews the area is very noisy all night due to the female escorts hanging around on the corner. Weekends seem to be worse. We pointed this out to a member of staff who said hopefully once the road works outside had been completed this problem will be resolved. We didn't eat in but the dining room looked nice with quirky tables, chairs and lighting.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back as I am sure it will be much less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Convenient location, friendly staff, clean rooms. My travelling companions and I were greeted by a friendly front desk clerk who happily and efficiently checked us in. The room was clean and a good size. Nothing fancy but it did the job. Breakfast was good and included in the price. Although the area was safe, at night, across the street prostitutes and their "management" set up shop. They are extremely loud and, if your room is in the front of the hotel, they make it hard to get any sleep. Although, at one point comedy ensued when a "john" told them he'd pay them to do 50 push-ups on the sidewalk. Not sure if they did it.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the back due to loud nocturnal "street vendors".
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PopeBiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

As most reviews state, this hotel is conveniently located about a 3 minute walk to the train station. The staff are most helpful and friendly, the rooms are clean, however the hotel is very tired. Also, if you have a room at the front of the hotel, overlooking the street, you can guarantee you will be kept awake all night by the yelling and screaming coming from the female escorts below. Yes, female escorts. It's a safe area, but I certainly wouldn't want to expose my children to this site. While this is certainly not a fault of the hotel, it does jade the experience.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Copenhagen hotels

Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I was really happy in this hotel espcially after moving from another 1 in the same area which was really bad , the staff was very friendly and gave me a good price for a single room , the size of the single room was bigger than the double room in my hotel before where I left. the bathroom is quite big with a bathtub. the room is very clean and quite lots of choice on tv ,the breakfast was allright , very close to the central station . I would recommend this hotel !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
quito
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I like it very much, nice hotel, good rooms, the beds were not so good, but they were ok. The breakfast was delicious, with many choices. We came from Aarhus with the train, and it took us just 5 minutes to get to this hotel. There was one thing that was not so good, it was extremely noisy, but it was because they have a festival in the city the nights we were there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margaquito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Perfectly good Hotel for this kind of stay; few minutes walk from Central Station, friendly staff, good breakfast, clean rooms.
Rooms on the street side can be noisy, especially on weekends but courtyard rooms can be quite quiet. Good value for the money. Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.
L and B. Burnaby, B.C.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lois S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Star Hotel
Copenhagen Star Hotel
#73 of 116 in Copenhagen
993 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Best Western Hotel Hebron
Best Western Hotel Hebron
#17 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,016 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Scandic Webers
Scandic Webers
#58 of 116 in Copenhagen
890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Hotel Tiffany
Hotel Tiffany
#30 of 116 in Copenhagen
391 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#4 of 116 in Copenhagen
2,272 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Zleep Hotel Copenhagen City
Zleep Hotel Copenhagen City
#97 of 116 in Copenhagen
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Du Nord Copenhagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Du Nord Copenhagen

Property: Hotel Du Nord Copenhagen
Address: Colbjoernsensgade 14, Copenhagen 1652, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro , Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Du Nord Copenhagen 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Du Nord Copenhagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing